We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A joy to experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #49 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Kyneton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A joy to experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had no great expectations about this hotel as our stay was part of an organised tour itinerary but we were completely enchanted by everything, immediately felt part of the hotel family and thoroughly enjoyed the oriental ambience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Barbara P,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your partner back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,514
    1,627
    496
    156
    65
See reviews for
893
1,490
239
708
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here in March for 3 nights. Decided on this hotel as directly on Clark Quay in the middle of the city. Transfer from airport with Taxi took about 25 minutes, with a small city tour. Our room was on the Executive Floor with free internet and breakfast. The room was very clean and well designed, with a large bathroom and a safe in the wardrobe. Breakfast was a very well stocked Buffet and was super to start the day off. The Staff were all friendly, especially at the Reception. The city tour buses start 5 minutes walk from the Hotel, the underground station was just around the corner and China Town is a ten minute walk away. On our next trip we will definatly stay here.

Room Tip: If your budget allows it go for an executive room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmk22864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Kmk22864,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you and your partner enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to be able to demonstrate better service upon your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was the fourth time that I have visited Singapore, and this time I made a brilliant choice!!! If I visit again, I will definitely stay here.There is nothing to complain about. The location is right on Clarke Quay, with all the night life and dining, and although our room faced towards the pool and the Quay, there was never noise at night.
The staff only want to please, and are polite and professional doing their jobs. The room was excellent, spacious and clean, and modern with all the amenities you would expect, and there was nothing you could want for breakfast that was not supplied. We ate breakfast outside by the side of the Singapore River, and also had dinner at The Blue Potato restaurant alongside the pool, all lit up in the evening.
So, if visiting Singapore just book the Swissotel, Merchants Court... you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcass26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear jcass26,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to be able to demonstrate better service upon your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I would not stay at this hotel again. There are too many other hotel options in Singapore at the same or better prices that are a better value and have nicer rooms and general quality of the facilities

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank johnkrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear johnkrue,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

We sincerely apologise that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please rest assure that we are looking into every area to improve our level of service and facilities.

Once again, we sincerely apologise for all the inconvenience caused and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The guest rooms are showing their age a little bit, especially the bathroom which was a bit 1980's humdrum. Public areas are all very grand, with prices to match in the hotel bar.

Location is spot-on. I've stayed in quite a few parts of Singapore now and I think the Clarke Quay area is my favourite. It's close enough to work in the Raffles Plaza district, close enough to all the touristy bits and right on an MRT station for access to the rest of the city. Which ignores the fact that it's also next to Clarke Quay itself, which is a pretty vibrant part of town, if that floats your boat.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonLaw_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear JasonLaw_UK,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We are heartened to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality. Your feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

After lots of research, chose this hotel due to location and value. We were not disappointed. Our first trip to Singapore and we wanted to see and do as much as possible in our 5 day stay and from this hotel getting everywhere was a breeze! MRT in flash shopping complex next door (MRT is the most amazing, safe and easy way to get around Singapore), Clarke quay on your back doorstep (no roads to cross), river boats that can get you out to Marina bay sands or the flyer for something different, china town 5 minute walk away for fun shopping, eye opening stores and Hawker food stores.

If you are a keen shopper and only have time to do orchard road, you may be disappointed. A trip down this road on the hop on hop off bus, was sufficient for our needs, and as a budget traveller, being closer to china town was more convenient. The MRT gets you there quickly if you had expensive shopping on your itinery.

The concierge were amazing, they treated us as though they were our private travel agents and made getting to the zoo, universal studious etc a breeze.

Some may say the rooms are dated ( probably 'grand' 30 years ago) We thought they were incredibly roomy and comfortable. We had a pleasant view of the pool and limited view of Clarke quay.

Breakfast was amazing in the downstairs buffet, and the staff were incredibly efficient. Every taste was catered for.

We had only one hick up with our stay and that was due to poor communication over their billing policy, which caused a little bit of panic on the first day of our holiday. Fortunately everything went smoothly after this.

Only one complaint. Pillows were very large and hard (we are used to smaller pillows)

Have already recommended this hotel to other travelers on our trip as it is so conveniently located.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denhamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear denhamia,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are pleased to know that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us.

We are heartened to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products. Having said that, we are heartened to hear that you are pleased with the hospitality service provided by the Concierge team. Thank you for the compliment.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bull Creek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Highly recommend this Hotel or any of the Swissotel chains! Staff friendliness and usefulness are second to none! Location is a bit far from main area, but with the MRT located a short walk from the hotel you should look forward to the exercise!




  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Ed P,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are pleased to know that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us.

We are heartened to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our Swiss hospitality. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back again on your next visit to Singapore.


Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Park Regis Singapore
#43 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,581 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#48 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 3,111 reviews
Furama City Centre
#47 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 2,062 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#17 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
#48 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing