We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,433)
Filter reviews
3,433 results
Traveler rating
1,496
1,151
511
168
107
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,496
1,151
511
168
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingapore riverfood capitalpiano bargreat world cityclarke quayriver viewwalk along the riverexecutive cluborchard roadbreakfast buffetrestaurants and barsexecutive floorfree shuttlebusiness hotelmarina baydeluxe roommrt station
Filter
Updating list...
2,525 - 2,530 of 3,433 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at copthorne for a week , in November on first leg of our holiday . Hotel ,is very good , right on river , very quiet perfect place to relax with a coffee ! Some reviews have said its to far away from everything ... What better way to walk of breakfast than with a stroll along river !! It's not far to the hustle & bustle of Singapores attractions .. Would I go back ? Yes I would ! .. Food was good , a fair variety , service was good, always helpful, the occasional child running around , enjoyed week there ,just a bit more sunshine next time please !!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanzanitelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Tanzanitelady,

Thank you for your excellent feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed a lovely stay with us at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront. We are glad you found our waterfront locale to be ideal.

Indeed, nothing quite beats taking a peaceful stroll down the scenic Singapore River whilst taking in the sights and sounds of the waterfront, breaking away from the hectic city pace.

We love for you to come back and enjoy another delightful stay experience and wish there will be more sunshine then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had stayed here last year for a few weeks and found the staff here extremely friendly and helpful.. They would go out of their way to assist you. It was besides the river and there was a boat stop in case you wanted a traditional historical boat ride. The rooms are comfortable and most importantly, they have a few Indian cooks who cook authentic Indian food... :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepakChennai07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear DeepakChennai07,

It is pure joy to hear that you had a brilliant stay at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront. As we constantly aim to deliver the highest hospitality standards to all our valuable guests, we are exhilarated to receive your five-star rating on Tripadvisor!

Your kind words are testament in recognizing our efforts. In addition, we are glad you found the authentic Indian cuisine prepared to your taste. We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Its location is a bit far from downtown, but if you travel by car, it will be ok. the nearest MRT St is Outram Park, and you have to change to bus to get to this hotel. The bus stop just at the front of the hotel. They also provide free shuttle bus for a certain location in singapore(most route in the morning only)

I don't like the lights in the room, the room is quite big but it doesn't have lights installed at the ceiling, only use standing lamps and table lamp next to the beds. It's quite dim if you want to read or work at night.
The shower is also not strong even it's already set to maximum.
Well, the neighborhood is quite calm and not crowded.
Their service is quite good, fast response and friendly. The breakfast in the restaurant is quite boring, same menu for everyday and not many variety.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Alice C,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback. We are glad you liked the warm and efficient service delivery during your recent stay with us. Indeed our hotel is only a short bus ride away from the nearest MRT stations: Tiong Bahru, Outram Park and Clarke Quay; which makes for easy accessibility around numerous attractions.

As we are constantly taking in feedback from our valued guests to enhance their stay experience, your comments regarding the room amenities and breakfast have been taken note of. We will assess for areas of improvisations where appropriate.

With that, we look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Third time to stay here for 1 night while transiting. If you've read my previous reviews about this place, you'll see I love it; the rooms are large and well appointed and the beds are so comfy. The staff are nice and professional and check in is fast, location wise its not so central but either a short walk to restaurants or taxi away..the free shuttle bus to the main areas around Singapore is really handy. This time round we booked a superior room (special deal) which included the buffet breakfast and what we had assumed access to Club benefits. At check in, we were advised the description on our booking was incorrect and that we will not have the club benefits, although it was clearly written in the room description (we booked through a third party website) now, don't get me wrong we were not so upset with the hotel or the third party side, but it seemed quite obvious there was some error on someones behalf (not ours) and we had payed the price for it. Although they did not honour the booking, they upgraded our room to a deluxe and provided free wifi (which was to be included anyway) The desk staff were not overly rude to me, but they were quite firm on their decision. I wasn't so upset about it, however I would have expected a 5 star hotel to honour such description, at least for a returning customer... we were there for 1 night only.. to be honest we were only interested in a few drinks in the Club room anyway however the experience left a bit of a sour taste and although I really do enjoy and love this hotel next time I'm likely to consider another hotel. Having said that, I'd still recommend this hotel to friends and family. I'm still rating this hotel as excellent, but as I said, I felt a little let down!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear camak,

Thank you for your excellent review and your five-star rating. However we regret that the error in the booking description of the third-party website caused some frustration and inconvenience to an otherwise exceptional stay.

We hope this lapse did not mar the overall good impression you have of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront and hoped that you were satisfied with the arrangement of the complimentary upgrade and free wifi as our staff did the best in their capacity to alleviate the situation.

We hope to remain as your choice hotel for future visits to Singapore and we look forward to every opportunity to making your stay a magnificent one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

After visiting some high-end hotels in Singapore, this one was a delusion. Starting from the position, it is of course on the river but far away from everything, basically you'll have to stick to riverside restaurants or take a taxi. If you'd like to travel with MRT, then, same problem: far away. The staff tries its best to be pleasant but the result isn't there: make sure you get your requests well understood before checking out for the weekend or you won't find a room when you'll return. Also, always turn on "do not disturb" whenever you need to be left alone in your room else you'll get a lot of insisting visits to get your daily chocolate sweet and to know if everything is going well for you... In the morning get ready to queue in the breakfast room in order to be offered a seat where you don't want: this is mandatory. Should you want to rest for a moment, the swimming pool is nice and tiny, better than nothing! The few rooms I saw are quite small, few of them with a tub, and they would need some serious refurbishing (mainly the bathrooms). Beds are wide with a warm quilt and you'll understand why when you'll try to raise room temperature above 20°C, well, you can't: the only solution to reach a warm 22°C is to leave air conditioning off for a week. Last but not least, inside the hotel you'll feel part of a big family as you will share neighbouring rooms night life (and in Singapore there is so much), same for the corridor. Very interesting lazy lifts (5 for 30 storey) keeping you waiting for a while or passing your floor without explanation. Rooms are mostly either river view or sad view.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moz74370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Moz74370,

Thank you for your feedback. We hope your overall stay experience was a good one and regret that you found certain experiences to be less ideal.

We seek your kind understanding that due to high occupancy rates, the breakfast crowd can get overwhelming during peak breakfast hours, resulting in a queue. Rest assure that our staff will try their best to accommodate seats to their best capability and we do however regret that the allocated seat may not be your ideal one.

We wished that you could inform our staff on the temperature setting so that our technician can assist to better manage the temperature control for your room to ensure a more comfortable stay.

Additionally, with regard to your concern of the noise level from neighbouring rooms, may we suggest that perhaps you could request for a corner room for a more peaceful and restful stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience the true hospitality of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews