We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #50 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Swissotel Merchant Court, and had a wonderful experience. On arrival we mentioned if the 6 people we were travelling with could all be together, they up graded us and put us all together. Th hotel was very modern, beautiful decor, friendly, and very helpful. The breakfast was to die for, buffet dinner excellent, and evening dinning excellent. Very close to everything. We stayed 5 nights, and never had a problem with anything. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
2 Thank suetar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear suetar,
Thank you for the kind compliments. It is to our delight that you and your friends enjoyed our service and the food and beverages served. We look forward to welcome you and your friends again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,519
    1,630
    496
    157
    65
See reviews for
895
1,491
241
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice property with central location, friendly & courteous staff, compllimentary breakfast was a nice touch. Close proximity to shopping centers, restaurants & bars. You're literally 2 city blocks away from Chinatown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Sunshine Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sunshine Grace P,
Thank you for the review on our hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the services provided by our team members and the complimentary breakfast. We look forward to extend you with our warm Swiss hospitality again on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here after our cruise and liked the location. You are walking distance to many restaurants and right next to Chinatown. The MRT stop is about 5 minutes away so it is easy to get anywhere in Singapore from here. Also, taxi's are always parked out in front of the hotel so if you prefer to grab a cab that is easy too.

Our room was huge and the bathroom was very nice. There was a hot pot in the room that heated water in under 60 seconds which was great for coffee and tea (which they provide). The beds were comfortable and it was quiet. The room was very clean and the AC worked well which is important since it is really hot in Singapore.

The staff were great. The conciere was great with directions and suggestions of what to do and how to get places. We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot answer for the retaurants. It is so easy to get to many restaurants we prefered to explore outside of the hotel. Clarke Quay is so close and they have about any type of food you can imagine. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a basic room - there are some nicer rooms if you want to spend the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarGazer55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear StarGazer55555,
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred accommodation in Singapore. We are happy to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Austr
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

An excellent hotel in a great location within seconds of Clarke Quay. The accomodation and service was beyond our best expectations and a credit to management. If you are after a central location close to an MRT station - then this is the place for you.Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear GeoffFuller,
Thank you for the kind compliments and we are delighted to note that you and your family had a memorable experience at Swissôtel Merchant Court. We look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel location close to the river and MRT is excellent. Pool was perfect for our children as well for us parents. Large size rooms but beds could have been much softer. Friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Per L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Per L,
Thank you for the kind review and feedback on our hotel. We are glad to learn that you and your family had a pleasant stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late evening, dumped the bags and straight out to Clark's quay. What a first impression of Singapore, it was great. More about the hotel. Room was on the second floor and it was clean and quiet. Very functional room with tea and coffee making facilities. Didn't eat or drink in the hotel but from what I saw it looked a great place....we were out with friends. Handy for Chinatown where we ate, don't be put off by first impressions in Chinatown, it was a great meal. On leaving the porters were very helpful and looked after our bags as late flight. Would I go back, yes. Reading the other reviews were we lucky with the room...I will never know.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YorkieDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear YorkieDJ,
Thank you for staying with us on your first trip to Singapore. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Swissôtel Merchant Court and we look forward to your return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The location is good. There is a shopping mall just across the street.
The swimming pool is very well maintained.
There are different categories of rooms, we have stayed twice (on 5th and 2nd floor). Those on the 5th floor are better and cosier., incl. free wifi, nespresso coffee machine, free newspaper, etc.
Very clean, the staff is helpful. We appreciated a lot the touristic advices of the concierge

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Dan710,
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred accommodation in Singapore again. It is to our delight that you and your family enjoyed our facilities and the warm Swiss hospitality extended by our team members. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Park Regis Singapore
#45 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,585 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#48 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 3,115 reviews
Furama City Centre
#47 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,064 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#17 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
#49 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing