We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #50 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel faces Clarke Quay, which makes it a great location for eating out at night and going for a ride in a bumboat. It is also a short distance from Clarke Quay metro stop, which is only one stop away from Orchard Road. We unfortunately could not get a room with a view of the river, but were happy with our room facing in with a view of palm trees. The room was large, clean, comfy, quiet and cool. Downside: the feather and down doona is far too hot for Singapore's climate. We ended up removing the doona and sleeping only with the cover on Staff very attentive and helpful. Breakfast room is huge with a large selection to suit all nationalites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view or pool/palm tree view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginia096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Virginia096,

Thank you for the valuable feedback and we are pleased that you and your partner had a pleasant stay.

We hope you had a wonderful time exploring Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    1,580
    486
    152
    63
See reviews for
837
1,450
233
697
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

terrible experience to stay in this hotel, I lost my neck chain in this hotel, someone has stolen it from my room in the drawer. very terrible staff and the their attitude as well. Do be careful if you are going to stay there!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Runjie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Runjie R,

We thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We sincerely regret to learn that your stay with us was not up to your expectations as we always strive to ensure the best possible experience for our guests during their stay.

Unfortunately despite our best efforts, we were unable to locate your lost necklace. Nonetheless, we hope for an opportunity in the near future to provide you with the warm hospitality and high service standards that you have come to expect.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice hotel, just beside MRT Clarke Quay station. When we arrive in noon, the front desk check the room availablity for us. But there was no room available until 3pm. So we keep our luaggage at conciage. The clerk was friendly.and nice. Due to there was no standard room with king size bed, so the frontdest gave us a free upgrade, and offer us free welcome drink and wifi. The hotel room was clean and confortable. The night lift of clark quay was great. Nice hotel and would come again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Alice W,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to learn that you and your partner enjoyed our facilities and Swiss hospitality.

We will continue our daily pursuit of excellence in service and we look forward to your next stay with us soon.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Surprised my wife with a quick trip to Singapore for Christmas. Singapore is one of the top cities for Christmas IMHO. I chose the Merchant Court for its location. Right on the river near Clark Quay. Right near shopping. Short distance to China town. I had a room overlooking the pool and it was very nice. We didn't eat at the hotel ever as there are so many ethnic restaurants within walking distance. With this hotel it is all location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikelynn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear mikelynn17,

Thank you for the positive feedback.

We hope you and your wife had a wonderful time in Singapore last Christmas and we hope to welcome you back to Swissôtel Merchant Court soon.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is located right next to the Clark Quay MRT station. Everything's great about the place! The ambience, the staff, the room, the pool, the beds...There's nothing to complain about. Love this place! If you need food, there's plenty of choices around, including the ones inside "The Central" (a mall), restaurants/pubs at Clark Quay and other restaurants around the area. There are also a few convenience stores around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytourist098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Happytourist098,

Thank you for your highlighting the many positive points of your recent stay.

We hope you had a wonderful holiday with your friends and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again in the near future.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
209 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

stayed in pool view room without a balcony. very spacious room with large bathroom. relatives had a room on same floor with balcony, slightly smaller. very clean, staff were very helpful and friendly. included buffet breakfast was fine, plenty of dimsum choices and all the usual stuff.
best thing about this hotel is the location. across the road from the mrt station and shopping centre on one side and clark quay (the river with loads of nice restaurants and bars) on the other side. the atmosphere around clark quay in the evening is great, locals and tourists eating and partying. would stay here again

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank bossladyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear bossladyPerth,

We are delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the positive comments and we hope to extend our warm service to you and your family on your return to Singapore.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kl, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was staying in the room facing Clark Quey. Everything was great except that the music from Clark Quey pubs were still a little audible during midnight with windows and curtains closed. I also visited the gym and it has most of the equipments and very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Lead Choon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Lead Choon S,

Thank you for selecting us as your preferred hotel for your business trip.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,358 reviews
Swissotel The Stamford
#55 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 6,740 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#48 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 3,000 reviews
Furama City Centre
#58 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,924 reviews
Marina Bay
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#11 of 305 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 4,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
#49 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Fairmont Hotels so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing