We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel...., although we left a little flushed!!”
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Singapore
Ranked #19 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Having stayed just across the way at the Swissotel Stanford at the end of last year, we decided to give the The Fairmont a try in February as there was a very attractive promotion offered through booking.com.

On arrival we were allocated a very nice and quite large room (2119) that overlooked the shared pool area below, and also had stunning views between Fairmont South tower and the Swissotel Stanford tower towards Marina Bay, The Sands Hotel, and also the recently opened Marina Bay Cruise Terminal, that quite quirkily look as if it is falling into the sea, when seen from a distance. With so many 'interesting' new buildings in abundance in Singapore nowadays, it is difficult to tell whether that was the architects visual intention or not? It kept me intrigued and amused for hours anyway!
We also had fine and views of St Andrews Church over to the right of the Stanford tower too.

We were very happy with the room generally, plenty of room, light and most importantly a very comfortable bed too.
The bathroom itself was very nice, I much prefer the more orthodox approach to bathroom design, with sensible marble/soapstone surfaces to arrange ones toiletries on, rather than all that clear acrylic shelving and basins that seems to be so popular today! The bath/shower had the luxury of both a shower curtain and a folding screen door too.
So far, so good! Unfortunately, the pressure on the toilet flush mechanism or valve was to great to allow it to close properly on a couple of occasions. The first time it happened was around 9am of the second day, so not too much of a problem to quickly get an engineer up (and he was prompt too!) to fix it. However, the very same problem re-occurred at 2.30am in the morning of the second night, so it was matter of our taking to the bathrobes whilst another plumber came up. It all took a while and it was quite long past 3.00am before the matter was once again resolved.
Given our interrupted sleep, we then decided to pack our cases ready for a departure, and then arranged a revised wake call for 11am in the morning.
It was not to be, as at around 8.30am we were awoken by a sudden cacophony of drills and air-hammers from rooms nearby under refurbishment. My first few calls of protest down to the front desk were essentially ignored/dismissed until, abandoning any thoughts of further sleep, I called and demanded for both the duty and General Manager of the hotel to come up to our room, just so they could hear for themselves they amount of noise, that they were actually expecting us to tolerate as paying customers. The General Manger it seems was at a meeting, not in the hotel, but the duty manager (Roy) did eventually come up.
He was quite apologetic. It seems the Chinese New Year Holiday was over and room refurbishment was in full swing again. I demanded a substantial discount on the room rate for the noise and inconvenience, but as my rate was tied to the booking.com contract they were unable to do so. By way of apology, he offered on behalf of the hotel a complimentary hotel limo to the airport, which as we were going to the Harbourfront cruise center, was quickly substituted as the destination venue!
I do have to say though that once Roy the duty manager was on the case, the hotel staff fell over themselves to put matters right as best they could. It was a very nice Mercedes limo too.
So top marks for service recovery from the Fairmont Singapore at the end.

In conclusion, I would definitely use this hotel again. I mentioned the room number earlier on, in the hope that anyone about to book or due to stay at The Fairmont Singapore in the immediate or near future can at least flag or enquire about avoiding rooms within this proximity whilst refurbishments are taking place.
Whilst we were (and still are) extemely grateful indeed for all the placatory attention at the end of our stay. I/we still thought it appropriate to flag these concerns (both the plumbing and the noise) to other Trip advisor users.

Room Tip: Enquire about rooms under refurbishment at check-in, and ask to be kept well away.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVeryLastResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear TheVeryLastResort,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay with us. It was very insightful and your inputs will allow us to improve on the areas such as the plumbing and the noise disruption during your stay.

At the same time, I appreciate your positive comments on the hotel’s staff and views. I will convey your compliments to Roy and the rest of the team as an encouragement for their excellent service.

I wish to reassure you that we sincerely appreciate your feedback and will be looking into the issues you have highlighted.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you once again in the future.

Warm regards,
Carlos Monterde
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,053)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,513 - 3,519 of 6,053 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business for 3 nights and upgraded to club floor level 23
The room was fantastic with views over marina bay the private concierge and lounge is a real asset and makes a large hotel feel small and personal
Evening drinks and canapés were included as was an excellent breakfast
Location superb next to raffles and 5 mins from clark quay which has many bars and restaurants
Would definitely choose the Fairmont Singapore again

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Andrew,

I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your compliments are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to your next visit to Fairmont Singapore!

Warm regards,
Carlos Monterde
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed at the fairmont. Have stayed several times before. Hotel is great. Standard rooms are comfortable and club rooms are fantastic. I like the walk from the hotel to the CBD early morning which is 15 minutes or so but may be to much for some as the heat and humidy build quickly. Fullerton Hotel is closer to the CBD if that's important to you. There is a choice of breakfast locations around the hotel but my favourite is by the pool. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satori_2-JSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Satori_2-JSY,

It makes me happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay.

We appreciate your positive comments and valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Carlos Monterde
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The location is spot on and the place is full of luxury, possibly helped by it being linked to Raffles next door. The rooms are spotless and offer fantastic views of the marina. The Shopping mall underneath the hotel gives access to great shopping and places to eat

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hardeep J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Hardeep,

It makes me happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay.

We appreciate your comments and your compliments will only spur us to continue seeking ways to enhance our guests’ experience.

We definitely can’t wait to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Carlos Monterde
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It has been a number of years since our last visit to Singapore and we enjoyed our first stay so much we thought we would treat our daughter with a stay here.

It was not as we remembered and it was mostly the service that let it down and with the huge amount of money that we paid, we did not feel this Hotel rated highly at all.

There were three of us staying in a twin bed Hotel room with an extra bed, this did leave us a little cramped. We were given a view of the Marina Bay and that was fantastic. Special mention needs to be made about the beds which are very comfortable and not the tranditional hard Asian beds.

We had a club room and during our stay there was building noise from within the hotel and this did not allow us to rest in our room during the day. There was no mention of this and when I told a staff member in the club lounge she just smiled and said 'well you're here now, you can rest in the lounge'.

One afternoon we had come back sweaty and wanted a shower but the water was cold. After enquiring about this we were told that the hot water would not be available until 7.00pm.

My husband pulled down a towel from the top of the shelf and along with it came a used light bulb which unbeknown to him had just been lying on top of the towel. The light bulb fell to the floor and shattered all over the bathroom floor rendering it dangerous. This was a careless act from the maintenance staff. We also found another lightglobe just left lazily next to the sink.

We had emailed the hotel before we arrived and explained that our daughter had several allergies and they asked us what foods they would like them to provide in the club lounge for her and said it would be no problem. We were so disappointed when the staff made no effort whatsoever in assisting us with the food issues when we were in the lounge. In fact, we approached them to find out what was in one of the dishes that she thought she might be able to eat but even though they said they would make a call to enquire about it, they never bothered to get back to us.

I completed the Hotel's survey when we returned and mentioned the problems we had, at the end of the survey I was asked if I would welcome the Hotel to discuss the issues with me and I agreed. To date, no one has bothered to contact me.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PegususPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear PegususPerth,

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.

I regret to hear that you encountered challenges with the service and staff on several occasions. We will be reaching out to you separately for information that will help us conduct an investigation and a detailed follow-up with the relevant departments.

I wish to reassure you that we sincerely appreciate your feedback and will be looking into the issues you have highlighted.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you once again in the future.

Warm regards,
Carlos Monterde
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Loved our recent stay at the Fairmont. The hotel is connected to both Raffles Mall and the City Hall MTR. There plenty of fast food in the food court. The hotel is well appointed and spotless. The bedding in our room was super comfortable ( I have a bad back, and am hard to please on bedding). Very central location , so you can walk to many attractions , or short taxi ride. Internet is free if you become member of their hotel club prior to arrival (free). Breakfast was not included, but plenty of places in food court for breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, for some extra space.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Bill,

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your positive feedback on the hotel’s location, room and the wide variety of shops and restaurants in the area.

Rest assured that we will continue to seek ways to improve and fulfill our mission of turning moments into memories for our guests.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Carlos Monterde
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have stayed at the Fairmont before & couldn't wait to return - we always feel as though staying at the Fairmont is an extra holiday in itself - and this time it didn't fail to do so - we were promptly dealt with at reception by friendly staff & to our surprise upgraded to one of the newly refurbished rooms in the North Tower - along with the beautiful appointed room we were presented with lovely treats for our Anniversary - thank you so much to all at the Fairmont in front and behind the scenes including 'John' the electrician who adjusted the TV for us so promptly!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LOlaa100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Jane,

I'm glad that we were able to look after your every need during your stay. It was our pleasure!

I will certainly convey your compliments to John and the rest of the team as an encouragement for their excellent service.

Rest assured that we will continue to seek ways to improve and fulfill our mission of turning moments into memories for our guests.

Once again, Happy Anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Carlos Monterde
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 316 in Singapore
7,540 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#41 of 316 in Singapore
22,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 316 in Singapore
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Singapore
#8 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Business Hotel in Singapore
#19 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $224 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing