We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with a nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #51 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Have been using this hotel for over 8 years but still feels as good as it felt when I first went to this hotel in 2005. Recently I am using the executive floor rooms, few rooms have singapore river view. Clubs rooms also comes with some additional facilities like separate breakfast place etc, but i like to have breakfast in the main restaurant on the ground floor. Club rooms have separate check in counter on a upper level so thats less crowded. All major shopping/dinning places are within walking distance. The hotel is big and it had the famous Zuke club next to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThunderExe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear ThunderExe

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on our hotel.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us, and that you enjoyed the privileges of staying on the Executive floors.

We also appreciate your support for the past years and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,695 - 1,701 of 2,789 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked the executive club because we stayed in many of these lounges in Hong Hong and they were amazing.
Unfortunately this one except from the lovely staff was a bit poor.
The welcoming comity at the Copthorne on level 29 was overwhelming. We felt very special.
After checking into our room we were disappointed. Old, small, dirty carpet and stains on the curtains and a view onto a demolition site with lots of noises, not really nice as we booked 8 nights. Next day we asked for a different room. There was no problem at all and we got a newly renovated room, much bigger, new and a view to die for, especially at night time with all the lights on. We could even watch parts of the Laser show at Marina Bay Sands.
The bathroom was amazing. Huge, with black marble.
We were just wondering why we didn't get a room like this straight away at check in.
They knew that we were staying not only for one night.
Also the variety of the lounge was very disappointing. One sort of tiny cakes and one sort of Sandwich. The Evening cocktails were Singapore Sling, beer, wine or Whisky sour. The hors de` vours were very small, but tasty and every night they displayed a taste from a different country. Japan, Indian, Australian, Malaysian style........
The view from the 29th floor was great, looking over the River and the houses, just we thought dont look at the walls behind the food area. They are in need of an urgent paint job.
In our room rate was a daily 2 piece free laundry , Mini bar, Wifi, and Breakfast included. Breakfast was served on the 29th floor or in the main dining area.
There was more than enough varieties. Very yummy.
But unfortunately we wouldn't book the Executive lounge again. It wasn't worth it compared to Hong Kong. But service was much more personal at the Copthorne.
Also kids were allowed into this Lounge, even it stated on the website Children are not encouraged to enter. Other Hotels do not allow kids at all into their Lounges.
The Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel is located next to the River and its really beautiful sitting outside or walking along the Waterway passing many cafe`s and Restaurants.
Clarke Quay is approx. a15 min walk. Also there is a water taxi directly in front of the Hotel going to Marina Sands and other areas. It cost S$3 and takes 30 min. Very relaxing. A Bus stop is in 3 min walking distance and China Town is a 20 min walk. There is a shuttle bus to Orchard rd but by foot is only 20 min. We really loved the location.
We would stay there again, but only for B&B.
Just make sure you ask for a renovated room, which is up to level 26 at current.
A Big thank you :) to Fira, Rachel, Becky and Chrystal. We miss you! you really looked after us!!!
We didn't have much to do with Staff outside or the concierge, but we always got a smile from them!!!
Last note !!!!! 10 out of 10 for the photographer who shot the photos of the Pool area for the website and brochures as it is nothing like it !!!! Not even close.
Chairs were dirty and old, only 3 sun lounges, not decorated at all as shown on the photos, no food and the Pool Bar was always closed when we were there trying to get a deck chair, which we never got. We actually saw guests lying on the pavement just on towels. That is not a 5 or 4 star rating.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room and views to the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhx2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear hhx2_12

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are delighted that you appreciated the hospitality of our staff, the newly renovated room, the scenic view from the room, the breakfast spread and enjoyed the ambience along the river.

We have conveyed your favourable comments to the service staff at the Executive Club Lounge.

Thank you also for your observations on the Pool area and the rooms, we will continue to work on improving the quality of our service and pool area and refurbishing our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I decided to have a staycation in this hotel with my family, and chose the executive floor thinking that the room size should be bigger (otherwise I would have to opt for a suite). Turns out that the room size is not much of a difference. View is fantastic, since I am given the top few floors. I have free breakfast and hors d' vours at the executive club. Drinks in the mini bar are complimentary, with free wifi.

But I wouldn't advise a family staycation in this hotel. The swimming pool and jacuzzi are small, and doesn't excite the kids terribly. Better for executives who need to nip in and out of the city for business discussions or seminars. The area offers quietness and is conducive for reflection and thinking. Maybe that is the strategy this hotel has, to cater more to businessmen than families.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors - they really provide a good view of the surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wai Meng Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Wai Meng Y

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed the view, serenity, food offerings, the complimentary drinks and WiFi provided by the hotel.

Thank you also for your observations on the hotel’s amenities as a choice for businessmen. Our hotel is also popular with families due to our close proximity to the river. In-house guests enjoy complimentary rental of bicycles.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Just got back from a 2 week stay at the Grand Copthorne. Enjoyed this hotel, had all the amenities, great gym, pool, etc. Dinner at the bar was great, met with great service. As a runner, this hotel is also convenient for running along the Singapore river. There is also a water taxi stop outside the rear of the hotel, which will take you all the way downtown (about 30 min.) great trip to see some of the sights along the way. Room was clean, and very functional, and I had one of the smaller rooms.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river, as you'll also get a view of downtown as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhp911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear rhp911

Thank you for taking the time to write the review of our hotel.

We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you appreciated the amenities, and the service of our staff at the bar. We are glad that you enjoyed the picturesque view of the river while jogging and taking the water taxi.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Hotel is on good location, 15min waking distance from Clarke Quay. My advice to anyone who wants to stay here is to seek a room on the upper floor because the view is beautiful. A varied, delicious, and nice buffet breakfast.
Internet was very expensive, I do not know why. Rooms are small. Overall Very Good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Ivana D

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.

We are delighted that you appreciated the location, scenic view and extensive buffet breakfast at our hotel.

Your comments are noted. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks. The room is very big. The toilet is quite clean but the housekeeper did not clean it everyday I can tell that. The fruit basket I got on the first day is still in my room until the day I checked out.
The location is OK in the sense that it is near the city. There is NO MRT near to the hotel (the nearest one is 1KM away) but there are bus stops nearby so I can catch the bus to the city within 10 mins. Breakfast is not bad - there r many things to choose - But the food is pretty much the same in each day - Just few changes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YamSlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear YamSlr

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We will continuously work on improving our sanitary standards. The nearest MRT is Tiong Bahru which is fifteen minutes walk from the hotel and five minutes by bus. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast spread, and found the location of our hotel accessible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed about a wek at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront for business. Everything was perfect. Room was nice, with a fantastic view to the river. The hotel is central for everything. With a walk you can be to Clark Quay and the Marina, to Orchard Road, to Chinatown, even Sentosa is nott too far and if you like you can go on foot. The restaurant is excellent for for breakfast lunch dinner and for cocktails and some snavcks during the day

Room Tip: Choose room with view to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanobosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcom_Manager_GCW, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear stefanobosco

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on our hotel.

We are delighted that you appreciated the view of the room and the dining offerings at the hotel.

We are happy that you found the location pleasant and accessible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#56 of 317 in Singapore
4,453 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#119 of 317 in Singapore
1,721 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#93 of 317 in Singapore
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#78 of 317 in Singapore
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#50 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#80 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $133 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing