We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #3 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Basel
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Perfect experience, lived up to all expectations and more. Took the smallest suite, which was sufficient for our needs; in an expensive hotel market such as Singapore the extra dollars spent to stay at Raffles over a 4* property are well spent. Brilliant service staff, the best in recent memory. All in all perfect, to be repeated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear we could make you feel cared for. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your suite - at Raffles Hotel Singapore, all our rooms are suites, consisting of a parlour, a bedroom and a bathroom.

I hope there will be more occasions to have you staying with us.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,095
    698
    156
    50
    41
See reviews for
743
1,987
278
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

You are attended as soon as you walk in through the doors. They will give you complimentary coffee or tea while they check you in. They show you everything you need to know about your room. In the mornings you wake to a complimentary buffet breakfast. When you want to look around Singapore the Concierge will help you with all the things you need to know about what you need. In your room they supply free water and a wide range of fruit. All the restaurants serve you spectacular cuisine.It is a must do for Singapore.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have better views and better access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for posting a review and appreciating the service at our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the butler service and the various restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was a great experience and one we hope to repeat at some stage. The history of the hotel is well known and we found it fascinating. The interior of the hotel is quite stunning and not open to the public. Our room was just brilliant; great little sitting/lounge room at the front, a beautifully appointed bedroom and lovely bathroom. We dined at Raffles Grill which was expensive but a gastronomic experience we had never experienced befor. The service was faultless. The breakfasts were great with a extensive range to choose from. The pool was very comfortable with comfortable lounges. We were suprised how quiet the pool was. On all four nights we stayed at the hotel we had the pool to ourselves in the evening. Stay here if you can because it is a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Many thanks for posting a review on your stay with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with the facilities and the service. We always strive to pamper our clients and offer attentionate and discreet service, like a gentle breeze.

I hope there will be other occasions to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

When I first arrived at the hotel it felt so new that I was afraid that it would be gimmicky- that all the personality would be renovated from it and it would be like staying at Disney World. But I am happy to report that it was lovely. We enjoyed our personality suite, sitting at Writer's bar and visiting with the friendly staff, who obviously feel very proud of the property and eating wonderful fresh seafood in the Tiffin Room. The hotel museum is a great, informative addition to the hotel and shouldn't be missed. My only complaint is fighting with the pigeons for control of the hotel pool.It is good as well that the hotel limits the property to guests. If every sight seeer who stands outside came in to take a photo it would fel like Vegas and all the atmosphere would be gone. We went out and toured but hated to leave the property in the evening- too great an experience just ebing there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that the Raffles experience was up to your expectations.

Indeed, the hotel strives to remain authentic, even after a large-scale renovation during which guest suites & public areas have been modernized and upgraded.

I look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you at Raffles Hotel Singapore.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

In all, the arrival excepted, it was a very enjoyable stay in a charming hotel. It would be great to see Raffles make the necessary enhancements to their rooms to elevate them to the level expected of a premium hotel. Will I be back – most likely.

More detail should you wish...

Arrival
Disappointing. Having reserved the hotel’s Bentley via the concierge (295 SGD as of Sept-2012) I looked forward to a timely and convenient transfer, arriving late in the evening. Unable to locate the chauffeur I telephoned the hotel, who advised they had no reservation. I provided the details of the email confirmation, and was advised there was no email on record. They did then offer to send a car which would have taken 30 minutes; I opted for a taxi. Upon arrival at the hotel, the Front Desk Manager was apologetic, paid for the taxi and offered a complementary transfer on departure. He took a photocopy of the email which had confirmed the booking, however I heard nothing further.

Guest Suite
The positives: the Courtyard Suites are accessed via wooden floored external corridors, and each with a charming entrance-way and outdoor seating area. The suite itself encompassed a parlour with dining area, bedroom with king-sized bed, and bathroom with separate shower (see photos). The room’s furnishings were in keeping and the bed was comfortable. The butler service was personal and attentive. There was complementary Wifi throughout the hotel.
The negatives: room fittings and the bathroom let the suite down. They were tired and in need of refurbishment – brass plating had long since worn away to expose bare metal (see photos). The room contained two very dated CRT televisions, one with a broken front panel – and both with very poor reception. There was no in-house pay-per-view movie system. Toiletries in the bathroom were of disappointing quality (Fragonard) – noting the public washrooms have Penhaligon which it would be nice to see extended to the suites.

Dining, Public Areas & Spa/Pool
The main foyer is stunning, and provides an exceptional first impression. The hotels gardens are beautifully maintained and it is easy to forget you’re staying in central Singapore.
The breakfast in the Tiffin Room was excellent – both the quality of food and attentive service. On returning each morning over the four-day stay several staff remembered our party’s names.
Unfortunately during our four-night stay the Bar & Billiard Room was closed for a private function. No notice had been provided prior. This was very disappointing given this only left the Long Bar (very tourist-centric) and the Writers Bar (a small bar in the lobby with limited selection) as options for evening drinks. Upon checkout I mentioned to the receptionist who acknowledged a number of guests had remarked. I can only deduce that the revenue from the 3-day private function it deemed more important.
The Hotel Spa provided a good selection of treatments – the massage was very good. The roof-top pool and bar area was pleasant, the pool was the perfect temperature, and even though our stay was over the F1 weekend was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed feedback on your stay. My sincere apologies for the miscommunication regarding the airport transfer, this must have been disappointing after a long journey.

I took notes of your comments on the suites and the communication when having one of our restaurants privatized and shared them with the concerned departments.

Thank you for choosing Raffles Hotel Singapore and giving us your feedback for further improvement of our service. I am glad to hear that the overall experience was positive and that you would return to stay with us again.

The entire team looks forwar dto welcoming you again at Raffles Hotel Singapore.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-Upon-Avon
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Raffles Singapore is luxury in an understated way, we enjoy the history of the place and of course the Singapore Sling. We had eaten before in the Tiffin Room but never stayed at the hotel so we decided to treat ourselves. Our room was a Courtyard Room which was very nice and spacious and also very quiet.
The one reason I have not given this an excellent was we had dinner in The Tiffin Room but it was not as good as we remembered and also fairly expensive. I must qualify this and say that we were fairly late in to dinner but both felt the buffet not as good as it used to be.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as it was not included and got a good breakfast across the road for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Courtyard room ground floor was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sal320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your review, it is always important for us to know how our guests experienced their stay. I am sorry to hear that the Tiffin Room was not as you remembered it. I shared your comments with the restaurant to make sure that this can be improved.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadiaro, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

There is no doubt that one gets what one pays for and the experience at the hotel is superb. It has to be expected that everything is expensive but the service and attention of the well dressed and polite staff is well worth it. The restaurants and bars take one back to an age when politeness and attention meant something to the traveller rather than today's bustle and could not care less attitude that is prevalent in so many 4 and 5 star hotels. well done all at Raffles and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pavakeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Many thanks for writing a review and appreciating the service provided at the Grande Dame of hotels. Indeed, we invite our guests to travel back in time with us, to the early 20th century, te heyday of the hotel when many famous people stayed here for business or leisure.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 314 in Singapore
22,066 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 314 in Singapore
7,387 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing