We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always use as our Oz stopover hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #38 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
229 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Always use as our Oz stopover hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

This was probably the fourth time we'd stayed here to or from Oz and we will continue to do so as we rarely find anything to complain about. The only gripe would be that I like a full length mirror in the room and there wasn't one. The location is hard to beat with so much in walking distance (if you can tolerate the humidity). Our routine now is to stay over to take advantage of the superb buffet lunch at Raffles and then we come back, shower and change and fly out to the UK that evening. Works for us to break the looong journey up. Love Singapore and the Swissotel. Always feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,782
    1,774
    517
    163
    67
See reviews for
1,009
1,663
263
801
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Qatar
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Before I booked this hotel, I found a few review here that were less than favourable and I really wasn't sure what to expect. But having just come back from there, I highly recommend it. The hotel was clean and quiet, yet perfectly located across the bridge from Clarke Quay, and just 10 minutes walk to Boat Quay. Also, it's close to Chinatown so perfect for a bit of bargain shopping.

The hotel pool was fabulous, and I even had a massage in their spa, which was out of this world.

Another thing - the buffet breakfast, which at 30 SGD per person wasn't cheap, but an amazing selection, and you could fill up to your heart's content, so that you wouldn't need breakfast - handy for those taking all-day tours. I would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArabianPrincessQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

Situated on Clarke Quay & within walking distance of Boat Quay. Beautiful hotel, breakfast best we have had anywhere (the choice is amazing). Can sit outside the hotel having breakfast/lunch/dinner and watch the world go by as people walk along the Quay.
Staff really friendly and helpful. Nice little shop inside the hotel and not overpriced.
Only 5 mins taxi ride to the famous "Raffles Hotel".
Within walking distance of the theatre

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lake-District1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLANDUDNO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

on the whole we were very happy with the staff ,the rooms were good the only trouble was noise from plumbing in nearby rooms disturbing sleep. the breakffastwere mixed the hot section was never hot ,tea &coffee were always bitter &stale. expected better in this class of hotel

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
179 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

We spent 2 nights in this hotel on our way to Australia. Reception staff were attentive and friendly. They dealt with our requests promptly and happily. The room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Some of the furniture seemed too big for the space and the layout was not as well thought out as it might have been but this was a good hotel by any standards. The location was ideal - right on the river with a huge choice of restaurants close by and on the edge of China town at the start of the Chinese new year. The spa and pool were first class with the spa area being particularly useful for a shower and change for a late check out.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silversurfer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

The hotel was in a great location, right next to Clark Quay. The room was very clean with a lovely balcony overlooking Clark Quay. From the hotel it wasn't a long walk to the shops and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaikkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

Easy to get to China Town and Clarke Quay.
Cjanged room to overlook pool rather than back street.
There are better hotels but for price this is ok.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#47 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,668 reviews
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing