We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #1 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Raffles Singapore during our christmas holidays in Singapore. We were immediately impressed by the beauty and heritage of this exceptional property.

The Staff is extremely well trained. They managed to make us feel very welcome. Every demand was perfectly executed. But still you never got that artificial feeling you can get in top class hotels.

We saw Pierre every day all around the property during our stay. At first we thought he was a special trainee of some sort because he was participating in everything that was going on at the hotel. To our embarrassment we asked him whether he was a trainee at the hotel. After he replied in a very friendly way that he was in fact the manager, we apologized for our misconception. Perhaps Pierre could have introduced himself to us at the beginning of our stay, so we could have avoided this embarrassment for all of us altogether.

During our stay we also participated at the New Years Eve party. It was a truly memorable night! My only complaint was about the Music. Although the DJ was a very good indeed. At this level of luxury they could have hired a Jazz- or Big Band for the whole night to make everything more glamorous and classy. In my opinion nothing beats live music.

Im looking forward to be staying at the Raffles hotel Singapore again. Thank you!

Room Tip: The palm court suites offer more privacy than the courtyard suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deMastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for staying with us during the past Festive Season and celebrating New Year’s Eve at the Grande Dame. I am pleased to read that the team could make you feel welcome & cared for and took note of your music preference during the Gala evening.

Please do not worry about the misunderstanding when we met. Usually our trainees are younger people but indeed I also walk around the hotel a lot to follow the daily events. Unfortunately I do not have the possibility to meet every single guest in person but I am happy that I could make your acquaintance and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,688
    565
    140
    47
    37
See reviews for
626
1,707
241
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stay there for one night as its a "wanting to try" thing and on transist to Australia. Cannot deny the great service and quality for everything. Guess its the experience but one night was a little too short to have a full experience.
Love the lanscape around everywhere and certainly the ambience. Try the Singapore Sling and had the nostalgic feel when drinking it. May consider to stay again if not for the high expenses required for staying here. Havng stayed at quite a few Hotels in Singapore, more likely than not we can have an excellent experience too but at half the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your quick stopover to Australia. Indeed, a one-night stay is short to explore that numerous restaurants, facilities and historic corners of the hotel but I am glad that the first experience was positive.

I also noted your comments regarding the price: being a premium hotel with unique history and top-quality service, our prices are high. We have various suite packages and regular promotions that can make the experience pleasant and more interesting from a financial perspective.

I hope to have you back again at Raffles Hotel Singapore, maybe with one of the suite packages.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our five night stay at Raffles is one to remember...friendly, attentive, professional staff, beautiful surroundings, excellent food and central location....we couldn't have asked for any more.
A perfect hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary ...a truly memorable occasion. The champagne gift was a lovely gesture from staff.
A stay worth having in December when the hotel is decorated so beautifully both inside and out. A hotel worth every penny!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuirTaysideScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Many thanks for booking our hotel for a longer stay and taking the time to give your opinion.

Congratulations to your 25th wedding anniversary, this is truly an occasion that deserves to be celebrated and I am happy that it’s the atmosphere & service of the Grande Dame that appealed to you. Indeed, the historic décor and the festive décor around Christmas time give a very special feel to the place.

Wishing you a wonderful festive season and I look forward to welcoming you again among our guests.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

It's obviously incredibly expensive, but the Raffles remains the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

The combination of a nostalgic atmosphere with exceptional service is the reason I save my pennies to stay there whenever I visit Singapore, and I'll always have fond memories of the pianist in the lobby lounge playing Noel Coward's "I'll See You Again".

On both of my visits we stayed in the courtyard personality suites, with their antique furniture, creaky brass fittings and shuttered breakfast parlours.

Simply unforgettable.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bendineen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for returning to the Grande Dame for the 2nd time already. We strive to differentiate ourselves through exceptional service and aim to be the choice of hotel for our guests when visiting Singapore.

Thank you for your appreciation of the nostalgic feel and the pianist, we look forward to having you with us again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Although ridiculously expensive, a stay a Raffles is worth it. The food and service is top drawer. The manager is personally assisting me with an international car rental and the fellow beside me is arranging for his private jet. The rooms are large, quiet and appointed with every luxury. Some of the marble in the bathroom needs to be replaced but all else was excellent. We will be back

Room Tip: Our room was 1st floor, lovely court yard opening on to a spacious landing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read that we could make you feel pampered which is our top objective with every guest. Thank you for your appreciation of the service and the food in our restaurants and please be assured that we took note of your comments regarding the bathroom tiles.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed just 1 night in Raffles when we visited Singapore (on our way from a trip to Australia in November 2012) and it was amazing - we would have happily stayed a lot longer.

We stayed in a Personality Suite (the James Michener Suite) and it was amazing, certainly fit for any major personality! The room layout was beautiful and the room was so spacious. Everything - mirrors, plugs, furniture was well appointed just where you wanted/needed it to be. Bathrobes and slippers also a nice addition.

Our welcome to the hotel was outstanding, and all staff that we dealt with were professional and friendly without being over the top. They all seemed genuinely interested in talking to guests and passing the time of day with us.

Our room wasn't quite ready when we checked in and we were offered our choice of drinks from the bar while we waited - not that we waited long. After being shown to our suite we were offered a round of Singapore Slings to welcome us to the hotel - a very nice touch and we enjoyed these sitting at our outdoor table on the verandah outside our room.

Breaktast could be served to you in your room, at your outdoor table or by the pool - any of these options at no extra charge. We thought that was a nice touch.

The hotel isn't cheap but worth every penny and we certainly hope to return for another stay in the future.

Room Tip: I suspect you can't go wrong with any room at Raffles but would certainly recommend the personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for choosing the Grand Dame for your short stay in Singapore, I am happy to read that the hotel team could make you feel pampered and cared for. Our Personality Suites are indeed very popular and the hotel designer has spent a long time researching the historic objects that make these suites come to life. James Michener stayed several times at the hotel and in 1998 we decided to name one of the suites after this illustrious author to honor his memory and passage at the hotel.

I hope next time you will have more time to stay with us and look forward to your upcoming visit.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was a walk-in customer and was impressed by the hotel's service from the moment I drove up to its steps. The hotel and rooms are impeccably modernised while maintaining the building's old elegance. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The only flaw are the old TVs.

The receptionist was great and offered complimentary drinks while I waited for her to check me in. This level of customer service was maintained throughout the stay. I have to say that the hotel isn't cheap, but it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igotthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for sharing your review with us, I am glad that your stay with us was positive. As you stay, we do the maximum to keep the colonial charm of the hotel without compromising on modern amenities. I understand your disappointment with the old-style TV in the suite, please be informed that they will be renewed in the future.

Thank you for choosing Raffles Hotel Singapore, I hope to have you soon again with us.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
InterContinental Singapore
#5 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
#3 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing