We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back n still as good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #34 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Was here last year and back this Xmas.
Location is great, walking distance to Clake Quay and dozens of bars at night and good food in the day plus a bonus to MRT subway just minutes away.
Clean room, nothing classy just s simple room with a comfy bed, simply simple.
Tried the lunch buffet. Just average. Don't expect too much from other facilities like I said stay was simple and good enough.
Staff are friendly. Will surely be back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hkdhkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear hkdonald11,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation once again. We are pleased to hear that you and your partner had an enjoyable time as always and we look forward to your return visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,671 - 2,677 of 5,221 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stopped over here with my wife for 2 nights en route to Australia. Most of the better-rated 4 star-plus establishments in Singapore seem to be either very expensive or inconveniently located, and when searching for attractive options that wouldn't break the budget (no more than £250 for 2 nights), I kept coming back to the same 2 hotels that we looked seriously at on our last visit 3 years ago, being this one and the Park Hotel Clarke Quay, which is the one we opted for last time.

We enjoyed the Park Hotel Clarke Quay, particularly the pool, but it was a 10-15 minute walk from the nearest MRT, and given Singapore's wet climate (we were lucky last time!), we decided to opt for the Swissotel Merchant Quay primarily due to its more convenient location adjacent to Clarke Quay MRT, and in the centre of the action rather than on the fringes of it. We were thankful that we did so, as the weather was more typical of what you tend to expect in Singapore (wet and humid), and I sense we would have tired of the short but unavoidable (unless you are prepared to take a taxi everywhere) trek from the Park to the numerous restaurants and MRT in the rain.

The location certainly didn't disappoint - the MRT can be accessed from the shopping mall immediately opposite, which in itself had some nice shops and was very handy for breakfast options if you didn't want to pay the hotel breakfast rates. Cross the bridge over the river outside the hotel and you are in the middle of countless restaurant/bar options, and both Boat Quay and Chinatown are a short walk away - if its raining you can hop on the MRT for one stop to the latter.

Aside from location, the Swissotel also excelled over the Park in terms of the size of the rooms/storage space, and eating facilities within the hotel itself. The Park's room had the better outlook (looking out over the pool) but neither of them had a balcony or terrace, which was a bit of a shame. The Swissotel's own pool area is quite attractive, and benefits from a poolside café-bar/restaurant, but it is enclosed by hotel corridors and felt less spacious than that at the Park, albeit the weather for our stay rendered this consideration somewhat immaterial . Nevertheless it was perfectly acceptable, as indeed were all facilities provided by the hotel.

In summary, whilst the hotel doesn't quite carry the "wow" factor (you'll need a high expense budget for one of those), it made for an ideal stopover base, and I certainly wouldn't have any hesitation in returning, or recommending it to anyone looking for accommodation based on similar parameters.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pvfc819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear pvfc819,

Thank you for your continuous support towards Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are delighted to note that you and your partner enjoyed the stay as always and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed for two nights just prior to Christmas. Location is great and we had an amazing views of the harbour.
It helped that we had an upgrade to an executive room and lounge which also gave us free internet access which was very handy.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful,
The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of food on offer. We ate breakfast at the second floor restaurant rather than the executive lounge as it had more variety.
Abutting the hotel is a shopping centre which has a wide variety of affordable shops rather than boutique places catering for the rich.
The room itself had a nice big flat screen TV complete with coffee machine. I would describe it as comfortable and we could not hear any noise from outside.
I would be more than happy to stay there again on my next visit.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Allan B,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation. We are pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable time and we look forward to your return visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was our second stay in Merchant Court Hotel. The receptionist was very friendly, everything went well while checking in and checking out. Room we got was very spacious, bed was very comfortable.

If you have a free membership of Swissotels, you can get an internet for free.

The biggest plus is definitely the amazing location of the hotel, you can just step out of the hotel and you are in the middle of all restaurants and bars and busy nightlife!

I would recommend some refubishment and new room doors, as ours had a gap under the door so there was a light coming whole night and it was not soundproof at all.
In general it is definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Had a room on the 5th floor with the windows facing the swimming pool. There were kids screaming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear adelka5,

Thank you for the kind review. We are glad to learn that you and your partner enjoyed the stay and at the same time appreciate your feedback which will allow us to constantly monitor and review our facilities and offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Merchant Court in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Always love this for location plus good size rooms and amenities. Finally granting free wifi, which is about time, really. Blue Potato restaurant downstairs great for breakfast - good service & food, though a little pricey (expected for hotel cafe) - great venue next to the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Janet J,

Thank you for your continuous support towards Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are delighted to note that you and your partner enjoyed the stay as always and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

A lovely hotel with courteous staff. Located adjacent to Clarke Quay and the local SMART station. The room whilst small, was ideal for our requirements and included free wifi. The hotel's business centre was well equiped and staff opened it after hours for us. Having stayed in Singapore previously in various hotels, this one will be first preference next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Roben,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation. We are pleased to hear that you and your friends had an enjoyable time and we look forward to your return visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have stayed in Singapore many times and this is by far the best location.
Also, as is normal for beds in Asia, we were expecting the sorest backs every morning from the very hard mattresses but though these beds feel quite hard, they are actually excellent giving a sound sleep to our whole group. Wonderful sleep helps to create a wonderful holiday.
Breakfast buffet downstairs is excellent - the children were very satisfied as one likes cereal while the other likes Asian breakfast.
The pool area with both slides is superb for the kids.
The staff are especially helpful and made for a lovely stay in Singapore.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger as we needed to fit a trundle bed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macandmui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear macandmui,

Thank you for your kind commendations on your stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed the comfort and our Swiss hospitality and we look forward to your return to Swissôtel Merchant Court in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#66 of 319 in Singapore
3,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#24 of 319 in Singapore
3,235 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#62 of 319 in Singapore
4,695 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
8,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Family Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $163 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing