We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #1 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I got a chance to walk around this beautiful and old Hotel. Very pricey but the staff is there for your every need!
One of the staff members was kind enough to tell me all about the history of this place. A must stay but very $$$$$

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear salley j,

Thank you for your kind review of Raffles Singapore. As an iconic part of Singapore’s history for over 125 years, I am delighted you found the hotel beautiful and the staff obliging at every moment, and that you were able to find out more about our heritage from one of our colleagues, We strive to be a true oasis for travellers, however long their stay may be, and hope we will be able to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,871
    628
    149
    47
    38
See reviews for
679
1,833
258
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Comfortable hotel, but living on its 'colonial reputation'.
Very expensive, yet furnishings especially in the hotel reception , rather worn,.
Bathrooms definitely very much need 'upgrading' very 1970's. Staff very attentive and helpful as one would expect in Singapore. Food very average and expensive.

Room Tip: Eat and drink outside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Anthony T,

Greetings from Raffles Singapore.

Thank you choosing to stay with us as well as for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback.

While I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and staff attentive, I regret that you found the furnishings and bathroom not up to your expectations. We have shared your feedback with the relevant departments to ensure that these areas are refreshed and upgraded.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Raffles Singapore in the not so distant future.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We're Sg residents and we want to confirm others feedback,
Great staff ! Really great food ! Interesting surrounding and much more !!! Warmly recommended ( ... and if you've to choice between both, one step above Fullerton Hotel :-)

Room Tip: Sunday's brunches are always fully books ... have to book !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudineBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear claudineBangcok,

Thank you for choosing to post such a lovely review of Raffles Singapore. It is always very interesting to hear feedback from our guests, particularly from those who live in the area. I was therefore so pleased that you found the staff great, the food even better and the setting worthy of note. I do hope you will both return again soon, we will be sure to save you a space for Sunday brunch!

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I took advantage of a four for three offer and finished up my January short break at Raffles. From the first to the last the staff were all welcoming and courteous, my room was well appointed and I left feeling recharged and ready to go back to the European winter. Yes, the constant flow of non guests through the hotel can be annoying and the long bar is a tourist trap, but the hotel has plenty of quiet corners in which to relax.

Room Tip: Building work is non stop in the area, so ask the hotel for a room facing away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonsaiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I had occasion to visit Raffles Hotel several times this month due to a friend having an extended stay there.I have to say my experience of some of the staff as a visitor was poor. We all understand the hotels legitimate need to keep a flood of tourists hell bent on photo opportunities out as much as possible, but when the curtness extends to visitors to the hotel something is very wrong. We too have a right to the dining and bar facilities one would expect but it seems we are expected to use the rear entrance like tradesmen or so it seems.On each of 3 occasions arriving for business meetings so suitably but casually dressed (i.e collared shirt and slacks) I was greeted by an apparently courteous 'Can I help you' but when declining the offer of help I was 'challenged' by doormen and even the receptionist to the point of being annoyed by the frequency of interruptions.A colleague arriving separately had exactly the same experience and was also offended saying 'like the days of the Raj'. When he had the temerity to sit in the lobby awaiting our host he was asked repeatedly who he was waiting for. All in all a pretty poor showing by what is supposed to be a leading hotel. This said the staff at the outlets were amiable and efficient.So not all bad news but a disappointing entrance for sure and absolutely no class!! If you want to know what real class is in hotels try the Savoy in London.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnylavaBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear johnnylavaBeijing,

I am happy to hear that you found the staff at our restaurants friendly and efficient but regret to hear of your less than favourable experience with the doorman, which should not have been the case and I do apologise. I have taken on board your comments and have shared this with the team.

As you will know, we have many visitors to Raffles due to the history and reputation. We are delighted that this is the case however we do have to manage the situation sensitively and carefully to protect the privacy of guests actually staying at the hotel. Overall our team manages this challenging task extremely well and of course we should handle every situation with courtesy. This is our philosophy and we regret that your experience was otherwise.

I greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this feedback, and do hope to welcome you back to Raffles Singapore.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Hirst,
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We expected top notch service however our three night stay exceeded our expectations - we stayed in a Palm Court suite and indulged in afternoon tea, dinner in both the Long Bar steakhouse and courtyard - yes it was on the pricy side but worth it for the service and ambience I would definitely recommend that you tick it off your to-do list!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CMK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear CMK76,

Thank you for your delightful review of Raffles Singapore. To read that we exceeded expectations brought a smile to my face, as one of our key aims is to maintain Raffles’ renowned levels of service, day to day. It makes my job all the more gratifying when I know that we are achieving this.

Cuisine is also an important aspect of the Raffles experience, and I was so pleased that you enjoyed dining in our various restaurants. Thank you for recommending your experience to others – as caretakers of such a renowned icon of Singapore, we feel it should be on people’s to-do lists too! I will pass on you great feedback to the rest of the team and hope you will return again.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buntingford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Raffles hotel is like no other 5 star hotel. The moment you are ushered through the door with such grace and the staff on reception are helpful and thoughtful of your requirements. The rooms are second to none, with 24hr butler service available, where nothing is too much trouble. Although the hotel attracts hundred's of tourist's every day just to photograph the building, you never feel the sense that you are in a major city. Its calm and peaceful in all the public areas. The decor is all original and you fell like you have walked back in time..fantastic. the food us absolutely superb from the breakfasts to the writers bar. Thankyou so much for making our holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,715 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,704 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#8 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing