We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #106 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose to stay at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel due to an awesome hotel rate and the guarantee that we would be able to receive 5 star services. Our check-in was great, the receptionist was really friendly and efficient with getting us quickly settled in. They really try to accommodate all your requests, which was pleasantly surprising. Our room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The gym also had nice equipment, without it being overcrowded. We had breakfast at the hotel every morning, and the food was superb! We would definitely come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay in the rooms with the waterfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Richard K,

Thank you for the wonderful review and the 5-star service rating of our hotel. Our staff will be delighted to hear of your kind compliments on our room, food and service quality. We appreciate that you took time off to share your thoughts with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    771
    379
    126
    78
See reviews for
327
551
122
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront for 5 nights with my wife and nine year old son.
The check in staff seems crisp but have a very non nonchalant , clinical attitude and lack any sort of warmth or friendliness. They should learn from any Indian / Thai 5 star hotels to understand a thing or two about warmth & hospitality.


Ok the pros are :-

1. Rooms have an excellent view of the river and some of the iconic buildings along the Marina bay area.
2. Really good air- conditioning.
3. Location and proximity to the clarke quay and other cafes.
4. Concierge are friendly and help in getting taxis.
5. Room service food was actually quite tasty.

Negative:

1. Extremely poor house keeping. We actually found an old shirt still in the cupboard. Lot of dust in hard to reach areas in the bar cabinets and shelves.

2. Bathroom actually has mildew and looks dated. I have never seen a smaller hotel room toilet in my life but then this is to be expected in Singapore city hotels.

3. The soap bar is not replenished, the empty plastic bottles are still not cleared at the end of the day.

4. The pillows and sheets have a strange odour to them.

5. TV remote is so bad one has to squeeze the life out of the buttons to get anything working and even after that you are presented with 3-4 channels.

6. Security access card that activates the lift is touch and go and boots you out at 12:00 pm on the day of check out.

7. Check in staff do not tell you about the free shuttle service to Orchard road or china town, You will need to figure that out yourself.

All in all, a bit dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onetree_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Onetree_29,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are happy to learn that you like the hotel view, good location, good service of our Concierge and the room service food. We have noted your feedback, and apologise for the lapse in service of our Housekeeping Department., Please be assured that this is not our usual standard. We have already brought your comments to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper and we will do our best to rectify our shortcomings. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is, in a word, average. The staff is helpful, but don't have friendly personality. The room is tidy enough. The bathroom is a bit dingy and the marble decor makes it rather dark. The water pressure is rather weak. The Internet is expensive. The TV channels are limited.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dregar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Dregar,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologise for our lapse in service and for the shortcomings of the bathroom. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard.
We have already given your feedback to our Executive Housekeeper who is looking into improving the décor and the water pressure.

As for the Internet, we do offer complimentary Internet access for our guests. Kindly refer to our Official Website (www.grandcopthorne.com.sg) for details.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

No surprises, no horror stories, but no delights either - It's a standard international chain hotel, and you get just what you would expect from that; functional and a generally high standard of overall quality but charmless and soulless. Decent guest amenities (including pool, gym & tennis courts on the 6th floor), a clean & well serviced bedroom, a broad range of uninspiring options at the breakfast buffet, and reasonably well located in an area that's not too busy. Service in the restaurant a bit lacklustre, but elsewhere the staff were friendly and efficient. Nice walk along the Singapore river to a range of bars and restaurants, and within striking distance of Clark Quay and Chinatown. It's what lies outside the hotel that makes the stay in Singapore, not the hotel itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanDDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear AlanDDuncan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have noted your comments and please be assured that we will do our utmost to improve the service of our F&B team and the spread at the buffet.

Our hotel also provides complimentary rental of bicycles for our in-house guests. You may also get a copy of the location map (which indicates the cycling route) from the Concierge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice view from the Hotel, it's a value for money hotel if room chosen properly. Approach is a bit of an issue since it's kind of corner and one needs to go round a bit, also better if once does not have to wait for cabbie for too long. Service is reasonable, all in all if on a family trip and getting a good discount then this one should not be missed.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear SaintDelhi,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad that you had a reasonably good experience at our hotel.
You will be pleased to know that we offer complimentary shuttle service to various locations for our guests’ convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent hotel on the Singapore River. Close to everything, though just outside the city center. Easy 10 min walk to Chinatown. Many nice restaurants and bars on walking distance alongside the Singapore River. I would recommend to pay the little extra for an Executive Club Room - great value!. This gives you:
- unlimited access to the Executive Club at the 29th (also convenient to meet with a business partner). Coffee, tea and soft drinks available all day without extra charge. And the view from this lounge is unforgettable!
- breakfast at the club - small but varied buffet - eggs to order - good coffee. Or decide to have breakfast at Brio Restaurant (1st floor) - very large buffet. Both without extra charge.
- complimentary high tea
- complimentary afternoon drinks (also alcoholic) from 6-8 PM with delicious hors d'oeuvres! And the General Manager comes to your table every evening for a quick chat and to inquire if you need anything else. Such great and attentive service!
- 2 complimentary pieces of laundry
- complimentary soft drinks and water from your in-room mini bar
The staff are really friendly and genuinely interested. They go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay here! Thanks to Crystal, Regina, Kumar and all the other staff!

Room Tip: Do not doubt: take an Executive Club Room. It is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear semager,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay at the Executive Club room and were pleased with the service of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We were group of six people and had choosen grand copthron but our experience was mixed. Overall hotel is good but service is quiet pathetic specially at breakfast Buffett I would go to the extent of saying its rude.
Would not return to this hotel on my next visit to Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikas78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium C, Manager at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Vikas78,

We have taken note of your feedback and we sincerely apologise for the lapses in the service delivery. Please be assured that this is not our usual service standard. Please write in to us so we can look into the matter and address your concerns accordingly. We hope to restore your faith in us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#43 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,487 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#58 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton
Four Points by Sheraton
#120 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#47 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Property: Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#72 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#81 Business Hotel in Singapore
#82 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing