We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Evening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #4 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Raffles hotel was our last stop in the evening tour. Great structure, location snd history. We started the tour from the main entrance and then walked through the corridor. We reached the indian restaurant and our guide just opened the door. The aroma was superb. From there we walked our way to the bar upstairs for the singapore sling drink . Kids are not allowed upstairs and they had to be in the lower level of the bar. We were there for 2hours and had a great evening. A place not to be missed!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jitesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,114)
There are newer reviews for Raffles Hotel Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,335 - 2,341 of 4,114 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Normally I would opt for more modern hotels, and while some aspects of the hotel are a little dated, in this instance the history ambiance make up for slightly tired décor. Suites are spacious and comfortable and the staff couldn’t be more helpful.
Walking along the colonnades knowing the names that have gone before you is truly amazing – a really special place.
Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Nice place, one of this old Palace.
I am normally more for modern hotel, but if you stay once in your life in Singapore and can afford it, do it!
Suite are spacious and have all original atmosphere.
Staffs are very nice but could be bite more efficient.
2 days in a row our room was not ready after 15:00, and one morning seating at 10:00 for a cigarette, it still was the 2 glasses of wine left the night before by some guests...who for me it's a shame considering the reputation of this hotel.
You wouldn't see that in Dubai hotels or Other Palace.
The Plus is the atmosphere and you think that your going to see H.Poirot walking to you!
Good location too.
Concierge was very efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms are all suites and spacious.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Wrote a review but forgot the photos - here they are...
Misc photos of inside & outside. Room, veranda outside the room with two chairs and a table per room. Was just before Christmas hence the Christmas tree. The Grand-Father clock is in reception and looks great - AND it chimes!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
5  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I had many choices to pick a hotel in Singapore, but when you think of a hotel with the luxury, service and history, Raffles had to be the place to be. Yes, there are many hotels within Singapore that have ultra modern luxury amenities, but you can go to any other city and get that same feeling.
Raffles has that old school feeling, the Sikh Indian doorman once you set foot on the grounds, the check in and check out lobby, the outdoor walkways, the hardwood floors and ceiling fans in your suite gives it a different vibe.
The butler service is a #1, they make their presence felt, there are 3 of them within the 24 hour shift. They make sure that any question you may have is answered quickly. On our first day, they brought over some Singapore Slings to our suite in no time flat. Dinner reservations or a place you want to visit; quickly and correctly booked.
Breakfast was great and the wait staff was quick with orders and service. As soon as my plate was clear, they took it away. My drink glass almost empty, another one served to my table. The waffles were great!
If I had to nick pick about the place, its the old school box 80's box TV (but that was mentioned many times in previous reviews) and the later than usual room clean up. Our room didn't get serviced until 2 or 3 in the afternoon when we were getting back from sightseeing and wanted to take a quick nap before dinnertime. Probably want to request early room serivce.
Other than that, it was flawless and enjoyable! Will return. Hopefully for F1.
Thanks Raffles for the service

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al2ktoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear al2ktoy,

Thank you for your very detailed and complimentary review of Raffles Singapore.

I am delighted to hear that you had an almost flawless and enjoyable experience, as a result of the old world feel, facilities and beautiful architecture; as well as the prompt service from our butlers and the staff at Tiffin Room.

I have noted your feedback on the TV and servicing of the suite and you are quite right in suggesting that should an earlier servicing be required, to let us know in advance. We will be happy to comply.

Thank you for your continued support of Raffles Singapore and I look forward to welcoming you back for F1 in September.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Raffles is a white temple of light, beauty and heritage; a grand palace where history, opulence and hospitality blend to create a memorable experience.

Pros:
- The building is beyond beautiful. One of the most stunning and grand hotel buildings in Asia, with the added benefits of being in pristine conditions.
- The suites are enormous, nicely laid out, and wonderfully preserve the historic feeling. The period furniture and insanely high ceilings are gorgeous.
- The ambience is fantastic throughout.
- The Long Bar has a great atmosphere and is a good place to hang out and listen to live music until very late.
- Location is perfect, right at the centre of things.

Cons:
- We found one area that needs to be improved: breakfast. My eggs benedict were overcooked both days, and had nowhere near enough hollandaise. The buffet is very good but with less selection than a good business hotel. Service was chaos: on day 2, we got cold / lukewarm coffee three times, four times we were brought food destined for other tables, and had to ask for the bill three times.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edtealdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A wonderful experience and a birthday i will never forget. The whole Raffles experience is fantastic, from the afternoon tea in The Tiffin Room, Singapore Sling in the Long Bar and the juiciest steak ever tasted in the Steak Restaurant. But best of all had to be our suite, mind blowing luxury. do it folks, add it to your bucket list.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grrr4men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 316 in Singapore
22,425 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 316 in Singapore
7,528 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#2 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $468 - $912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing