We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$1,105
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Priceline
$1,163
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$952
View deal
Booking.com$1,163
Hotels.com$1,105
Trip.com$996
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,102)
Filter reviews
5,102 results
Traveler rating
3,893
902
190
66
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,893
902
190
66
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiffin room courtyard suite writers bar monkey nuts the palm court famous long bar history tour courtyard bar personal butler bucket list high tea grand lobby butler service colonial style main building welcome drink sling
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,518 - 3,523 of 5,102 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I took my mother to Raffles for her 60th Birthday in September 2012 during the F1.

I am tempted to clutter this review with superfluous adjectives like elegant, beautiful, grand, glamorous, magnificent, but I would not do Raffles any justice.

Room: Courtyard Suite. Fit for any king or queen, or mere mortal, who itches for magnificence, thanks to its colossal 14 ft. ceilings. I also loved the coolness the handsome dark teak floors gave the room. It was a real treat to be able to return to this oasis after a grueling day battling the humidity and throngs of shoppers on Orchard St.

Got to relax in our room’s spacious parlor and dining area before heading to the Martini Bar for a pre-dinner cocktail.

The bathroom was generously sized. The bath was uber-comfortable.

Note: This was the entry-level room and it was perfect, and contrary to an earlier review, the hotel does provide coffee making facilities, which serve up a decent cup of Java.

The furnishings and architecture throughout the hotel and arcade replicate the grand colonial style Raffles was famous for back in the 20s. If you don’t appreciate “old architecture”, you may not adore this hotel quite as much as my sentimental heart does. There are more flashier, modern hotels in Singapore if you are that way inclined. And if you are looking for a hotel with a more authentic Asian feel, then keep looking.

Food: Breakfast was good. Usual fare on offer at most 5 star hotels. Everything was fresh and looked beautiful.

Feasted on the elaborate treats at the afternoon tea at Raffles. It’s expensive but worth the splurge. The desserts were amazing and my mother loved the selection of fresh fruits.

Did drop into the Long Bar. It’s worth a look (and no, I didn’t have a Singapore sling.) The monkey nuts were great and the bar had the expected and much famed colonial feel. Had lunch at the bar. The food was mediocre. Bland burgers and Ikea style Nachos that you have to assemble yourself. To be fair, the ingredients were very fresh.

Service: Excellent all the way, especially, the service at afternoon tea and breakfast.

Museum: Worth a 2-minute fly through, or you can just visit the gift shop.

Tips: If you are staying in the hotel, be sure to check out the east wing. It has a display of photographs of the rich, famous and infamous who have graced Raffles with their presence.

Raffles is as flamboyant and chic as even her most famous resident and worth the truckloads of pennies you are required to hand over for the privilege, and you just never know whom you might behold at breakfast as you bite into a piping hot croissant . . .

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeSniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for staying with us for the birthday of your mother, a truly big occasion which I am glad we could make pleasant. We are grateful for your appreciation of the historic atmosphere and the traditional service at our hotel but I also took note of your comments regarding the food at the Long Bar.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and tips with us and the community, I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was our first (and hopefully not our last) stay at Raffles on a two-day stop-over returning from a holiday in Australia in November 2012. The warm welcome and attentive service, from the intial greeting by the turban-wearing Indian gentleman on arrival, to his shaking our hands as we sadly left, was simply superb. The lady who handled the check-in also showed us to our our room and explained the features of the room, which was an unexpected professional touch. The room was an elegant cool fragrant oasis, overlooking the garden courtyard, complete with parlour, and marble bathroom, and one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in. The reception assistant even apologised (without being prompted) for the old television, which you could find inside a large ornate cabinet, promising that they would be upgraded soon, but this felt like an irrelevant concern when you have so much opulence to enjoy. Breakfast in the Tiffin Room offered a wide choice, and some asian breakfast options as well, served by attentive staff. After breakfast, there can be no better start to you day in Singapore, than walking through the elegant lobby and out through the grand hotel entrance. A final unexpected touch, was inviting us to use the spa after checking out, to change before our flight home. Thank you to all the staff we encountered, for making our stay so memorable.

Room tip: Ask for a courtyard room overlooking the private garden courtyard.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kungfuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Many thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay in the Lion City. It is a pleasure to read the way you describe the service of our colleagues who always strive to give a personal & attentive service, being always at disposal but never intrusive. We train them to be “like a gentle summer breeze” – refreshing and pleasant but remaining in the background.

I hope there will be occasions to return to Singapore and stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Raffles property is soaked in tradition.The reception staff is very helpful and escort you to your room.If finding your way to the room initially may appear easy but later when you try on your own,you may get lost!The rooms are spacious and bathroom very large and well provided.Wifi is free but the tv is small and prehistoric!Service is very prompt.Siting in the balcony is a pleasure but the pegeons are very irritating.Morning breakfast is good.Mr.Shetty
was very friendly and helpful.
Long Bar,with its Singapore Sling,lives upto expectation.Its very casual and you can drop peanut shells on the floor!Museum and 'Tiger under the Billiards table' room are worth visiting.
Don't miss to see all the black and white photos of visiting VIPs.
All in all, an experience to be cherished.

Room tip: Choose a room easy to find when you return at night!
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashok B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Many thanks for your feedback and especially the compliments for Shetty from Tiffin Room, we are grateful for your appreciation. I am happy to read that overall you enjoyed the stay and took note of your remarks regarding certain product details as well as the pigeons.

Looking forward to having you back again,

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just had to try a Singapore Sling. Best described as a well-presented alcopop. Hadn't known about the peanuts - large bowls on each table, crack the shells and throw them on the floor where the crunched on the tiles as people walked over them. Must be quite a few binsful when they sweep up at closing-time. For our second drink we went more conventional. Can recommend the Tanqueray/Grey Goose martini. We also rated the club sandwiches in the Courtyard Bar.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Val_active_pensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your review on the Long Bar and the Raffles Courtyard, it is good to hear you enjoyed the classic Singapore Sling as well as throwing the peanut shells on the floor.
Thank you for visiting us, I look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

1 Beach Road, Singapore

When I lived in Singapore I often found myself at Raffles Hotel, Using its fabulous bar or restaurant venues. The experience was always top notch. Raffles is now one of my favourite hotels when I visit Singapore for a few days--though admittedly  Singapore has many great hotels. Raffles is above all else a luxury hotel offering top-notch restaurants, opulent interiors and the services of a personal butler.

It isn't cheap fore certain, but if you are able to book one of their rooms and can afford it,  for just one indulgence, Raffles Hotel is the one to book. The hotel has history and was declared a national monument by the Singapore government in 1987. She is now 125 years old, and still gives off a taste of colonial glory days - no worries though because she is updated and modern thanks to a restoration project that was completed 20 years ago.

Raffles has history and that is a nice change from most modern hotels today- I call it eye candy. So you get some of Singapore’s colonial past without sacrificing comfort.
I booked one of the Palm Court suites for the outdoor veranda with rattan seats.
You can dine magnificently without leaving the property – top-notch offerings such as Royal China, and French fine dining at Raffles Grill. The peanut shell-littered Long Bar, remains one of my favourite meeting places when I connect with friends and colleagues. 

Perhaps the single most alluring element of Raffles for me  is its architecture ~ an arrangement of low-rise - verandah-enclosed - colonial-style buildings - painted white with terrecotta-tiled pitched roofs. The contrast between the lush and tropical gardens and turn-of-the-century colonial architecture has rarely failed to ignite emotions in me . As does my old home, Singapore, and its blend of old and new - East and West - heritage and high tech. 

Perhaps the finest element that makes Raffles my first choice is the personalized service provided by discreet and well-trained staff. If you want to be pampered in an atmosphere of privacy and intimacy, this is the spot.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for coming back to the Grande Dame of Singapore for many years and for taking the time to post your positive comments. There are indeed many beautiful hotels with great service in Singapore but few have a history as intertwined with the city’s as the Raffles Hotel.

Every corner, every object has a story related to people who have shaped the hotel’s character, visitors from around the world and events that are still remembered in the country. Our guests are often very positively surprised to be taken on a hotel tour by our Resident Historian, who has worked with us for more than 40 years.

Thank you for choosing Raffles Hotel Singapore, I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews