We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beds In Town”
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Singapore
Ranked #18 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Beds In Town”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Did we enjoy our say at the Fairmont in Singapore? Yes we did.

Having stayed last at the Fairmont when it was the Westin Plaza Hotel (goes to show you just how long between drinks) it was nice to go back and experience the hotel once again.

Conveniently located above the rail station at City Hall and across the road from Raffles Hotel the Fairmont is well placed out of the hustle and bustle of the Orchard Road shopping district, but not so far that you feel disconnected from the beat of this town.

To tell you the truth the hotel hasn't changed too much since last I stayed here (10 years ago or more) in fact some of the elements of the room looked like they could do with a freshen up, especially the bathroom, taps finishes etc in the room we had looked like they were due for a change. Aside this the room was clean, tidy and big. (Could do with two folding bag racks in the room as one isn't enough.)

As far as the outlook goes, our room over looked the pool and couldn't have been better. What a stunning view it is through to the new Marina Sands buildings etc.

Restaurants are steep. Prego we enjoyed for breakfast and dinner but really at $80+ a couple for breakfast it is a lot of money.

One of the best things however about the Fairmont was the beds. Really they are about as good as you get. The Sealy beds in the hotel had pillow tops and once in who cares about the rest. A good move by the hotel and I'm sure one that many other hotels should look at.

Over all we enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_D_HSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Welcome back to Singapore!

It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, especially since it had been rebranded to a Fairmont in late 2007! Indeed our beds are often what our guests say are the most comfortable among those they had slept in, thus we’re glad your experience confirms it. We’re certainly planning for major renovations to our guestrooms in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Singapore!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,698
    1,714
    357
    113
    67
See reviews for
1,376
2,081
359
1,458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a lovely comfortable hotel. The rooms are devine, the bed is fantastic. The bathroom is modern and functional. The service was exceptional. We loved the location next to Raffles City and it's close to Marina Bay and Chijmes. Do pay the little bit extra for a bayview room. Initially we had a room overlooking Raffles which was nice and certainly nothing wrong with it. The 2nd day we asked if there were any rooms with a marina bay view and it was only a small amount to upgrade. The view is breathtaking when you walk into the room and to lay in bed at night looking at all the lights is awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty76Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Kirsty,

We take pleasure to know that you loved your recent stay and appreciate your positive comments, particularly on the exceptional service. Rest assured that we will continue to seek ways to fulfill our mission of turning moments into memories for our guests.

Thank you for recommending the harbor view rooms. The Marina Bay view has been transformed over the past decade and is indeed well worth the upgrade, as you mentioned.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A well run hotel, and chain, which is obvious whenever you speak with any of the well trained and helpful staff.
The room, a suite, was very clean and spacious with all the amenities one could want when travelling.
The fitness facility was first class with separate weight-room and aerobics areas. Plenty of machines and no waiting.
The location is excellent and you can explore on foot the Marina Bay, Chinatown, Arab areas or take an inexpensive cab to them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john00737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for the compliments, especially those on our staff. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Enjoyed our one night at the Fairmont very much. Fantastic bed, bathroom and coffee machine. Service and lobby was exceptional and the service goes beyond. Fantastic location - right near raffles, swisshotel (bar on the 70th floor), marina bay, chimes. Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyA30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Katy,

Thank you for recommending Fairmont Singapore! We take great pleasure to read that service is beyond your expectations. We take great pride in serving our valued guests and will continue pursuing ways to enhance our guests’ experience.

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our stay a the Fairmont Singapore was perfect. The 26th floor suite was spacious, luxurious and impeccable. This is probably the best hotel we stayed in. The staff was fantastic and took care of every need. We had the chance to stay on the executive floor and the girls in the lounge really were just amazing. Arianne and Penny were funny and attentive, we loved them. I suggest this hotel to anyone going to Singapore. The location is brilliant and hotel amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouAndEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Louis,

We are honored to be the best hotel you have stayed in.

Thank you for highlighting the many positive points of your stay such as the spacious and luxurious suite, fantastic staff, service and the brilliant location. We will certainly convey your positive comments to the Arianne, Penny and the rest of the team as an encouragement to continue their excellent work.

We look forward to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights in March before picking up a cruise. We had a lovely large room with nice views, facilitated by floor to ceiling windows which led on to a balcony.There were 2 double beds,a large flat screen TV and desk. The bed was extremely comfortable The lighting was quite well distrubuted in the room, which seems to be rare in most hotels.The curtains operated electrically from the bed, and there was also an ironing board and tea maker with biscuits.They supplied complimentary bottled water daily and always replenished the good quality toiletries in the bathroom. They also supplied bathrobe and slippers and there was a safe in the wardrobe.
The furniture in the bedroom was traditional and had seen better days but everything worked and was very clean.
The bathroom was less clean. there was a bath with a shower over it, basin, and a very stained loo. I felt that I needed to get some abrasive cleaner out. The shower head was fixed so not very flexible.
Another nice touch was the service by the pool. Cold towels were brought round by the staff and also complimentary juice drinks
All in all we thought that it was an excellent hotel. We did not have the breakfast as it was too expensive for what it was. There was a Petit France cafe in the mall below which sold eggs, croissants etc. We would return again.

Room Tip: I doubt whether there is a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valerie,

Thank you for the detailed review. Your compliments on the comfortable bed, nice view, spacious room, room amenities, pool service and staff are greatly appreciated. Regarding the bathroom conditions, we are glad to share that plans are underway for a refurbishment of our guestrooms in the near future.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Great time at the Fairmont hotel. Big room, clean and comfortable. Great breakfast near the pool, good and discreet service. Go for a pre dinner drink at the very near 71 floor of the swissotel, you can have a fantastic view. Also the shopping center is cool. Recommended, strongly, value for money, and good price for Singapore.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smilzetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSingapore, Director of Quality at Fairmont Singapore, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that you had a fantastic stay and were able to enjoy both the Fairmont Singapore and Swissotel the Stamford. Both hotels are part of the same parent company with a strong dedication to guest service and satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit to Fairmont Singapore!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 315 in Singapore
7,413 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 315 in Singapore
22,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 315 in Singapore
1,051 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Property: Fairmont Singapore
Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Singapore
#7 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Business Hotel in Singapore
#18 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing