We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely way to spend a couple of days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #4 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Normally I would opt for more modern hotels, and while some aspects of the hotel are a little dated, in this instance the history ambiance make up for slightly tired décor. Suites are spacious and comfortable and the staff couldn’t be more helpful.
Walking along the colonnades knowing the names that have gone before you is truly amazing – a really special place.
Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,427 - 2,433 of 4,228 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

Nice place, one of this old Palace.
I am normally more for modern hotel, but if you stay once in your life in Singapore and can afford it, do it!
Suite are spacious and have all original atmosphere.
Staffs are very nice but could be bite more efficient.
2 days in a row our room was not ready after 15:00, and one morning seating at 10:00 for a cigarette, it still was the 2 glasses of wine left the night before by some guests...who for me it's a shame considering the reputation of this hotel.
You wouldn't see that in Dubai hotels or Other Palace.
The Plus is the atmosphere and you think that your going to see H.Poirot walking to you!
Good location too.
Concierge was very efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms are all suites and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Wrote a review but forgot the photos - here they are...
Misc photos of inside & outside. Room, veranda outside the room with two chairs and a table per room. Was just before Christmas hence the Christmas tree. The Grand-Father clock is in reception and looks great - AND it chimes!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
5  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I had many choices to pick a hotel in Singapore, but when you think of a hotel with the luxury, service and history, Raffles had to be the place to be. Yes, there are many hotels within Singapore that have ultra modern luxury amenities, but you can go to any other city and get that same feeling.
Raffles has that old school feeling, the Sikh Indian doorman once you set foot on the grounds, the check in and check out lobby, the outdoor walkways, the hardwood floors and ceiling fans in your suite gives it a different vibe.
The butler service is a #1, they make their presence felt, there are 3 of them within the 24 hour shift. They make sure that any question you may have is answered quickly. On our first day, they brought over some Singapore Slings to our suite in no time flat. Dinner reservations or a place you want to visit; quickly and correctly booked.
Breakfast was great and the wait staff was quick with orders and service. As soon as my plate was clear, they took it away. My drink glass almost empty, another one served to my table. The waffles were great!
If I had to nick pick about the place, its the old school box 80's box TV (but that was mentioned many times in previous reviews) and the later than usual room clean up. Our room didn't get serviced until 2 or 3 in the afternoon when we were getting back from sightseeing and wanted to take a quick nap before dinnertime. Probably want to request early room serivce.
Other than that, it was flawless and enjoyable! Will return. Hopefully for F1.
Thanks Raffles for the service

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al2ktoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear al2ktoy,

Thank you for your very detailed and complimentary review of Raffles Singapore.

I am delighted to hear that you had an almost flawless and enjoyable experience, as a result of the old world feel, facilities and beautiful architecture; as well as the prompt service from our butlers and the staff at Tiffin Room.

I have noted your feedback on the TV and servicing of the suite and you are quite right in suggesting that should an earlier servicing be required, to let us know in advance. We will be happy to comply.

Thank you for your continued support of Raffles Singapore and I look forward to welcoming you back for F1 in September.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Raffles is a white temple of light, beauty and heritage; a grand palace where history, opulence and hospitality blend to create a memorable experience.

Pros:
- The building is beyond beautiful. One of the most stunning and grand hotel buildings in Asia, with the added benefits of being in pristine conditions.
- The suites are enormous, nicely laid out, and wonderfully preserve the historic feeling. The period furniture and insanely high ceilings are gorgeous.
- The ambience is fantastic throughout.
- The Long Bar has a great atmosphere and is a good place to hang out and listen to live music until very late.
- Location is perfect, right at the centre of things.

Cons:
- We found one area that needs to be improved: breakfast. My eggs benedict were overcooked both days, and had nowhere near enough hollandaise. The buffet is very good but with less selection than a good business hotel. Service was chaos: on day 2, we got cold / lukewarm coffee three times, four times we were brought food destined for other tables, and had to ask for the bill three times.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edtealdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A wonderful experience and a birthday i will never forget. The whole Raffles experience is fantastic, from the afternoon tea in The Tiffin Room, Singapore Sling in the Long Bar and the juiciest steak ever tasted in the Steak Restaurant. But best of all had to be our suite, mind blowing luxury. do it folks, add it to your bucket list.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grrr4men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

As a Doctor and a very well traveled person I expected to go to Singapore. However after an unfortunate accident I was left disabled, unable to work and reliant on large amounts of medication and a wheelchair (although able to transfer on crutches) . My great Uncle would tell me stories of sitting in Raffles sipping the famous Singapore Sling and the bar where you throw your peanut shells on the floor.

My 50th Birthday just happened to coincide with a big family event in the USA – an event beyond my capacity. However as a special gift I was treated/used my savings on a trip to Singapore with my dear friend.

Originally the cost of staying at Raffles seemed beyond reach – however when Trip Advisor sent a reduced rate/deal for Singapore Hotels through we decided it was worth the extra and we booked for 4 nights – as we were to get the last night free!

Arrangements were made by my family as they had heard about getting chauffeur transfers and thought it would be helpful and enjoyable treat for my 50th. This was the first of the disappointments – arriving tired and sore at the airport no sign with our names on it. After a while we phoned and were told haughtily as far as Raffles was concerned no such arrangement had been made and we had to get there ourselves.

When we checked in, this issue came up and the receptionist acknowledged that in fact Raffles had been contacted about my 50th and the airport pickup but that ‘my family had not gone about making the airport transfer booking correctly’. What? We were too tired to suggest that they possibly could have been told this! The next issue – we have you for 2 nights. What? No our booking was definitely made for 3 nights plus the 1 free night. No budge on that either – our delightful butler (polite and professional) later went to try correct this issue and returned with a piece of calculator paper with 3100 on it. I asked what this was. This was the amount for the next 2 nights. Wwhhaaatttt? Is this to move to one of the extra-special suites? No, this was to stay in our current courtyard suite room for 2 more nights. (We had booked on a rate of $430p.n. inc breakfast). So we were left with having to find another Hotel to move to but at least we were at Raffles for my 50th!

There was no fault with our courtyard suite – aside from some of the bathroom – that later. But most importantly the beds were very comfortable and the linens pristine, the decor tasteful and thoughtful. Aside from the spooky plumbing noises we slept very soundly.
For ease we had breakfast outside our room in facing across from the courtyard square – the trees provided some privacy but we did begin to rue not having any other outlook or sense of distance. Service was impeccable and we were well treated.

My powerchair broke down first morning as we left to explore – no one came to our aid despite attempts to get help until we were nearly back at our room. We found out that our only hope was to hire a power scooter – this wasted the best part of these precious two Raffle days after the concierge/receptionist mislaid the message from the repair/scooter hire company. It also meant I was crushed into the child-size only available Hotel wheelchair, the side pushed against the wheel- which was too hard for my friend to push me especially in the heat.

We had a booking at the famous Tiffin room for my birthday afternoon tea which we had been looking forward to for weeks (even years). When we got to the room, my friend was still pushing me, no one offered to take over for her, then the worst! Instead of putting us at one of the outside tables at the edge we were shepherded through the massive room to a table ¾ way into and ½ across the Tiffin room this meant that EVERY single table had no choice but to move their chairs or to stand up and make way for us! We were SO EMBARRASSED to inconvenience so many people. Only to get to our table to find that the chair supplied for me was not at all suitable for a disabled person – and then this larger armchair had to be then brought through all the same people. We were then invited to make our way to the Buffet at the far end!! When we informed our waiter that this was not really possible he collected a range of the buffet items for us to choose – but of course it was his selection in addition to the extra tea choices on the table. My friend commented that it made us look very greedy/wasteful, so much ended up uneaten. The sandwiches on the tea rack were all meat/fish, all white bread and all drying out/curling up. We asked for any non-meat options the replacements were good but again white bread and still beginning to dry out. The ‘hot’ dim-sums were very salty and not very hot, the spring rolls were OK, many of the cakes were also not as flavourful/moist as one would have expected. We have had many High Teas in New Zealand which quite frankly have been far superior and considerably cheaper. A few of the mini tarts were good, but then came my surprise Birthday cake which looked lovely–duly accompanied by the (wonderful) Harpist and a few waiters. It all should have been enjoyable but I still felt embarrassed from prior events. We stayed much longer drinking more tea just to not have such a scene again! For a second I thought that Raffles had supplied a birthday cake since it was my 50th etc. No – my girlfriend had purchased it in advance at some cost. It was the worst cake either of us had eaten – yes, chocolate but then it had this layer of what looked like caramel – but was in fact super thick very sour, bitter gelatinous, lemonish stuff.. I love lemon/sour, I like chocolate, I like most things – but this was almost inedible – we in fact just could not eat it despite making an attempt late that night!

We had reservations at the much touted Italian restaurant, but when we realised how far my friend would have to push me I agreed to cancel my ‘birthday dinner’ and ordered room service. We had Laksa – which we both relatively enjoyed and a Singapore Sling –after all got to have a SS on one’s 50th – only one arrived which was placed for my friend- and for some reason the message did not quite get relayed about my missing cocktail – so we gave up on mine and I shared a few sips of my friends. Not exactly the birthday we had anticipated!

We thought to hell with it let’s go to the other end of the expensive spectrum and booked in at the Marina Bay Sands 5 star Hotel (yes the one with the famous high infinity pool) Everything was different/better from the food, to the incredible views, to the pristine amenities to the disabled services. In the end we were thankful that our Raffles booking was messed up (one of those situations when you think it is negative but ultimately turns out for the best!) We took delivery of the hire scooter as we checked in at MBS – and found out that we could have had it the first day we were at Raffles. In fact within a few hours of our inquiry. All that wasted money & time, unable to go anywhere or do anything - waiting to hear when we could get the hire scooter. We missed so many things due to this major oversight. We cannot get it back, and cannot readily afford to take such a trip again. Very angry at Raffles despite the old world charm my 50th birthday was utterly ruined.

The plumbing. Yes I know its old and quaint – so the loud drains etc are part of the experience. However, the mould, missing tile grout/loose tiles , dirty toilet seat hinges are not. My friend eyed the bath and decided she was going to enjoy a nice soak – until she went to run it. Badly stained bath, and shockingly not very clean around the sides, more grime/mould. Even old baths can be restored/kept clean.

Little do we know that this was to be a mild experience when it came to the ‘restrooms’. After we had visited the famous Long Bar (could not really leave until we had) and finished checking out we decided to use the bathroom – and was directed all the way round back to the India Rooms opposite the amazing fountain -this is one of the function areas. It was absolutely disgusting! No excuse for the built up filth and the lack of ventilation with strong odours of stale vomit etc -nor when the lavatory seat detaches which is very dangerous with a disabled person. Other women were commenting – several had the option of returning to their rooms to go to the bathroom and did so - I do understand that Raffles never markets itself as a disabled-appropriate Hotel but this was just appalling. It was the kind of experience you expect at some rough roadside garage or pub not one of the best Hotels in Singapore! And regrettably it was the last experience we had at Raffles!

Room Tip: Go get a Room with a view - try Marina Bay Sands!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank DeeAnne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Dr DeeAnne R

Thank you very much for taking time to share your feedback so honestly. I am sorry that we have taken more time than usual to reply as I wanted to investigate fully. Obviously I am terribly disappointed that your overall experience was not what the vast majority of our guests normally enjoy so much at Raffles.

We regret that you felt the tone of our colleague was not appropriate and this is most unusual to hear. We do apologise if it were so. With respect, we have checked our records and it did show that your reservations was made through Expedia for two nights with no request for limousine transfers. Subsequent to your request for the additional nights’ stay, our colleague had presented the rates for the additional two nights on our hotel stationery for your reference. The 4 for 3 offer may be offered by travel agencies and may indeed be available at certain times/seasons. I am sorry we were unable to offer this over this period.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the suite, comfort and service. While I do agree that our bathrooms are rather traditional in design and the bathtub ready for re-coating which is an ongoing programme, they are almost always spotlessly clean.

It was indeed very unfortunate that your power scooter failed at the beginning of your visit. I do apologise that the handling of the message was not to the expected standard. It is very rare that this happens and this has been addressed with the team. We did provide an adult wheelchair, however, we will certainly look at a better quality and larger wheelchair following your feedback.

I am very sorry to hear of your overall experience in Tiffin Room. Many guests in wheelchairs from our experience prefer to be ‘in’ the room than put at the ‘entrance’ or ‘edge’ which had made them feel excluded in the past. Most guests are very understanding of wheelchairs and will go out of their way to be helpful. It happens quite often here. I understand your frustration regarding the buffet, however the waiter was just trying to be helpful and generous. I accept that you found the dim sum salty; the quality has been very consistent and the item is very popular in general. There is of course no excuse for the sandwiches to be starting to become dry however we do have a selection of non-meat sandwiches (the standard includes egg with mayonnaise and cucumber with cream cheese). I am also very disappointed that your cake was not to your liking.

I was very disturbed by your report of the public restrooms and these are inspected on an hourly basis and they may have had an odour due to a recent illness by a previous guest when you visited. They are heavily used in the area and we have permanent staff to maintain these restrooms.

Overall, I can completely understand much of your disappointment and if agreeable, I would like to contact you in the next few days to resolve this directly as we would not wish for this to happen to any of our guests.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Hirst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#39 of 319 in Singapore
22,965 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 319 in Singapore
5,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $442 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing