We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for Kids - My 6-yr-old Niece was Crazy for the Slides at Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #38 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
407 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Excellent for Kids - My 6-yr-old Niece was Crazy for the Slides at Pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with niece and his parents from 26th July (then moved to Marina Bay Sands Hotel for 1 night as planned). This's the first time my niece travelled abroad with parents. I had done thorough researches before arriving at this choice.

Excellent value for money. USD165 a room per night without breakfast. I booked at agoda with early bird discount. Before going, I emailed to the hotel requesting two interconnecting rooms, one double one twin so that the kid can always run to his parents' room. My request was perfectly met. It's good that the room where my niece and I stayed is next to no one on one side, so no neighbours would be disturbed by my active niece.

The swimming pool is beautiful with different depths. The highlight is the 2 slides and my niece was crazy for them (had played 30 times?). Rooms spacious, clean and tidy, decor nice, one has balcony. Bed comfy. Good place for hide and seek. I was always required by my niece to play hide and seek in the rooms (20 times totally?). Exhausted.....

Location excellent. A shopping mall "Central" is just opposite where we had Ya Kun kaya toast as breakfast (must try).

Lastly, a word to the management. In my email to the hotel before going, I told this journey was for pre-celebrating my niece birthday (same as Singapore National Day 9 Aug). I just want to test the management and see if there will be some surprises. No, there's none (Sands hotel gave us a birthday cake). If I were the managment with commercial mind, I would have offered a free buffet coupon to the child while having other adults dine in the hotel at usual or discounted rate.

Anyway, that's alright. We all perfectly enjoy our stay so much and will definitely choose this hotel again next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear MissHK2009,

Thank you for your lovely feedback and recommendation.

The Swissôtel Kids Room is a popular feature with our guests and we are glad to have created many wonderful memories for your niece and family.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,782
    1,775
    517
    163
    67
See reviews for
1,010
1,663
263
801
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tuen Mun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The location is good, just besides the MRT Clark Quary station (within 5 minutes walk). The room is clean and clear. The staff are nice and helpful. The pool is extremely good especially suitable for family. However, it doesn't provide free internet access.


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wai San Wilson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Wai San Wilson T,

We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s service and staff.

As a Swissôtel Circle member, you will be entitled to free Internet access at all Swissôtels worldwide. Membership is complimentary and we invite you to sign up at: www.circle.swissotel.com.

We hope you and your family had a lovely time in Singapore and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuembrecht
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Room was clean and commodious, but bath tube with shower curtain is not comfortable. TV with only some channels, only one german-speaking channel. Quality of breakfast was excellent. Shops in the hotel are okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Othmar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Othmar G,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope that you had a fulfilling business trip and look forward to extending a warm welcome to you on your next visit to Singapore.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

It´s a well located hotel close to the subwaystation and lots of resturants also close. The hotel has a very big breakfast variation and that will be something for everybody. The room has very comfortably beds. You have to pay for wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Monica P,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast selection at our award-winning Ellenborough Market Café.

We hope you had an enjoyable time in Singapore and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very close to MRT station and two Jumbo restaurants (Riverside and Riverwalk). Recommended to couples or friends type travelers due to easy access to Clark Quay where you can drink beer beside the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank babyimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear babyimp,

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back to Swissôtel Merchant Court for another wonderful experience.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwint
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our room was better than expected. The view of the pool surrounds is lovely. The room was very comfortable. It is an older hotel but this does not detract from the rooms comfort. The gym is adequately equipped with weight machines and walking machines however an exercise bike would be wonder.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Belinda F,

We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay.

We hope you and your family had fun-filled vacation in Singapore and look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jornbay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Title should justice it all.
This is kind of an old hotel but well maintenanced. Can be seen from the lobby decor. However, the deluxe room is better than expected. The decor is very avant garde and bedding linens are so comfy, including bathroom is spacious.
Overall this hotel is 5 star old resort hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Fendy F,

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

We hope you and your friends had a great time exploring Singapore and look forward to your next trip to Singapore.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#45 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,290 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#46 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing