We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Def not 5 star...absolute chaos and disorder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #57 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Let me preface that im quite discerning, but a few things I found absolutely unacceptable here

I arrived the hotel at 4 after a 12 hour flight and was looking forward to a shower and a nap- had to wait 15 min in line then I was told my room would not be ready for another hour!! Mind you check out is 12pm, so I have no idea why my room would not be ready 5 hours after check in.
Just absolutely unacceptable.

A few other notes:

Generally nice large rooms, quite modern.

TV did not work - had to unplug to turn it off

Gym is pretty good of no one else is in there

Pool is small for size of hotel and they only had about 10 deck chairs whicb were all taken

Breakfast is ok if included but dont pay for it -

I would not stay here for more than $ 150 even if my company was paying

Good luck

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocketman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear rocketman77,

We are glad you liked the spaciousness and contemporary décor of our room. We do however wish you had a better overall impression of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

With regards to the delayed check-in, it is regrettable that a full-house situation and late-check out requests were contributing factors.

We seek your kind understanding that as much as we would like to facilitate an enjoyable stay experience, we regret the delayed check-in marred an otherwise pleasant stay. We will take note of your feedback and endeavour to minimize such occurrences in the future.

Additionally, we apologize for the faulty television and wish our guest relations officer were informed so that repairs can be done as soon as possible.

Nonetheless, we thank you for your review effort and we hope to have the chance to restore your good faith in us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,083 - 2,089 of 2,947 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

room was average, view was good, as there is a firework on the 31th of December. nice view from 24th storey, but facilities isn't that great. Room furniture seems very old, and some even torn, toilet bathtub and wall covered with yellow stain, perhaps due to old and not re-furnished after many years.

Receptionist not very friendly, and not approachable. staff handles my credit card with one hand and she seems to be a "hongkie" not local. very terrible attitude.

food for breakfast was alright, good variety,

Carpark is not directly from hotel, has to walk from another building which links to the hotel.


The night spend, could fetch me a better deal at nearby hotel. it will never be a choice to choose for a staycation in future.unless things changes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gkiwi_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ideally located on the riverfront, the hotel is close to Robertson Quay & a 10-15 min walk to Clarke Quay. We were on the 19th floor & our room was a good size, clean & comfortable with lovely view of the river. Our package had free internet which worked just OK & we would not want to pay extra for the privilege. We spent a few hours around the pool and we recommend having a drink on the waterfront at the end of the day...both very pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear CricketGirlDarwin,

Thank you for your fantastic review. It is lovely to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are glad you liked the spacious and well-maintained room overlooking the scenic river view and trust you had a good rest.

Your kind compliments are indeed motivational to our dedicated efforts in offering an unsurpassed hospitality experience to our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many splendid stays at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

In the hospitality industry, service is everything. It doesn't matter how good your facilities are, if the service isn't up to scratch, then everything else isn't as well.

I booked the room through Booking.com to stay for one night, and honestly, the room was okay, the bed was comfy and everything you expect for a good, I wouldn't say top of the line, hotel. But we only managed to get our rooms at 5.45pm in the evening! The reason given was that housekeeping wasn't ready or shortage of manpower. Having stayed at countless hotels all over the world, this was the absolute first time I've encountered such a situation. And in my own country no less.

would I stay here again? No I wouldn't because there are simply too many other choices in the market.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jansen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Jansen88,

Thank you for your feedback, we hope your stay had been fruitful nonetheless. Though it is comforting to know that you found the room and bedding to be satisfactory, we are concerned with your disappointment with the late check-in.

We regret that the high occupancy rate during the festive season and requests for late check-out by other guests resulted in your late check-in .

As much as our staff would love to check you in earlier, the unavailability of a room at that point of time was regrettable.

We endeavour to minimize the waiting time during peak seasons and we look forward to having you back and experiencing the warm hospitality of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here celebrating our 3rd marriage anniversary.

The hotel reception was nice to upgrade our room to river view and the view was amazing.

Very nice centrally located hotel with nice large rooms..

Only glitch was the breakfast. We observed that the fruits and orange cream, etc were not changed daily, and the replacement of food items in breakfast area was very slow and by the time we finish breakfast, the items are still not replaced.

It was surprising, as the lunch buffet was much more grand and quick.

Barring the breakfast glitch, we loved the hotel stay and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaushalK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear KaushalK,

We are overjoyed to have received your five-star rating for this review! It is wonderful to know that your third-year wedding anniversary was made even more memorable at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

We would like to extend our best wishes for you and your wife and may a lifetime of marital bliss surround the both of you.

It is also pleasing to learn that you “loved the hotel stay” and found the view from the room "amazing"; indeed the picturesque view of the Singapore River is a captivating asset to our well-appointed rooms.

We have also taken note of your constructive feedback on the breakfast service. We regret that the replenishment of buffet items was impaired by the large breakfast crowd. Rests assure we will work on areas for improvements accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at GCW for 3 nights. One of the best hotels i've stayed in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice rooms with very comfortable beds. The pool area was great to relax and a well equipped gym.
Beautiful location by the river. Totally recommend it to anyone visiting Singapore

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Miguel M,

We are honoured and deeply humbled by your compliment that you consider the hospitality of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront to be one of the best that you have experienced.

Your kind words are very rewarding to our staffs who continually strive to deliver unsurpassed hospitality standard to every guest.

We hope to be your preferred hotel in Singapore and we love to welcome you back for another brilliant stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great hotel. The staff was very friendly and well located. The pillows and beds were very comfortable so we slept well. The only disappointment was the overpriced business centre - 1$ per page for printing is a bit expensive. Overall we loved the hotel and would stay again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Floramarco,

Your excellent feedback made our day! Thank you for your 5-star review rating, we are absolutely delighted that you had a wonderful honeymoon stay with us and glad you found our room and breakfast satisfying.

We love to welcome you back for another splendid stay experience and here’s wishing you a lifetime of marital bliss with your spouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#60 of 319 in Singapore
4,687 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama RiverFront
#96 of 319 in Singapore
2,571 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#55 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#80 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $147 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing