We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #34 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is in downtown, which is next to a MRT station, definitely a good choice for those who like to shop. And within walking distance to Clarke Quay, where are a lot of pubs and bars. But the breakfast selection and variety is less than what I expected for the price I paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Kui Siong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Kui Siong C,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court on your visit to Singapore and we are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,822 - 2,828 of 5,221 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great location, Great staff. The receptionists are very helpful, so was the concierge desk. The bathrooms were clean, Decent rooms.

Good part:
1. We stayed 3 nights, Each day the housekeeping was on time and room was cleaned properly
2.The hotel is the MRT station.Easy transit and river is behind the hotel.

They could have avoided a few bad surprises:
1.Lighting was below the ideal in the rooms
2.We did not get rooms as per the views we had requested - this is fine as they may not have been vacant. One of the rooms did not have balcony itself.
3.Reduce your expectations after reading reviews on TripAdvisor, I was super excited about the hotel.So bit underwhelmed.

Note:
The hotel charges a refundable security deposit. You many not know this if you booked through expedia or MakeMyTrip. They return it immediately on your checkout.So no need to worry.Just a heads up.

Room Tip: If you are a family of four, they do give adjoining rooms in a connected. Ask for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrashTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear PrashTraveller,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you return to Swissôtel Merchant Court in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We has a great two night stay at the Merchant Court. The hotel is located at Clarke Quay midway between City Hall and Chinatown - both fifteen minutes walk away. Clarke Quay MRT is just across the road. Our room overlooked Clarke Quay and had a furnished balcony with a great view of the river and the walkway below. The room was well equipped and includes a Nespresso coffee machine. However, the shower was a bit disappointing - old type shower head over bath. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking Clarke Quay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear gdf07,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court and we are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a wonderful time in Singapore as well and we look forward to your return visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I go each yeat to the Singapore GP and hotels are always an issue but the Swissotel Merchant is worth a mention for this weekend or any other
It is on the river and has everything in walking distance with real good night life and food all around
Staff are polite and will help were ever possible
Great base when visiting Singapore

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear john69_10,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you and your friends enjoyed the comfort and our Swiss hospitality. Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Part of our holiday in Singapore was the F1 Grand Prix and this hotel is perfectly located for getting to and from the circuit, were able to walk there and back.

The room was nice and big compared to a previous stay in another Singapore Hotel.

All the staff were friendly and very attentive even during a very busy grand prix weekend.

Had a couple of issues over 2 days with the safe (potentially my own fault) when reported to the front desk a member of the security staff was up in minutes to fix the problem very quickly and in a very pleasant manner, even the second time I called them and the same security person turned up.

No free wifi, it was around £7 for 24 hours which isn't the most expensive I have encounted but is a bit strange with many "budget" hotels having free wifi these days. Though free wifi in Singapore was rare.

The hotel is located on Clarke Quay so is ideal for the bars and restaurants in that area, though they are expensive especially after happy hours finish. The hotel is also close to many other parts of Singapore including China Town, Fort Canning and Orchard Road.

Also taxi's are plentiful and cheap and the hop on hop off tour buses and buses to the zoo stop on the main road outside the hotel.

Would go back to this hotel and it's location is ideal for exploring Singapore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Paul M,

Thank you for your compliments and we are pleased to learn that you and your partner had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next visit to Singapore.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Merchant Court will be on our future stay agenda in Singapore. We love the location and ease of getting to the MRT. The staff are very
Helpful and we loved the attention from Chef Mah at the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Ronald P,

Thank you for your compliments on our friendly team members and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a wonderful time in Singapore and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location adjacent to MRT station.
Swimming pool is really good although not a lot of sunbeds if it is busy.
We stayed in a Classic room which although I thought was quite small, it was well equipped.
Staff were courteous and helpful too.
I stayed in the Novotel across the river last year, which was also very good, but found this to be a better choice.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear John M,

Thank you for your kind commendations. We are pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Merchant Court for another memorable experience in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#66 of 319 in Singapore
3,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#24 of 319 in Singapore
3,235 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#62 of 319 in Singapore
4,695 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
8,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Family Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $163 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing