We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel is an superb lcoation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #39 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel is an superb lcoation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

We would normally stay around City Hall area on visits to Singapore, either for work or pleasure, having been to the Swissotel Stamford and Fairmount hotels many times. Due to the Youth Olympics kicking off this area prices skyrocketed the weekend we were planning to pass through Singapore so we opted for the Swissotel Merchant Court. We found a gem as a result.

Entering the hotel you find lobby is deceivingly colonial in style. It feels a lot older than it is which is pleasant. Check in was swift and efficient. There’s a bar in the entrance area which was never more than 2 or 3 ppeople as we can in and out.Our room was smaller than the Swissotel Stamford rooms, but well equipped with good business features like fast internet and the bed was comfortable.

Location is hard to beat. There is a MRT station within 2 minutes walk, Clarke Quay is across the river and literally seconds away, but the noise if not obtrusive. It is an easy walk to the financial district with good local food stalls en route, or you can go for the more expensive and cosmopolitan options in Clarke Quay – or Boat Quay if you go slightly further.

The bath room is small and probably dated now with a combi bath/shower. Some refurbishment is due.

This is a good hotel and certainly a good location for both business and pleasure trips. It is going to be on my list to stay here for work and pleasure in future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,753
    1,758
    513
    162
    67
See reviews for
995
1,644
260
788
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed at this hotel in March 2010 with my wife and 2 kids, as well as my parents and mother in-law.
I have to say that this is by far the "best overall" hotel I have stayed at in 25 years of travelling throughout Asia. The location right on Clarke Quay is fantastic. Great spot to catch the train, taxi or water cruise from. 4 major shopping centres/ malls within 250 metres of the reception. 5 minute walk to China Town. Great restaurants within 50 metres from the front of the hotel. Only had breakfast there once, but it was beautiful. Had coffee and muffin at Starbucks every morning, which more than filled the void, at a fraction of the cost of the buffet. Pool is fantastic and relaxing.
Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
363 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

You can walk 15 minutes in either direction and hit all the Chinatown Hawker Centers, Bars on Neil Road, and Raffles and other tourist attractions on the other side. Buses are right outside practically and the Subway is right there too. (Easy to get to airport, Orchard Rd, etc) Right on Clark Quay if you like that sort of nightlife-I dont. Its a 3 1/2 star hotel I would say, so prices are lower than the 4 stars but its much better than some of the other 3 star hotels.
I would have given a 5 for value, but they charge S$30/ day for wifi. Its the 21st century, this is not customer friendly. S1-2/day would suffice to cover your cost Swissotel. I had to go to Starbucks to get a signal.
The lobby and halls are not fancy, the halls a bit more motel than hotel. But I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Hotel very well situated in the heart of Singapore and most in closed walking distance incluing nightlife. Good conference rooms but Conference and Meeting Room rent and equipment such as Beamer extraordinary expensive and not adequate. Personal is very friedly and helpfull so will get expected service for a 5 start hotel. Pool area also fine and nice. Restaurant food quite expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Fantastic hotel. We chose to stay at this hotel for 2 nights because its fantastic links with the MRT and walking distance to Chinatown and Clarke Quay. Great breakfast too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thenorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

This hotel offers very comfortable rooms in a prime location in the heart of Singapore. The rooms are fully equipped with anything one might ask for - except for free wifi. Wifi is available, but rather expensive.

Breakfast is just gorgeous. You name it, they´ve got it. It´s especially pleasant to sit outside along the Singapore River, watch the city come to live and enjoy the high-quality breakfast.

The hotel offers numerous facilities, ranging from a beautiful pool terrace to gym, spa, convention centre and several restaurants. The staff are very friendly, obliging and helpful.

A subway station is only about 50m from the hotel at the Central Mall and Clarke Quay with plenty of bars and restaurants is just a minute stroll away. It´s also very nice to just sit by the Singapore River at night and enjoy the lively atmosphere. Once you step inside again you are back in an oasis of tranquility and quiet.

If I came back to Singapore, I´d always try to go back to the Swissotel Merchant Court!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

I used to give five to this hotel but this time I was disappointed by the room and service. This time we were given a lousy and noisy room, it was difficult to sleep because of the noise coming from the other room bathrooms. I think that those poor rooms are reserved to the people who book on special offer because the last time I was there my room was a lot better. Surely the location is great and so the swimming pool but I come often to Singapore and I will not come again here the next time

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italyItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#45 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,180 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#47 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,547 reviews
Furama City Centre
#46 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#54 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing