We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,356)
Filter reviews
5,356 results
Traveler rating
2,387
2,127
576
182
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,387
2,127
576
182
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclarke quayblue potatogreat locationcentral mallmrt stationrestaurants and barsnight lifeexecutive clubexecutive roomnespresso machinestayed here for nightsbuffet breakfastnice poolan upgradelate checklong flightmarina bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,685 - 2,690 of 5,356 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed in november with my boyfriend, we were in singapore for 8 nights and stayed here for our last three, of all the accomodation we stayed in this was the best for location. Right ontop of an MRT station which we used every day several times a day and close to chinatown where we ate most of the time at the maxwell hawker centre because the food is incredible!
have to say though that for the price the rooms are really outdated and had a tiny shower/bath...
Staff were great :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank will0w68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear will0w68,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as part of your stay during your recent visit to Singapore. We are pleased to hear that you and your partner had an enjoyable time with us and we look forward to your return visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Pros:

-Literally right behind an MRT station, this meant we could stop at the hotel after lunch or in between excursions
-next to clark quay area, which has good nightlife if you're into that kind of scene
-clean rooms. a bit tiny, as Singapore hotel rooms usually are, but ample space for two people

Cons:
-breakfast was fair. Imagine being at camp and having really good chefs on site. A lot of fried stuff that's cooked then left to dry under a hot lamp.
-housekeeping a bit lazy, they'd do the basic things and leave stuff in a heap by the corner of the room, or not bother keeping things. I guess they're working to a tight schedule
-first day during breakfast we were seated at an obscure area away from the buffet or outside balcony. As any Asian traveler would know, you sometimes encounter self-hating Asians who will go out of their way to serve the western tourist, but then take one look at you and put you in a damp corner. Just to have to assert yourself and make sure you don't face this kind of strange discrimination.

Overall a good place, a few unpleasant details but those were excusable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear alzqn,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. While we are glad to note that you have enjoyed your overall stay experience especially the convenience of our location, we are concern to hear of the areas that did not match your expectations. Please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment caused and at the same time please be assured that every guest is important to us and that we seek to provide a delightful experience at all times. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you again with the hospitality and standards you have come to expect.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I am currently sitting in a king size executive suite and after paying for the best rooms and best service this hotel has to offer we have received terrible service at every turn. Our friends despite paying for a king size room and then requesting being on the same floor suffered through two single rooms because of overbooking and now are two levels below us. After ordering room servicing we were told it would be half an hour an hour later we are told another twenty minutes. The 24hr complimentary drink service only last until the middle of the night. All in all a terrible hotel providing terrible service at a top price. DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peachy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Peachy456,

Thank you taking time to post your review. We are concern to learn that your stay was not up to expectations and would like to extend our profound apologies for the disappointment felt. Your feedback is important to us and will allow us to constantly look into every area so as to improve our service standards. We would also like to take this opportunity to share with you that our Executive Club Lounge opens daily from 7am to 9pm with complimentary evening drinks and finger food during happy hour from 6pm to 8pm, however, room service is available 24 hours for guests to dine at any time of the day. Thank you once again for sharing your comments and we hope for an opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the standards that you have come to expect.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent 5 nights here; first positive things: great location in Clarke Quay close to lot of restaurants and bars, 5 minutes walk to Chinatown, a small mall just in 50 metres (where you can do your nails and hair and eat foodcourt lunch), pool area ok.
Negative: breakfast buffet is overpriced, service is very friendly, but the price itself is too high. We had problems with our keycards for the first 4 days (literally every time when we tried to enter our room, we had to go down to the reception and had the keys re-coded. pretty irritating and time consuming experience to do this all together more than 20 times..it was only at the very last evening they took us seriously and fixed the problem.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room - clarke quay is quite noisy in the night time
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelli2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Nelli2012,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit with your family to Singapore. We are glad to note that your overall stay was enjoyable and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for highlighting on the issue with the door lock system which was faulty due to a mechanism defect and has since been rectified. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My 2 friends and I stayed here on 2 separate occasions recently in 2 different styles of rooms. We found both to be very roomy and nicely fitted out with everything you could need during your stay. The buffet breakfast has something to suit all tastes and needs. I have read other reviews and am sure that some people like to look for something to criticise my friends and I have no qualms in highly recommending this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Debedmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Debedmo,

Thank you for your kind review and compliments. We are pleased to hear that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to your return visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews