We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swissotel & Fairmont - Top notch!”
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Singapore
Ranked #18 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Swissotel & Fairmont - Top notch!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had a lovely 3 nights stay at this exquisite hotel situated in the heart of Raffles city in Central Singapore. The Fairmont Towers go up into the heavens offering a birds eye view of the the various islands which make up the city state.
The Marina Bay with its boat shaped Skypark casino, the landmark Merlion,the Singapore Flyer and the cathedral are all worth the sight from the room balcony. The hotel has spacious and well done rooms served by smiling and efficient staff at all levels and has some famous restaurants. Another highlight is the bustling shopping mall at the basement.
Except for an unexpected blemish from the concierge team who seemed overworked and not keen to help, the stay was an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suneel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Suneel,

We take pleasure to know that you had a memorable stay as our mission is to turn moments into memories for our guests. We look forward to your next visit to Fairmont Singapore!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,694
    1,712
    357
    113
    67
See reviews for
1,373
2,079
359
1,457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
968 reviews
321 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 762 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont for two nights over a weekend. We didn’t know at the time that many Singaporeans chose to stay there to watch mini-fireworks at the Marina. When we arrived at the Fairmont at about 11:30, there was a 10 minute wait for check-in, and for the rest of the day, there was a crowd of guests waiting at the reception desks and airline crew and guests waiting in the lobby. This is a big hotel. We were upgraded to a Deluxe room, 1217, on the 12th floor in the North Tower, facing Bras Basah Road and looking down into a courtyard of the Raffles hotel and looking up at Shaw Towers. The room was triangular with two porches along the long side of the triangle. There was a convenient make-up table and hair-dryer plug by the king-sized bed and a writing desk in the opposite corner. The bathroom was quite large with an enormous tub and a sink with well-stocked amenities such as toothbrush, etc. The coffee for the Nespresso coffee maker was replaced daily.

Pro
Clean and neat room
Polite and helpful staff
Access to Raffles City shopping and restaurants. Our favorite access was on third floor of North Tower, using room key card to re-enter the lift lobby from Raffles City
Can go to the City Hall MRT station through Raffles City
Good food court (The Food Place) in Raffles City on third floor, supermarket in basement
Good refrigerator that even partially froze our ice packs
Negligible neighbor noise, negligible Bras Basah street noise
HBO and Fox Movies, Star World on large TV
Easy check-out and access to taxi to airport
Across the street from Chijmes restaurants, Raffles hotel and its restaurants

Con
Asians may find that the toilet is a little far from the sink/bathtub and no handspray
Only one peg on back of door to hang bath towels
Toilet flush disk in wall had to be pushed really, really hard to flush
There was infrequent noise from neighboring bathroom of water and a valve shutting off
Blanket was so heavy that we had to turn air conditioning to maximum cold, maximum fan

We learned from Wikipedia that the Fairmont, Swissotel the Stamford, and Raffles Hotel are owned by the same group which thus manages a full two blocks of self-contained dining, sleeping, and shopping in this superb location. We booked a room with free Internet, but next time we probably would choose the cheaper pre-pay room rate and buy a 3G SIM card for Internet. Overall, our stay was very good, and we recommend the Fairmont, and probably Swissotel for the convenience of the location, MRT station, restaurants, and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont for a week recently. It's not the most exciting hotel in the world. The decor is conventional but the service quality is the best I have experienced. Every request was acted on promptly and there was absolutley no waiting. I arrived before checkin time and was escorted to a hospitality suite where I could shower and have a coffee. When my room was ready, a porter came to the suite to collect me. The porter had my luggage in tow so I could go straight to my room. The room was large and had a small balcony, not really necessary in Singapore's heat. Everything in the room worked and was clean and promptly serviced every morning. There was no waiting all day for the maid service. Perhaps my only criticism is that there were no movies available.The hotel is adjacent to a shopping mall with a good choice of inexpensive restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxSurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Max,

We take pleasure to hear about your recent stay and greatly appreciate your many compliments, especially those concerning our staff and service quality. Your comments on the check-in, bell service and housekeeping will be shared with the departments to spur them to continue their good work.

Our apologies for the unavailability of the movies, as one of the movie channels was under maintenance servicing during your stay. We hope you will get to enjoy our movie channels during your next stay with us.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnen
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived as a 'walk' in and got a good room rate. As a family, we were treated very nicely and in a very short time we were already in the room (dayroom).

The Stamford Hotel is connected with the fairmont hotel. Raffle City is a very nice shopping center, where you find everything you need and is inbetween both of these 2 hotels.

We had a 'good bye' dinner on the top of the tallest hotel in Singapore in the Stamford hotel. The best view in Singapore and the food was excellent !

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarnentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. It sounds like your family had a fantastic stay and an excellent dinner experience at Equinox Restaurant!

We hope to welcome you back again!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fairmont Singapore will always be my weekend retreat away from home for both my husband and I.

It offers everything we need within a stroll away. The number of eateries (Asian, Vietnamese, Pizza, Deli, Yakun, Japanese, Cafe, Dim Sum etc....) within the building is just countless, we are spoilt for choice.

What is so special about Fairmont Singapore is that every staff from the front office, concierge to the chamber maids were very polite and ever willing to assist us. The room is spacious and the view is just magnificent as it overlooks the harbour overseeing the Singapore Flyer and Marina Bay Sands. It is a photographer's dream of a magical night scene of skycrappers against the backdrop of the harbour.

Within the hotel premises are some renowned restaurants, Prego which is an all time favourite of ours that serves superb Italian gourmet, Swiss Cafe, Szechuan Court and our next favourite is Mikuni that serves Japanese cuisine. Not forgetting, Shopping which is a great favourite pastime for Singaporean.

It is simply a great and convenient place to stay as the hotel offers generally high standards from the moment you step in to the lobby to your room. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Eve,

Thank you for the regular patronage of our hotel and restaurants. It makes us really happy to know that you had another memorable stay as we continually seek to turn moments into memories for our guests. Your compliments on the service staff from front office, concierge, housekeeping and restaurants will only spur us on towards great service.

We look forward to your next stay at Fairmont Singapore!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmot47
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed extensively at this property over the years and have come to regard it as a "home away from home". The location is superb, just over the City Hall MRT station, next to Raffles Hotel and a short stroll from the Business and Financial districts.

I have always found the staff excellent and obliging and the rooms always comfortable and well appointed (although I do prefer the older style rooms without interior decorator "trendy improvements"). The pool area is always a pleasure to go to and the gym is well equipped and free to guests.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Bras Basar Road side are slightly quieter (ie dead quiet) but all rooms are fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilmot47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Wilmot,

It is our honor to be your home away from home. Thank you for highlighting the many positive points of your recent stay, particularly on staff service. We will not rest on our laurels but will seek constant improvements on our guests’ experience.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore.

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been staying here for a decade when it was still the Raffles Plaza. It’s a great location with a shopping mall next door, good restaurants within walking distance and some very good “tourist” things nearby. However, I always seem to get an older room that is in a real need of updating. Chipped tiles and formica counter tops are the norm for my stay. I’m a Presidents club member, but the rate is a corporate one which may push me into a lower class of rooms. I will consider one of my other options like the new Sands next time in Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Marc,

Thank you for your regular patronage. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences due to your room conditions. We are in the advanced planning stages for a major refurbishment of our guestrooms. We hope you will be able to enjoy these new rooms the next time you stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 315 in Singapore
7,406 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 315 in Singapore
22,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 315 in Singapore
1,049 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Property: Fairmont Singapore
Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Singapore
#7 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Business Hotel in Singapore
#18 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing