We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great dining experience - wedding dinner at the Ballroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #36 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

One Saturday evening in late March 2013, I attended a wedding dinner of a friend at the Ballroom of Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel, Singapore,

I find that the customer service of the waiters and waitresses to be impeccable and some of my friends also share this same good assessment.

Indeed, I was impressed by the consistency of service standards - the courtesy and professional ways of the service staff at the Ballroom and I had made a special commendation to their Manager subsequently.

Such high level of service standards are not so common here in Singapore - generally speaking and I am truly impressed and very happy with this one good experience of good service at the Ballroom of this hotel! I am so glad and grateful to have been invited to this wedding dinner = and the superb service of the staff had surely made my day - I would look forward to be a guest at this hotel, again, when the next opportunity arises.

Here in Singapore where we are highly dependent on tourism (besides other services) - it is therefore very vital to maintain such high level of customer service! Keep it up, Swissotel Merchant Court!

Dear Visitor to Singapore, when you come to visit Singapore - do drop by at the Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel to experience our Singaporean hospitality at its best! Happy Visit to our Sunny Island - Singapore!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SihYing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear SihYing,

Thank you for your compliments of the delightful experience at the joyous matrimonial celebration we are honoured to be part of. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends have enjoyed the Swiss hospitality which each of our team members pride in providing for all our guests.

Once again, we thank you for your generous recommendation which is undoubtedly a testament to our service standards and we look forward to welcoming you back at Swissôtel Merchant Court soon!

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,738 - 2,744 of 5,046 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

the room was quite smaller than I thought but except for that, everything was so great!
great location to MRT,great pool and Very nice service!
I would like to visit again with bigger room next time :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
1  Thank Bookja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Bookja O,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your choice accommodation on your visit to Singapore and we are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Swissotel Merchant Court isn't the newest hotel in Singapore, in fact in some ways its beginning to look a little 'weary'. But it offers a high standard in just about all aspects and its location near Clark Quay waterside is sensational.
We went for my wife's 60th birthday and it was a lovely touch that the hotel's booking system computer picked that up and a birthday cake was delivered to our room on the day.
Staff all very attentive and friendly, food for breakfast generally great with a wide selection.
Pool was rather small and the number of lounges very few but then we didn't spend too much time there anyway.
I thought the charge of $18 to use the laundrette ($9 to wash, $9 to dry) was a bit steep and unnecessary.
But we had a great holiday, and I think I would return. Its just opposite an MRT station and a great centre from which to reach any part of Singapore

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Peter W,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court to commemorate such a special occasion and we are delighted to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you had an unforgettable experience and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Situated on Clarke Quay means that this hotel not only is in very close proximity to numerous bars and restaurants, but also the MRT.

The downside of this is that dining options within the hotel are limited and expensive.

Aside from this the hotel is nice and the service friendly as you would expect. We made some requests to assist us traveling with a young child and these were all met.

The only downside we experienced there was that one of the rooms on our floor was flooding into the passage. This was ongoing for the entire week we were there. It didn't smell and was marked out so I can only think our is hard to get a good plumber on Singapore as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuB2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear StuB2107,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Swissôtel Merchant Court and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Singapore.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is exactly in the centre of entertainments-on the corner 2 main restaraunt's, bar's roads.
easy to go to Marina Bay.
The service in hotel - very good. People speak english, understand your requests.
Nice swimming pool - but few sunbeds - you need to wait for free one. from the pool you can see one of the best sunset)))
Room was very clean, nice view, but with some smell..
and for Asia - very expensive hotel. I don't mean Singapore or HongKong.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Julia K,

Thank you for your kind compliments on the service rendered by our team members. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here once for 2 weeks and the room I had was awesome. Very comfortable and a very nice bed.

Service was great.

Had a very wide spread of choice for breakfast, both eastern and western fare.

Location wise is very good as it was walking distance to Clarke Quay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Long M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Long M,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court and we are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a wonderful time in Singapore as well and we look forward to your return visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Certainly happy to be staying at the Swissotel Merchant Rd. The staff are friendly and helpful and ready with a smile. The rooms are a little dated but comfy and clean. The location is fantastic with Clark Quay restaurants, bars and clubs buzzing perfect for people watching or catching a short ferry ride up the river. Central Mall across the road is left wanting.

Breakfast is definitely on the expensive side with $9 for perculated coffee and $12 for a cappuccino! Never to fear Starbucks is across the road and the SwissBake for a cheap beaky.

I would also cross the bridge for a cocktail as they were either watery or too sweet in both bars.

2  Thank JonnieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear JonnieBee,

Thank you for your compliments on our friendly team members and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a wonderful time in Singapore and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#56 of 317 in Singapore
4,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#26 of 317 in Singapore
3,107 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#62 of 317 in Singapore
3,814 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Family Hotel in Singapore
#36 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $156 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing