We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #83 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice room, 5 star hotel”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Location: right besides Singapore famous night hangout place Clarke Quay, Zouk, ktv etc. Very near Orchard Road. No MRT but cab and hotel's shuttle bus services are easily available.
Room: stayed in standard double room, room size reasonable, toilet very small with a attached shower room (no bathtub). Very cosy room with nice river view, can see Singapore Flyer from room. Room is clean and Aircon temperature is good. Minibar with many varieties.
Buffet dinner: great and worth visiting.
Overall: a thumbs up hotel to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Jocuda,

We are absolutely elated to hear that your recent stay with us was a marvellous one.

It is good to know that you liked the location, room and amenities, as well as the buffet spread accorded during your stay with us.

Your positive comments are deeply appreciated and we hope to welcome you back for many splendid stay experiences at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    918
    433
    139
    85
See reviews for
411
708
139
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel early December, pleasant surprise when we arrived reception up graded us to a club room, close to Clark Key within a 15min walk, the food was wonderfull down stairs in the main dining area, also has other restaraunts to dine at..would stay here again

Room Tip: as we were upgraded we can't complain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear katie m,

Thank you for giving us the highest rating on this Tripadvisor review.

We are deeply humbled by your high compliments; it is truly rewarding to know our continual efforts in delivering the highest hospitality standards are recognized by your kind self.

It is pleasing to also hear that you appreciated the complimentary upgrade and liked our location and dining options.

We hope to be your choice hotel for future visits to Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax , NS! Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel 2 days ago. Just finished a 2 week cruise with Singapore as the final destination. We arrived at the hotel at 8.00 am. Check in was at 4 pm so we had planned on dropping off our bags and come back later but they accommodated my wife and I and another couple with an early check in ( at 8.am). Having gotten up early to depart the ship this was appreciated as we relaxed in the well appointed room for a couple of hours before venturing out. Had a corner room on the 20th floor, room 2002' which gave a commanding view of that part of city. Changed some US S to Singapore $ at the desk. The exchange rate could have been a little better but was ok. A 10-15 minute walk to Clarke Quay which is a must do. Great shower in the room with a glass door which almost provides a sauna effect. Taxis are on hand at the door of the hotel and are very reasonably priced. It's about the only thing in Singapore that's. Didn't eat at the restaurant as I thought the food prices were quite high and as we were only there for two nights we wanted to eat somewhere other than at the hotel. Had drinks in the Piano Bar, $15 Singapore $ for a beer, $16 for a shot of liquor. These are comparable prices anywhere in Singapore. $1.00 US$ = $1.23 Singapore $ so be prepared. Quick and efficient check out. A good hotel... There are a LOT to choose from.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on one of the higher floors... 19 or above for the best panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear AI W,

Thank you so much for your insightful feedback. It is exhilarating to know that you have given us the highest rating on this Tripadvisor review.

We are delighted to hear that your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one. Your positive comments are highly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future for another splendid stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Banus, Spain
Level Contributor
187 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

SIngapore is a fabulous destination, for business, for pleasure, or as a stop-over point. The Clarke Quay / Waterfront area can be tranquil and relaxing during the day, and in the early evening, it comes alive with a vibrant atmosphere which buzzes on into the early hours of the morning. I try to book a room which has a view over this area, and so, have the best of both worlds. One can either enjoy the superb facilities offered by the hotel, sumptuous tasting menus and fine wines in one of the many restaurants, a swim, a manicure, a stint in the gym, a relaxing massage, and have the scenes below and beyond at bedtime,... or alternatively, savour a cocktail on the promenade before a leisurely riverside stroll to the Quay area to soak up the excitement, noise, and spectacle of the night. Despite the size and grandeur of the hotel, over 550 guest rooms, I find the staff professionally courteous and attentive, the rooms are presented in a meticulous manner, and the choice and quality of food and beverages is outstanding. One feels equally comfortable dressed informally, or in black tie, depending upon the mood. Advantageous room rates are available if one is prepared to shop around, for example a double room for £120 UK Sterling, or a suite for £275, I find comparably reasonable for this standard of service and comfort. Naturally all business and conference needs are catered for, there are also designated disabled rooms, although to my mind not many. If you arrive by car, there is free parking. Serviced luxury apartments are also available. Visit Millennium Hotels web-site for further details. I like it here....!!!

Room Tip: I like to choose rooms on the upper floors which, especially in this case, offer the best views. Hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iwritetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear iwritetravel,

Thank you so much for this brilliant feedback and recommendation. It was a pleasure reading your insightful review and knowing that you had a tremendous stay with us last September.

We are elated to hear of your positive comments about the delightful hotel amenities, location and service staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have lunch for Christmas eve at this hotel, next to the piano bar. the food is delicious the mushroom soup, sashimi, laksa, all of it. i like the food and the dessert. the waiter and waitress are very friendly. the price is reasonable. this place are really recommended. Next visit i'll come here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Evelyn L,

Thank you so much for your excellent review of your dining experience at Café Brio’s. We are ecstatic to know that you enjoyed the food and service accorded.

The staffs and chefs at Café Brio’s are delighted to hear that their efforts in delivering a highly satisfactory gastronomic experience met with your utmost appreciation.

We cannot wait to have you back again and perhaps staying in one of our well-appointed rooms in addition to your dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Let me preface that im quite discerning, but a few things I found absolutely unacceptable here

I arrived the hotel at 4 after a 12 hour flight and was looking forward to a shower and a nap- had to wait 15 min in line then I was told my room would not be ready for another hour!! Mind you check out is 12pm, so I have no idea why my room would not be ready 5 hours after check in.
Just absolutely unacceptable.

A few other notes:

Generally nice large rooms, quite modern.

TV did not work - had to unplug to turn it off

Gym is pretty good of no one else is in there

Pool is small for size of hotel and they only had about 10 deck chairs whicb were all taken

Breakfast is ok if included but dont pay for it -

I would not stay here for more than $ 150 even if my company was paying

Good luck

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear rocketman77,

We are glad you liked the spaciousness and contemporary décor of our room. We do however wish you had a better overall impression of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

With regards to the delayed check-in, it is regrettable that a full-house situation and late-check out requests were contributing factors.

We seek your kind understanding that as much as we would like to facilitate an enjoyable stay experience, we regret the delayed check-in marred an otherwise pleasant stay. We will take note of your feedback and endeavour to minimize such occurrences in the future.

Additionally, we apologize for the faulty television and wish our guest relations officer were informed so that repairs can be done as soon as possible.

Nonetheless, we thank you for your review effort and we hope to have the chance to restore your good faith in us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

room was average, view was good, as there is a firework on the 31th of December. nice view from 24th storey, but facilities isn't that great. Room furniture seems very old, and some even torn, toilet bathtub and wall covered with yellow stain, perhaps due to old and not re-furnished after many years.

Receptionist not very friendly, and not approachable. staff handles my credit card with one hand and she seems to be a "hongkie" not local. very terrible attitude.

food for breakfast was alright, good variety,

Carpark is not directly from hotel, has to walk from another building which links to the hotel.


The night spend, could fetch me a better deal at nearby hotel. it will never be a choice to choose for a staycation in future.unless things changes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gkiwi_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#48 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#68 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#104 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Property: Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#72 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#76 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#81 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing