We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel full of history and character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #4 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Only stayed here for 2 nights, but I wish it could of been longer. After days touring Singapore in the humidity walking into the hotel was like a Colonial Oasis. I loved the hotel it has such character and charm. Our rooms were large with such high ceilings and we had a huge terrace overlooking the lovely courtyard. Our Butlers Adie & another guy who's name I can't remember, were fantastic and even escorted us around the hotel when we couldn't find places. The Indian buffet in the Tiffin Room was exquisite, I've never tasted anything like it. There is something about the hotel that when you walk through the courtyards & past the fountains etc you can't help but imagine what it used to be like when it first opened over 100 years ago. The pool is also really cute and the pool attendants are waiter are very attentive coming around with fruit kebabs, blueberry smoothies, and water throughout the day. The only downside was the restaurant we chose one night for dinner Royal China, was very disappointing. It was nothing like the standard of the Royal China in England and it was empty, A local we were with says the Red Cherry in the Mandarin Oriental hotel is the best around if you are looking for chinese food. However the hotel is probably one of the best I have stayed in and only wish I could've stayed a little longer.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 3rd floor think it was called the temask suite it was literally opposite the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonjourLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Thank you for your detailed review. I am delighted to hear that you had a great experience at the hotel and enjoyed the atmosphere and style of your suite.

Your comments provide opportunities for us in which to improve and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,980 - 2,986 of 4,280 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

I've stayed there for only 2 nights but were enough to appreciate the warm welcome of an old colonial style hotel , perfectly preserved with the full of scent and atmosphere from the old singapore.
extremely kind service, personal touch, nice food.
did not have time to try the pool and fitness facility so I don't judge it.
My experience was really 5*. would I go back and suggest this place to friends? definitely

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

What can i say, we stay at the Raffles Hotel in Singapore quite a lot and its the only hotel to stay at in Singapore. Rooms (Court Yard Suites) are very large and very comfortable. As i have said before we have stayed here many times and they have always put us in the same room each time we have stayed. They keep a detailed history of you which makes you feel at home each time you stay. Its truley one of the worlds best hotels. You must stay at The Raffles Hotel at least once and when you do you iwll not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Court Yard Suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MonsoonalBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comment on your visit to Raffles Hotel. I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay and have shared your encouraging review with the team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and delighting you with yet another memorable experience.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Spent three nights here. It was a wonderful colonial hotel. The building was historic but the staff and their service was modern and fantastic. Certainly it is an expensive place but it is a once in a lifetime experience. The heat outside was oppressive but lovely and cool inside. Even had a swim in the pool and was waited on hand and foot. The staff are very attentive and are always willing to help. I needed to change my itinerary slightly and they persevered with the travel agents until I was fixed up. I had my sling in the long bar upstairs. The salted peanuts still in their shells was unusual as was the method of clearing the table by sweeping the empty shells onto the floor.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spruceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Raffles Hotel Singapore.

I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and have found our service and facilities to be delightful. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Most tourist guides would tell you to try the "original" Singapore sling at the Long Bar in Raffles hotel. Don't!! Unless you really have to, because there's absolutely nothing extraordinary about it, except its price.
But what truly extraordinary is the Raffles Hotel. With a magnificent courtyard and an impeccably-maintained property, the Raffles hotel truly takes you back in time. Even though its located within the bustling tourist area of Singapore; but once you are inside, its a completely different world in there. The colonial architecture is truly awe-inspiring and definitely a must-see for all art-connoisseurs.
Definitely an expensive place to stay at, but even one night is worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mapfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Half expected to find a tired, living-on-its-history tourist trap BUT it certainly was not, it is a beautiful historic building well-looked after with great style. Gorgeous ambience, lovely welcome and arrival. Truly free-flowing champagne. Wonderful 4star food including Loch Fyne oysters flown in from Scotland that morning. Everything wonderful that you could imagine and so well prepared and displayed. Top quality. Worth every cent. Relaxed yet sophistocated. A wonderful way to spend a Sunday. We will be back again and again and ag......

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank s0mersetsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to read that you have enjoyed the Sunday Champagne Brunch and look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I've stayed at a few places in Singapore but never before at Raffles. I was expecting a tired tourist trap but the truth could not have been more different.

The building is gorgeous, the situation perfect and the bedrooms fabulously colonial and vast. It has the feeling of age and history so if you are expecting the "fake" history of a Four Seasons but with everything identikit and perfect then Raffles is not for you. Raffles, unlike so many hotels has true character, elegance and class.

The service is simply incredible. The Tiffin Room lunch is one of the best Indian buffets outside of the best 5 star hotels in India and the Billiard Room bar is also highly recommended and is incredibly evocative of days gone by.

I can wholeheartedly recommend Raffles as not only the best hotel in Singapore but one of the very best hotels in the world. I'll be back...!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewanderers_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on your stay at Raffles Hotel Singapore.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 319 in Singapore
23,867 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#10 of 319 in Singapore
5,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#2 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $126 - $1,163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Singapore will be closed for renovation on 13 December 2017 with a planned reopening in the second half of 2018. Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing