We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,433)
Filter reviews
3,433 results
Traveler rating
1,496
1,151
511
168
107
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,496
1,151
511
168
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingapore riverfood capitalpiano bargreat world cityclarke quayriver viewwalk along the riverexecutive cluborchard roadbreakfast buffetrestaurants and barsexecutive floorfree shuttlebusiness hotelmarina baydeluxe roommrt station
Filter
Updating list...
2,517 - 2,522 of 3,433 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Grand Copthorne from 16th to the 19th Dec 2012.

Impressed that upon arrival the hotel had dealt with the request for a crib for our 6 month old.

We stayed as room only so I cant comment on the food but we f Lund it overpriced when they asked us whether we wanted breakfast @ S$20 and the lunch was $50 pp.

The location is on the waterfront which is about 15 minutes walk along the river from Clarke Key. The hotel itself is near Robertson Quay which has plenty of restaurants.

The room was clean and tidy but the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner if I was being picky. The complimentary toothbrushes obviously hadn't been moved for a while.

The view we had was over the river and at night it was a really impressive cityscape as we were on the 12 floor.

W used the pool once which was outside and wasn't heated. The pool itself was nice and there was access to a jacuzzi. Overall a good hotel which had good standards of service and care. The lobby staff in particular we're really friendly and made a real fuss of my daughter.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teacherman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear teacherman_9,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it is pleasing to hear that your recent stay with us was a memorable one.

We are especially delighted to know you enjoyed our well-maintained room, scenic cityscape view and the warm hospitality of our staffs. Your good feedback is recognition to our continual efforts in delivering the highest service standards to our valued guests, as we aim to make a positive difference in their every stay.

We love to welcome you and your family back for many splendid stays at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is quite a big, luxurious hotel. The ammenities for the price you pay (about $229/nt with all taxes) is a good value(included free daily breakfast and internet for this promo). The service is outstanding; everyone is very available and willing to help you. Avoid the breakfast buffet, the food was just okay and always barely warm, not worth the money. The nice touches are what make this place a good choice, such as they will lend you an umbrella (rainy season now), a converter plug (for laptops, cell phone chargers, etc. from the US), the free shuttle to several local areas of interest, and a bus stop right out front. Good location. The hotel and rooms itself are in great, very well kept condition. Tons of bars and eateries right outside the hotel along the river, open late to have some drinks!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Marie T,

Thank you for your positive review, we are deeply appreciative of your kind words. It is good to hear that you liked the well-appointed room, thoughtful service, amenities and the ideal locale of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront. We aim to pamper our guests with the highest service standard and comfort level, hence we have taken note of your comment regarding the barely warm breakfast and we seek to improvise accordingly.

We hope to welcome you back and being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Bedrooms large, very clean and comfortable, with excellent air-conditioning (essential in 35C heat and 100% humidity).
Amazing view over Singapore River and downtown skyscrapers from 14th floor bedroom.
Breakfasts were excellent, with a choice of English, Indian, Japanese and Malay.
No other meals were taken at the hotel (the menus appeared very expensive) but there is a variety of restaurants within a 10 minute walk.
The staff were outstandingly polite and helpful.
The hotel is positioned on the Singapore Riveer, a bit of a distance from some of the city's attractions, but taxis are readily available at the hotel, and inexpensive.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking river
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendyanddavid536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear wendyanddavid536,

It is exceptionally joyous knowing that you had a delightful stay with us and experienced excellent service and comfort synonymous with the Grand Copthorne Waterfront. We are glad that you found the breakfast spread to have met your expectations and heartened to know you enjoyed the scenic view from the room.

We are pleased to share that we do provide an alternative transport mode as we offer complimentary shuttle bus service to various locations for the convenience of our guests. With that, we look forward to having you back for another pleasurable stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We arrived a bit early, our room's not ready yet so we left our things at the concierge, while we went out to have lunch with a friend and to go to the mall. Actually, there was a room available but staff said it's a smaller one for that room type, because of the layout. She said we can have that room, if we want, or we can wait for the bigger room to be available. We opted to wait for the bigger room.

Room was ok, with big windows (our room had a bit of a view of Marina Bay Sands). Our room faced the river, and even though the river water's a bit murky, it was still a delightful view. Room also overlooked the hotel's pool. It looked small, but inviting enough, though we weren't able to take a dip. One thing i didn't like in the room was the layout, it was of irregular shape.

Location-wise, it's not near any mrt station. There is a scheduled shuttle service going to malls or mrt station, but i haven't tried it. Our schedules don't seem to match, LOL! It's easy to find a taxi, there's almost always a couple waiting by the hotel driveway. If you prefer the bus (like me), there are also bus stops within a short walking distance (one is just outside the hotel, like 20m from the main entrance). Going home, most taxis i've had know the hotel, just tell uncle taxi driver that you're going to the "waterfront" one, as there is another Copthorne property in the area.

Breakfast buffet was ok, especially if it's already part of your room rate. Otherwise, i think the selection is not worth much for extra charge. We also tried Nagae, a Japanese (or Korean??) restaurant in the hotel's vicinity, and food was great. There's also free wifi, though limited up to 3 gadgets at a time only. But it was a decent connection.

Commuting tip: check out streetdirectory.com or download the iphone app to help plan your itinerary using public transport. It also has info for taxi routes, with fare estimate as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RezC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear RezC_12,

Thank you for your great feedback. We are exhilarated to know that you enjoyed a brilliant stay with us at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront. We are glad you liked the scenic sight of the Singapore River from your room. We do however regret that the water is murky due to the monsoon season and wish you could see the usual shade of green reminiscent of emerald jade, which makes for a delightful view. We hope to welcome you back for another wondrous stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Firstly i would like to thank receptionist becky for remembering to handover my requirements to another exceptional receptionist Olive Chan. It just made my stay with my Mrs so wonderful and memorable.

Receptionist Olive Chan handled our stay and throughout exceptionally and professionally. Very accomodative with a nice smile and because of your great service to us. We had a wonderful and pleasant stay. I would also like to thank de service one staffs that handled our calls for room service and such. One touch button to all our requirements without any hassle.

My reviews arent based on biased just because i knew much of the staffs there. Staffs that served me are new there and i would say that they deserve our compliments with great admiration. My Mrs and me have stayed in many hotels all over and Grandcopthorne Waterfront is one the best top notch service we have encountered. I definitely recommend any travellers leisure or business to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asiadreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Asiadreams,

We are incredibly honoured and deeply humbled by your kind consideration that the Grand Copthorne Waterfront hospitality is one of the best that you encountered. Your words are very rewarding to our staffs who strive tirelessly to deliver the highest hospitality standard to every guest. Olive and Becky are more than overjoyed to hear of your compliments and they enjoyed being of service to you as well. We love to welcome you back for another brilliant stay
experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews