We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, room had everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #80 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Manchester, TN
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“good location, room had everything you need”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was my first time in Singapore, and I thought this hotel was OK. I stayed two nights. I thought it was in a good location. We walked to Clark Quay to eat. There are many restaurants within walking distance. Also, there is a close mall and bus stop for the Singapore airline bus tour, which is what we did. It wasn't that close to the subway, but it's walkable. As for the room, it is small, but I bet most hotel rooms in Singapore are small. The matress was too hard for me, I could barely rest, it hurt my back. The internet worked good in the room. It had a large walk-in shower, and a decent size sink and counter space. We ate at the breakfast buffet at the hotel. I thought it was very good and had a lot of choices. Go hungry.

Overall, if you don't know much about Singapore, like me, this was a nice hotel to stay in. I'm sure there are better locations, but as long as you don't mind 15 minute walks, this was OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twinkles200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Twinkles2008,

It was a pleasure to learn that we played a pivotal role in shaping your inaugural trip to Singapore and making it a memorable one. We are happy that you relish the close proximity to Great World City Shopping Centre, Clarke Quay and the MRT stations, as well as delight in our hearty buffet breakfast.

We do however wish the mattress was more to your preference. We thank you for sharing your insightful thoughts and kind compliments and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    943
    438
    142
    87
See reviews for
452
732
140
681
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here during ITB Asia. Superb service and follow up by Faith Ng. However, plenty of room for improvement on the Club Floor especially during breakfast...no coffee cups; food selection very limited and service was so so slow! Not sufficient seatings and definitely short of staff here. Guests trying to check out in the morning at the Club Floor could not get hold of any staff to attend to them and I had the same problem during my check in.

Initially they checked me into a room with a roll-away-bed inside and I was by myself!! This room definitely needs refurb but was later changed to a different room which was ok. Had problem the second night whereby toiletries were not replenished and had to call for service and staff did not understand my request. Took at least 3 attempts before I managed to get bath gel and shampoo; by which time tiredness was already setting in. No papers for the 1st two days of stay but Faith was good with her follow up. Had a function there and although staff was good but service again was so-so. Settling the bill after the event took the longest time.

Overall, comfortable stay and Concierge staff was good. Addressed guests by name which showed their attentives which was the complete opposite of the Club Floor staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DorsettIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear kattie64,

Thank you for taking time off and providing us your invaluable feedback. We are delighted that our staff’s attentiveness and initiative were highly appreciated; hence we have given Faith and our concierge staff a pat on their backs for a good job done.

We were however concerned with your Club stay experience; rest assure this is not representative of the usual standard. We regret that due to high occupancy rates, our staff may be overwhelmed during peak breakfast hours.

We seek your kind understanding that we will put measures in place to ensure that efficiency is not compromised. Nevertheless, we do hope to welcome you back to experience the true hospitality discerning of our Club facilities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had a mini staycation at this hotel on my birthday. Room size was decent but the bed wasn't as comfortable as compared to other similar stared hotels. The swimming pool is tiny and the jacuzzi pool is mini! There's a tennis court available.

Had a weekend buffet dinner at Cafe Brios. Food spread is huge. To the extend that you don't know where to start from. Their speciality dish is the Lobster Laksa. Had this for the following day's lunch. Really tasty! The chilli goes very well with the laksa.

Its easy access to clubbing and pubbing areas. Its near Great World City Shoppping Centre. Not a very big mall. However, they have free shuttle bus to and from Orchard & Chinatown. Which is not bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifestyle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear lifestyle78,

It is a pleasure to have you celebrate your birthday with us and it is even lovelier to know you had a joyful time here.

We are heartened you and your friends had a delectable feast at Café Brio’s; with its wondrous array of sumptuous fare and not forgetting your appreciation of our complimentary shuttle bus service which we hope made your commute more pleasurable.

We love to welcome you back to experience yet another gratifying stay at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed there for two nights (stopover).
Very clean/ spacious rooms and comfortable stay and very friendly staff.
Free WiFi was a nice surprise ( in the room as well)
Nice experience walking around the rivr late at night with all the pubs enroute.
Close to everything ( taxi seems the easiest to get around - although during peak hours etc the charges inflate quickly), Did not try to walk to MRT though and it was 20$ to take a taxi from the nearest MRT late at night. Buses do connecttthe hotel to MTR, time adds up though.
With family, buses can be very difficult to manage and will recommend Taxis n MRT.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear AK,

Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront. It is gratifying to hear that our clean, spacious and well-appointed rooms met with your high expectations; our housekeepers will be absolutely delighted to hear of your compliments!

You provided a great account on the accessibility and travelling modes available. Additionally we would like to share that we do offer a complimentary shuttle bus service to Orchard Road and Chinatown, for the convenience of our guests.

We very much look forward to having you back to experience yet another wondrous stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

First impression of the lobby is pleasant. Almost grand - high ceilings, lots of space. And then you walk into your room - and its tiny. And you know you are in trouble when you have to squeeze around the toilet to get to the sink. Maybe they forgot to design bathrooms in the initial design and converted the wardrobe into the bathroom.

Excellent mattress - firm. Both Time and Newsweek - which I have not read in paper form for months - so very welcome. And a nice concierge who recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner.

But then (this review is after Day 1 of 5 - so try to understand the underlying passion to share quickly), but then you switch the a/c to "on" to try and cool the room. 15 minutes later, its still warm. You crank the power to level 3 and the temperature to 10 - and around 2 a.m. the temperature is cool enough in the room that you stop sweating. I now understand the term "wheezing" a/c.

And the flush - makes more noise when it refills than when it flushes. That's a new one.

Ceramic in the sink is starting to crack. And what happened to the hot water. Oh, it comes on at 7 am and probably shuts off at 10 - so if you want hot water at other times, you will have to do with lukewarm.

Down for breakfast in the morning. In the tropics - you expect lots of fruit. Fresh fruit. Sorry - only papaya. All others on offer were out of a can.

Unfortunately the list on the negative side just goes on and on. This hotel is really not for the business traveler. This is worth it only if the price is right. There are lots of better options in the city. Go there instead.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJNJ-Roaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear AJNJ_Roaming,

Thank you for taking time off to share your feedback. Whilst it is good to know we were able to make a good first impression, we are however concerned with the less ideal experiences during your recent stay.

We regret that the amenities in your room could have been better maintained to eradicate any inconveniences caused. On the choices of cut fruits at breakfast, it is our procedure to provide 3 types of freshly cut fruits. We do hope to welcome you back to experience a stay representative of the usual standard of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I'm in the first day of a 10 day stay and am dreading the next 9. I've had to call the front desk 4 times already...air conditioning didn't work, not enough towels (1 in room), no converter in room, HBO not working - this isn't a good start. It also takes time to call the front desk, rings about a minute each time. Not good service.

My dinner at the Brio restaurant was good and the location is nice for checking out local sites. Internet connection is good too.

I'm here on business but I will likely not stay here again even though it is currently the preferred hotel of my company in Sigapore.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZTALiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear ZTALiz,

While it is pleasurable to learn of your satisfaction with dinner at Café Brio’s and our ideal riverside locale, we regret that some experiences during your recent stay with us were less than ideal.

Please rest assure this is not the usual standard we endeavour and that improvisations are ongoing to heighten our hospitality standard. We wish to welcome you back for a stay that is truly reflective of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

6 of us stayed in three rooms here in August 2012. Two rooms were excellent but the 3rd was musty. However we were quickly moved when we complained. All rooms were spacious, clean and overlooked the river, good view. We enjoyed the breakfast every day for 6 days. Also swam in the pool most days especially after the day's shopping or sight seeing. Nice to relax on the sunlounge.
The hotel is a little way out of town. The concierges, especially the woman (forget her name now, sorry) were very helpful in assisting us with our day's plans.
There is a complimentary shuttle bus, which is fine for getting you to one of the destinations it travels to. However, later in the day you're best not to rely on it to pick you up as I think the driver calls it quits if he thinks no one is around. We waited over 1/2 hour for it at a Chinatown (and we were at the stop before the scheduled time) but it didn't appear. Apart from that, our stay was good.

Room Tip: Try for a river view on one of the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilechezza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCopthorneSing, Hotel Management at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear smilechezza11,

Thank you for your good review. Our housekeepers would be happy to know you enjoyed the clean and spacious room. Indeed, our rooms with river view are highly coveted. It is also very heartening to know our concierge had been tremendously helpful during your stay with us.

We however regret that the return shuttle bus service was not fulfilled. We hope it did not mar an overall wonderful stay experience. Nonetheless, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
M Hotel Singapore
#78 of 312 in Singapore
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#70 of 312 in Singapore
3,410 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#50 of 312 in Singapore
3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Property: Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Address: 392 Havelock Road, Singapore 169663, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#72 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#74 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#81 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Copthorne Waterfront
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing