We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Singapore with a great pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #39 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
1 review
“Central Singapore with a great pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a great hotel within easy walking distance of all the main attractions (Raffles, Singapore Flyer and Gardens by the Bay). It has a wonderful pool to help you cool down and the breakfast selection is enormous. Rooms were a good size with very comfortable beds and large very clean bathrooms. Try not to get a room at the back of the hotel though as when we visited, there was building going on somewhere in the area and we were kept awake with lorries reversing. Just check this has been resolved when you check-in as it's a great hotel worth staying at.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ali L,

Thank you for your compliments. We are pleased to hear that you and your partner had an enjoyable stay at Swissôtel Merchant Court and we hope to see you return in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,754
    1,758
    513
    162
    67
See reviews for
995
1,644
260
789
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this property for the purpose of visiting Singapore. The hotel is centrally located in the Colonial District, and is only a few steps away from the extravagant boardwalk (Clarke Quay). Also, a metro station is located right around the bend.

Pros:
- Professional concierges: expect great service; minus the smile
- Good room service: fast and efficient delivery of good food
- Nice pool area


Cons:
- Internet is not (!!!!) included in the price of a 'Classic Room'. Swissotel: we are not in 1998 anymore!! Even worse, they offer low-speed and high-speed pricing (the latter being SGD 25 for 24 hours). Disgusting policy, especially in one of the best wired cities in the world.

- Breakfast buffet: area feels cramped although it is spacious, VERY slow service at the egg stations (waited 15 minutes on 2 occasions), table service (for coffee and cutlery) was not particularly friendly (the lady spoke no English, and did not bother to greet us), the whole breakfast experience feels like an upgraded school cafeteria.

- Hotel fixtures badly in need of updating: can only speak for 2nd and 3rd floors (pool area, and our room) and the carpets were quite smelly and stained in some areas.

- Bathrooms need updating: if you're old enough to remember a 4-star hotel in the 1980s or early 1990s, then you can expect similar bathroom fixtures in the Classic rooms. Pathetic.

- Room storage: If you're not a business traveler and are staying for more than a couple of days, do NOT hire a Classic room. The room has very little storage to speak of (one chest of drawers, MAYBE 2 hangers, and a small closet that also serves as storage for extra pillows...?!)

- Overall service: it's a big hotel, but that's no excuse for the lukewarm service we received. Smiles are difficult to come by (except when something does not function like our room's TV remote control), and no extra efforts are made to make one feel truly welcomed.

Bottom line: I would not recommend this hotel unless the location is absolutely critical.

Room Tip: Do not take the Classic room. Unless, of course, you're a big fan of paying for your Internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fufen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Fufen E,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment experienced during your recent stay. Please be assured that we are constantly looking into every area so as to improve our level of standards and facilities.

We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the service standards that you have come to expect.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, did everything you'd expect of a swissotel. Had an advantage room which gave us internet and water. Room was clean and smart if a little small, bathroom tidy but could do with a makeover and update-shower curtains in a hotel of this standard let it down. Staff very helpful and friendly-maids left F1 chocolate and earplugs ahead of the race.

Location good, near Clarke quay and about 10 mins walk to city hall. Reasonable rate given that the Grand Prix was on. Nice pool area and gym. Absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel, just lacked that wow factor...but after being at Marina Bay Sands maybe that was to be expected.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear GarethRhysMorgan,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court on your visit to Singapore and we are pleased to learn that you and your partner had a delightful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fast reception and decent hotel. Price is mediocre. You should stay here if the location is critical (it sits right in the main tourist zone). You can find other hotels that are cheaper and nearby (but slightly less conveniently located).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Andrew Z,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Swissôtel Merchant Court on your next visit to Singapore.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the Swissotel Merchant Court about 1 week ago and overall, a good experience. I stayed in the Swiss Executive Room located on the 10th floor with club lounge access and breakfast.

I tried checking in early at about 1100hrs but got my room at 1230hrs instead. Still, they managed to get me checked-in before the check-in time but had to compromise on my preferred bed configuration. I particularly liked the architecture of the hotel and the fact that it is so conveniently located. Right on clarke quay with all the restaurants, clubs and bars as well as easy access to public transportation. To me, Clarke Quay really is the heart of Singapore's night life so for those who want a taste of Singapore's night life, this would be one of the better hotels in the vicinity.

I was also amazed that one of the reception staff greeted me by name the next morning and that really cemented my overall impression of the hotel. Further, housekeeping did a great job with keeping my room clean and turn-down service was a nice touch. The hotel has also one of the most efficient in-room dining service I've experienced - they always met the promised 20mins delivery time.

There were however two key negatives during my stay:

1. The room I had was particularly small (although nicely updated) and for more than SGD420 per night, I'm not sure if everyone would find it value for money. I guess you're paying for the access to the club lounge and breakfast. But for business travellers, the room would fit most needs and I liked having breakfast in the peace and quiet of the lounge.

2. There was a staff member who chose to interrupt me as I was on the phone in the breakfast lounge. It was not until I raised the fact that I was on the line did he step aside and approach me later instead.

I think the hotel delivers on many areas but for travellers, it all boils down to what you prefer. Singapore offers so many types of hotels for a myriad of travellers. This hotel, in my opinon, would probably appeal more to business travellers due to its location and those seeking to explore Singapore's nightlife with convenient access to public transportation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daziz_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Daziz_91,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and our Swiss hospitality. Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights on a business trip. I usually stay at the Marriott on Orchard Rd but rates there have gone up so high I could no longer justify it. I prefer this Swisshotel location at Clarke Quay due to the river and proximity to Chinatown, although the Marriott is nearly perfect in operations where this Swisshotel has some issues.

First blunder, the main breakfast area is overcrowded and poorly designed. Obtaining food is inconvenient and almost intimidating. There are simply too many people in a small area without any flow to the walkways. I stay in hotels 50 nights a year and this is the only place I had this problem, so be assured it's obvious.

Second blunder, the room thermostat in 723 does not work. The A/C ran continuously regardless of settings and resulted in a freezer condition. I turned the dial all the way down to 28C yet it would never shut off. I had to open the windows and shut off the system completely to get a decent ambient temperature.

Overall hotel setting is nice. The pool is clean, and big. The location on the river is great for restaurant access and morning walks.

One of my colleagues had the executive club level and I joined him for breakfast one day. It was excellent - food was better then downstairs, no crowds, great view. If I stay at this hotel again in the future I'd try to get on the executive floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradleystat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear bradleystat,

Thank you for taking time to share your review with us. Pleased be assured that we are looking into every area so as to provide all our guests with the high level of product quality. We look forward to welcoming you back at Swissôtel Merchant Court on your visit to Singapore. in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We preferred this architecturally older style hotel which offers up to date service with comfort and care. We enjoyed the pool area, restaurant and bar which overlooked the busy Clarke Quay but allowed us a more intimate and peaceful setting. It was a great location for our needs and very relaxing. We would be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Bronwyn L,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Swissôtel Merchant Court on your next visit to Singapore.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,185 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#47 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,550 reviews
Furama City Centre
#45 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#54 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing