We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #38 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent 2 nights here and the hotel is nice enough to upgrade our room and even give us a early checkin. The hotel is in a great location, just opposite the Clarke Quay Central, a shopping mall with great restaurants and we also found our favourite spa there. The staff were helpful which is most important for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charolette_denis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear charolette_denis,

Thank you for your kind commendations on your stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with special mention of our Swiss hospitality and we look forward to your return to Swissôtel Merchant Court in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,782
    1,775
    517
    163
    67
See reviews for
1,010
1,663
263
801
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is not a great hotel but a good one, with friendly and obliging staff. It is looking a little tired and in need of some TLC (cracked bathroom tiles, stained bath and basin, lifting wallpaper, etc) AND no free wifi, which was a pain. However there are plenty of hot spots nearby (across the road at Starbucks for one). That said, I would stay here again purely for the location. Clark Quay MRT adjacent, Chinatown an easy walk, Fort Canning Park an easy walk and lots of other good stuff within easy reach. The hotel is expensive for food and drinks (the breakfast buffet was great, tho') but you are spoilt for choice with restaurants, cafes and bars along the river (our favourite was SQUE, literally next door, which has 2-for-1 drinks at certain times and good food at reasonable prices - don't forget to factor in GST and service charges).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ouzo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Ouzo10,

Thank you for the kind review on your recent stay at Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are happy to hear that you and your partner had an enjoyable time and we look forward to welcome you on your next visit in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just returned from a long weekend away with girlfriends and stayed at this great hotel.the rooms and ensuite are very spacious and we only had the basic room.beds and pillows are comfortable and the room has all the amenities you could want.the only negative I could think of about the room is the shower over the bath.the bath is quite high so an elderly person would probably struggle to get in and out of the shower.also I am not a great fan of shower curtains.otherwise it was clean with plenty of towels.we only are breakfast once at the hotel and that was pretty average. The best thing about the hotel is its location in the middle of clark quay.fantasic for eating and drinking.the hotel is also located right next to a mrt station for easy transport all over singapore.would love to stay again next time I am in singapore

Room Tip: Check booking.com.we got a great rate for this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perthminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear perthminxy,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to you welcome you at Swissôtel Merchant Court on your next visit to Singapore.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had 3 nights at this hotel and loved everything about it. Lively location on Clarke Quay, but a lovely peaceful hotel. Beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast with a huge range of international breakfast alternatives. The "classic" room we had originally been booked into did not include free WiFi and it would have cost £7.50 a night to get WiFi. However we were offered and accepted an upgrade to a "Swiss advantage " room. This cost £15 extra per room per night but did include WiFi. The room we got was very spacious and the bed was enormous, so we felt it was worth paying the extra.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awj_jwj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear awj_jwj2,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation. We are pleased to hear that you and your partner had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to your return visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night before a cruise and again for 2 nights after my cruise . I stayed with 2 other ladies in one room so we had 3 single beds, we still had plenty of room to move about , and the bathroom was great . Breakfast was great as well , with plenty of variety. Before I stayed here I checked out other reviews and basically all I can say is , I'm sure some people aren't happy unless they are complaining about something , I would definitely stay here again .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear lesley h,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation. We are delighted to note that you and your friends enjoyed the stay with us and we appreciate your kind compliments of the comfort of our rooms and Food & Beverage offerings. Your praises are truly valued and we look forward to your return visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent 4 nights here on our way back from Vietnam.
The Hotel is in a great location, rooms are average but the big negative is that there is no free WiFi here. How they can charge SG$15 a day for internet access? its disgusting! This charge alone would stop me reccommending this Hotel.
Food and beverages are also expensive. The breakfast at SG$32 per person is nothing short of daylight robbery. I'm sure I saw Dick Turpin having breakfast there (didn't see his horse). The room mini bar was charging SG$12 for a small can of Tiger beer. So be warned.
The location of the Hotel next to Clake Quay MRT is excellent, also all the action is close at hand. There is some lovely walks up the Singapore river.
The Hotel staff were very friendly and eager to help.
The room was average, could do with some renovation, the bathroom was clean but the decoration was poor.
Take my advice, cross the street from the front of the hotel and go to the Central Mall, there are plenty of cafes there where you can enjoy a cheap breakfast and FREE WiFi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pontius321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Pontius321,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We have noted the highlighted areas that did not meet your expectations and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment caused. May we also take this opportunity to welcome you to join as our Swissôtel Circle member, where you will be entitled to free Internet access at all Swissôtel Hotels & Resorts worldwide. Membership is complimentary and we invite you to sign up at www.circle.swissotel.com. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope for another opportunity to welcome you and your partner back in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for four nights. Lovely hotel so well looked after from the moment we arrived. Nothing too much trouble. The location is superb so close to all the major attractions of Singapore. The staff were so well trained and helpful. We had breakfast only the choice was really good.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room. It was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Linda W,

Thank you for your kind commendations. We are delighted to learn that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us and hope you have enjoyed yourselves in Singapore as well. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#45 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#46 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing