We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views, great location”
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Singapore
Ranked #19 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe harbour facing room which had spectacular views of the Singapore flyer, Marina Bay Sands and other attractions. The room was large enough for 3 of us and the bathroom had a separate bath and shower which was a nice touch. The room also had a small espresso machine. We did not have the breakfasts as they were quite expensive and we found a reasonable food court just below the hotel. As others have said, it is a great location, opposite Raffles Hotel and close to the action and public transport. We now prefer to stay here over Orchard Road which is a bit more isolated. We would recommend this hotel due to the service and wonderful views which were a delight to wake up to.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank michgrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,944 - 3,950 of 6,268 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is terrific hotel in terms of location right on the MRT station, attached to a very good Mall, and accessible to all the tourist places in Singapore. The location can not get better than this.

The hotel is very efficient and and extremely well maintained. The room are decently sized and offer very good views of the city if you are on higher floors. Extremely comfortable beds and free high speed wifi were great. The bathrooms are great, a very nuanced touch was the do not disturb button in the bathroom - there have been so many times when you are doing your business and someone from the hotel knocks/rings the bell!!! Havent seen this in anyother hotel

We only ate breakfast in the hotel as there are so many eating options in the mall which is attached to the hotel. I and my wife really enjoyed the breakfast especially the fresh juice counter. The spread is quite good and food is a good mix of continental and oriental, even south indian food!!

Customer service at the hotel lobby could be improved. My wife stayed there for 3 weeks as part of job shift to Singapore. We had initially been given a room overlooking raffles and requested to shift to the bay view room. A hotel staff at the reception agreed to allot a room in the evening as they had yet to finish cleaning the room. We were told it will be ready by evening when we came back from our city tour. In the evening the lady from the reception had finished her shift and had left for home. No one at the reception knew of our morning arrangement and we had to spend an hour discussing this with 2 different set of individuals. We were eventually moved to a bay view room but only after a lot of discussion. This is the least a hotel can be expected offer to a guest who would be staying for a 3 week period.

I like the hotel but then the staff has caused the rating to come down. I wouldnt mind staying here again though, but i am going to take extra note of the behavior of their staff esp the reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room at the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajay7283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the many compliments especially the efficient service, well maintained hotel, spacious room, good views of the bay, extremely comfortable beds, great speedy wifi, wide variety of shops and restaurants in the area and the convenience of the location. At the same time, we note your feedback on the service and will revert to the front office department for follow-up.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have stayed at Fairmont Singapore for business for my three latest visits (twice in 2013 and once in 2012), and I will continue to stay there. The service is excellent without being too much, the staff is smiling, helpful, polite and really nice people. The rooms are generous and housekeeping is perfect. I might add that I have always stayed at the executive floors, but the service is also great amongst the staff in the reception downstairs, the concierges and the room service. Fairmont Singapore is my preferred hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hildegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We’re glad to hear that you we are your preferred hotel and appreciate the hotel’s excellent service, helpful and polite staff, perfect housekeeping service and the spacious room with great amenities.

We look forward to your next visit to Fairmont Singapore!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were visiting Singapore solely for the F1 Grand Prix race and the Fairmont delivered exactly what we needed.

The location is excellent and is minutes from the City Hall MRT train stop.

Check in experience was good and efficient. First impressions were great from all staff we met.

Our room was a 'suite' in the North Tower (12th floor) and whilst I concur with some of the other traveller comments on here regarding room tiredness, as yes our room was dated decor wise and the bathroom had lost its shine but it was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable - just what we needed following the late nights of the F1. The complimentary waters were welcomed particularly as this was our first experience of the Singapore humidity!
Our room also overlooked Raffles which was a bonus.

The whole hotel really got in to the spirit of the F1 with a timetable of events being placed in each room along with ear plugs and F1 inspired chocolates and the staff being dressed in F1 inspired uniforms. There was also a plethora of F1 art work in the main reception, all of which really added to the experience.

Whilst we didn't use the swimming pool as we were up against it time-wise we did go and have a look and whilst it pales into insignificance versus the swimming pool of the Marina Bay Sands it did look inviting and a very good space for chilling out.

Food wise we didn't have any lunch or evening meals in the hotel but did have breakfast which was good however we found service levels varied from each day. Can't fault the food though - a great selection both hot and cold.

Whilst we were there the hotel was under renovation and therefore the lobby bar was out of action - this was the only real disappointment, however we went next door to the Swissotel which turned out to be a great choice as the views from the 71st floor bar were incredible!

Overall a great choice for our trip!



Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mrsfelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Quality Manager at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Mrs Felly,

We take pleasure to read that we’re a great choice for your trip! We greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s good and efficient check-in/out, great view, good breakfast spread and the convenient location. Regarding the room conditions, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for a major refurbishment of guestrooms.

We hope to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I went two times on this hotel, and I was overall very satisfied. Very well located,metro and restaurants in a Mall. The checkin was fast, and I was upgraded on the 23 floor with the view on the rafle and a balcony to have hot air... Service was good and nice as I went to the executive lounge.
2 things to improve, the quality of the breakast, indeed there are lots of choice but not very tasty and fresh, I would suggest to improve skillsets of the chef...
The last one is the Bathroom, it is clean but so old...on both rooms. The bathrooms have not been replaced since the 80s...and really need to be changed
The bed is good too...very important

Room Tip: nice to have breakfast on the executive lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnawardforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Have stayed here 2 times now for both business and pleasure. Hotel was perfect for both.

Most recently was for business and the location was great and transportation handy with Taxi's available at most times and also MRT station being located in the Shopping Mall attached to the hotel.

Also was handy having the shopping mall with many restaurants attached to the hotel. Especially Din Tai Fung.

Things I always like are power plugs next to the bed for recharging my phone and fast Wifi. This hotel has them both.

Pool is good however not if you like to swim laps.

Overall no complaints from me. If you can get a good price...book it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travmonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good Singapore hotels are invariably expensive as is Fairmont but this one isn't that good. From the smiling check in staff who somewhat arrogantly suggested the free wifi at Starbucks if I was concerned about the SGD28++ daily wifi fee to the efficient but disinterested check out staff this hotel promises much more than it delivers.

The hotel seems to cater predominantly to business people who are generally shuffled off to the more deluxe (and more expensive) south tower. Book the standard room and you're off to the north tower. The standard rooms are large with balconies but well past their use by date. Our room was neat but dusty, had loose power points, bad plumbing including mis-labelled hot and cold taps, and was very drab. The lobby on our floor (16th) was poorly maintained and univiting with dust blanketing the only decoration - an outdated glass table. The pool is located on the 8th floor but only accessible from the south tower at present due to renovation works - we had to travel down to reception in our bathers to discover this!

Although it isn't noted on the hotel website, and certainly wasn't advised by our booking agent, the hotel is currently undergoing renovations that the staff say will continue through to 2015. These currently seem to be affecting the reception and a couple of floors. Amongst our most disappointing stays in 20+ years of travelling to Singapore!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dazza66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,881 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 317 in Singapore
1,204 reviews
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 317 in Singapore
5,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Singapore
#8 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Business Hotel in Singapore
#19 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $201 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing