We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent experience of kids package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #38 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Recent experience of kids package”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here last week for 7 nights on a family holiday with extended family.
I will get my gripes, and room recommendations, out of the way first and then move on to the positives of the hotel.

We had our two young children with us (19 months & 5 years) so booked the kids room package. We had done this last year at the Swissotel the Stamford and were very pleased with the accommodation. Unfortunately the adjoining family rooms at the Merchant Court (unlike at the Stamford) seem to be significantly smaller than the other Classic rooms. My parents requested a Classic room with two doubles and this was the biggest of all our rooms so I would recommend requesting one of these (it was still charged at the regular Classic Room rate).

If you are travelling with a baby or child in a stroller (or have difficulty with stairs) beware of being placed in rooms 284-285 (there are a couple of other rooms beyond this that this applies to too) as these are only accessible via a steep flight of steps. We were originally placed in these rooms despite booking a baby crib with our booking. Staff were responsive to my request to move rooms when I pointed out the problem with accessing our room for 7 days with a stroller, but it was a hassle we could've done without after a long journey with two young kids.

Most of our party found the beds a little hard.

Hotel staff seem a bit quick to close the pool at the first sign of rain (even without thunder storms). This was very disappointing with young children but we soon learnt to call the spa and enquire whether the pool was open before making any promises to the kids regarding swimming.

Okay, the positives:
The children did enjoy the special touches the hotel applies as part of the kids package - kiddie linen, special toiletries, books and toys in the room (see photos).

The location is very convenient to Clarke Quay and Chinatown and the MRT, and as it is on the same line as Harbour Front it makes access to Sentosa very easy too.

The children enjoyed the water slides and there is a paddle pool for toddlers.

We used a babysitter from the hotel to look after our son one afternoon so he could take a nap. I had enquired about this service before we booked the hotel and when we arrived they were very accommodating of my request to meet (and interview) the babysitter in advance. Our babysitter was a member of staff and a lovely young lady and my son enjoyed his time with her even if he did refuse to sleep.

Staff were generally professional and friendly.

Room Tip: If requesting a Classic Room request one with two double beds as these seem to be larger (e.g. 373).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloraWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear FloraWood,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have taken note of your comments and informed the respective departments, and we apologise for the oversight and inconvenience caused during your stay.

We are pleased to learn that your children enjoyed the amenities provided in the Kid’s Room, as well as the water slides at the pool. It is also heartening to hear that you are satisfied with the service provided by our babysitter. Thank you for your compliments.

We hope that you and your family had a wonderful time exploring the sights along Clarke Quay, Chinatown and Sentosa.

It is to our utmost pleasure to have you and your family during your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    1,788
    519
    163
    67
See reviews for
1,022
1,685
266
808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is comfortable, clean ,good staff and in a great location.We booked this hotel for 3nights on line.I did not get breakfast online so they offered us breakfast for $30 per person per day for the buffet breakfast, maybe a little bit over the top as you are in a city of many restaurants and outdoor eateries.We were glad we opted not to as we found many different options for breakfast close by at very reasonable prices.This hotel also has a nice pool area and a pleasent gym. it is also a easy walk to China town and the Mrt is next door. The room we got did not have the greatest views, considering some of the great views you could get from this hotel, especially for a 3 night stay, I suppose thats the luck of the draw.all in all , Good comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a View, if thats what you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raider5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear raider5859,

Thank you for your feedback, which will allow us to continuously work on improving our service and offerings. We are glad to hear that you like the pool and gym as well as the proximity to Chinatown.

It was our pleasure to have you and your partner during your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandvika, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Many positives and some negatives:
Great location next to the river, only meters from the board walk with plenty of restaurants. You can walk down to Marina Sands ( 30 min.) or hop on board the taxi boat (10 min.).

I stayed in an Executive room with 7 m2 more space, coffee machine, free wifi and breakfast included. Standard room doesnt have wifi included, always a drawback at larger hotels.
The outdoor pool is also nice with a view down at the river.

All in all a nice stay!

Helpful?
Thank Milk-Sheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Milk-Sheikh,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the amenities provided in the Executive Room.

We hope that you had a great time exploring the sights along Clarke Quay and the Singapore River, and enjoyed the view of the Central Business District on the taxi boat.

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suzhou
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Itˊs good for family taking vacation. Beside the singapore river. There are many restaurants can choice. Everyone can enjoine their holiday at Swisstoel merchant court hotel. We will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Zhizhi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Zhizhi H,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

We hope that you and your family had a great time exploring the sights along Singapore River and got to enjoy the best sights of Singapore’s Central Business District.

It is to our utmost pleasure to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reid
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have been staying at the Merchant Court Hotel for many years (from shortly after it opened) and we love it. The staff are friendly and efficient for what is basically a hotel for business or transit stop overs. It has great facilities and is in a great location. There is a large varied selection of food available for breakfast. Clarke Quay with a multitude of restaurants is a short walk across the bridge, there is an MRT stop right next door (the only way to travel in SIngapore), and it is close to Chinatown (easy walk or one MRT stop). It has a warm feeling to it unlike for example the Mandarin and Novotel where we have stayed previously that were very sterile. We will be staying there again in November this year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthony William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Anthony William B,

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for your kind compliments . It is through your feedback that allows us to continuously improve on our service and offerings, and we are glad that you have enjoyed staying with us over the years.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit in November.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Gorgeous hotel in the heart of Singapore! Elegant and understated. VERY close to restaurants and spa services of Chinatown. Awesome outdoor pool, accommodating staff, and although I'm not a tea drinker, some of the tastiest teas I've ever sampled are complimentary (in room). The beds are like clouds, and although I couldn't wait to get out of it, I really didn't want to! Could've spent the entire time wrapped in those crisp, cool sheets! Can't wait to go back.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakine747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear dakine747,

Thank you for your feedback and compliments.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope you had a great time exploring Clarke Quay and the shops at Chinatown. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool and especially the in-room TWG tea selections.

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

All the employees were very courteous and professional. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are adequate. The location couldn't be better. Your in the center of a lot of sites within walking distance ( 1-2 miles) radius. i.e Clark Quay, Bout Quay, Robertson's Quay, Chimes, Bogis, China Town , the waterfront. The MRT station is right at the hotel. Other locations are not a problem, there is a taxi waiting almost all the time if not a couple minute wait time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear David N,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our service lived up to your expectations.

We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location and hope you had a wonderful time walking to places like Chinatown and Robertson Quay. Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warm regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#48 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#49 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,772 reviews
Furama City Centre
#274 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing