We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,410)
Filter reviews
3,410 results
Traveler rating
1,480
1,150
507
167
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,480
1,150
507
167
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingapore riverfood capitalpiano bargreat world cityclarke quayriver viewwalk along the riverexecutive cluborchard roadbreakfast buffetrestaurants and barsexecutive floorfree shuttlebusiness hotelmarina baydeluxe roommrt station
Filter
Updating list...
2,486 - 2,491 of 3,410 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

SIngapore is a fabulous destination, for business, for pleasure, or as a stop-over point. The Clarke Quay / Waterfront area can be tranquil and relaxing during the day, and in the early evening, it comes alive with a vibrant atmosphere which buzzes on into the early hours of the morning. I try to book a room which has a view over this area, and so, have the best of both worlds. One can either enjoy the superb facilities offered by the hotel, sumptuous tasting menus and fine wines in one of the many restaurants, a swim, a manicure, a stint in the gym, a relaxing massage, and have the scenes below and beyond at bedtime,... or alternatively, savour a cocktail on the promenade before a leisurely riverside stroll to the Quay area to soak up the excitement, noise, and spectacle of the night. Despite the size and grandeur of the hotel, over 550 guest rooms, I find the staff professionally courteous and attentive, the rooms are presented in a meticulous manner, and the choice and quality of food and beverages is outstanding. One feels equally comfortable dressed informally, or in black tie, depending upon the mood. Advantageous room rates are available if one is prepared to shop around, for example a double room for £120 UK Sterling, or a suite for £275, I find comparably reasonable for this standard of service and comfort. Naturally all business and conference needs are catered for, there are also designated disabled rooms, although to my mind not many. If you arrive by car, there is free parking. Serviced luxury apartments are also available. Visit Millennium Hotels web-site for further details. I like it here....!!!

Room Tip: I like to choose rooms on the upper floors which, especially in this case, offer the best views. Havelock Road can be a busy road for traffic, the best views are over the river, and the city.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iwritetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear iwritetravel,

Thank you so much for this brilliant feedback and recommendation. It was a pleasure reading your insightful review and knowing that you had a tremendous stay with us last September.

We are elated to hear of your positive comments about the delightful hotel amenities, location and service staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have lunch for Christmas eve at this hotel, next to the piano bar. the food is delicious the mushroom soup, sashimi, laksa, all of it. i like the food and the dessert. the waiter and waitress are very friendly. the price is reasonable. this place are really recommended. Next visit i'll come here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Evelyn L,

Thank you so much for your excellent review of your dining experience at Café Brio’s. We are ecstatic to know that you enjoyed the food and service accorded.

The staffs and chefs at Café Brio’s are delighted to hear that their efforts in delivering a highly satisfactory gastronomic experience met with your utmost appreciation.

We cannot wait to have you back again and perhaps staying in one of our well-appointed rooms in addition to your dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Let me preface that im quite discerning, but a few things I found absolutely unacceptable here

I arrived the hotel at 4 after a 12 hour flight and was looking forward to a shower and a nap- had to wait 15 min in line then I was told my room would not be ready for another hour!! Mind you check out is 12pm, so I have no idea why my room would not be ready 5 hours after check in.
Just absolutely unacceptable.

A few other notes:

Generally nice large rooms, quite modern.

TV did not work - had to unplug to turn it off

Gym is pretty good of no one else is in there

Pool is small for size of hotel and they only had about 10 deck chairs whicb were all taken

Breakfast is ok if included but dont pay for it -

I would not stay here for more than $ 150 even if my company was paying

Good luck

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocketman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear rocketman77,

We are glad you liked the spaciousness and contemporary décor of our room. We do however wish you had a better overall impression of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

With regards to the delayed check-in, it is regrettable that a full-house situation and late-check out requests were contributing factors.

We seek your kind understanding that as much as we would like to facilitate an enjoyable stay experience, we regret the delayed check-in marred an otherwise pleasant stay. We will take note of your feedback and endeavour to minimize such occurrences in the future.

Additionally, we apologize for the faulty television and wish our guest relations officer were informed so that repairs can be done as soon as possible.

Nonetheless, we thank you for your review effort and we hope to have the chance to restore your good faith in us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

room was average, view was good, as there is a firework on the 31th of December. nice view from 24th storey, but facilities isn't that great. Room furniture seems very old, and some even torn, toilet bathtub and wall covered with yellow stain, perhaps due to old and not re-furnished after many years.

Receptionist not very friendly, and not approachable. staff handles my credit card with one hand and she seems to be a "hongkie" not local. very terrible attitude.

food for breakfast was alright, good variety,

Carpark is not directly from hotel, has to walk from another building which links to the hotel.

The night spend, could fetch me a better deal at nearby hotel. it will never be a choice to choose for a staycation in future.unless things changes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gkiwi_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ideally located on the riverfront, the hotel is close to Robertson Quay & a 10-15 min walk to Clarke Quay. We were on the 19th floor & our room was a good size, clean & comfortable with lovely view of the river. Our package had free internet which worked just OK & we would not want to pay extra for the privilege. We spent a few hours around the pool and we recommend having a drink on the waterfront at the end of the day...both very pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear CricketGirlDarwin,

Thank you for your fantastic review. It is lovely to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are glad you liked the spacious and well-maintained room overlooking the scenic river view and trust you had a good rest.

Your kind compliments are indeed motivational to our dedicated efforts in offering an unsurpassed hospitality experience to our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many splendid stays at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews