We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #33 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
forssa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

a pretty cheap hotel for singapore prices! the maintenance of the hotel is excellent, and the pool is very beautiful, but if youre not rich DON'T order anything from the pool bar. i had a orange juice and it costed 12$ (if i remember correctly). that aside, staff was very helpful and polite, and the hotel is overall worth a 5 star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikko j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear mikko j,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened to know that you had a pleasant stay with us in general. We have duly noted your feedback and will strive to improve and upkeep our level of service and products constantly.

We hope to be able to demonstrate better service upon your next visit to Singapore. Thank you once again for taking time to post your comments.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,947
    1,851
    529
    167
    70
See reviews for
1,087
1,772
276
834
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights, post cruise at the Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore. The hotel's public areas are beautifully decorated in a colonial Singapore style, and the 9th floor room that we stayed in was extremely modern, comfortable and quiet, with views of Clarke Quay and the lagoon. It even had a small deck with chairs. The pool and terrace area looked inviting. The hotel staff was very accomodating and helpful, especially the concierges. The dining room menu has a limited number of western options and seems to be quite weighted toward Asian choices. We ate dinner there one night due to pouring rain. The business center offers computer usage for a not outrageous fee. Free use would be preferable. The hotel location is superb, quite centrally located, across from a mall with a MRT subway station and restaurants (enjoyed one named Swissmade for breakfast), and next to colorful, scenic Clarke Quay, with many restaurants, cafes, bars and the iconic bumboat rides on the lagoon. Be sure and take a boat ride at night, to see the Singapore lights. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor, away from possible Clarke Quay noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear betty485,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our swiss hospitality. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Since this hotel was one of the approved hotels by my co, I chose to stay here. My trip was for 3 weeks. Only after booking the hotel I had a chance to go through the reviews in this site. After reading some poor reviews, i immediately called up the hotel to inquire whether they take notice of such bad reviews. I was told that the hotel mgmt took these reviews seriously and gave me a comfort that I will not face any of these problems. However i could not completely rely on them. When I initially stepped in the hotel, I realized that this hotel cannot be as bad as described in the reviews. They proved me right immediately. I reached SG very early @ 6 am and they standard check in time was 2pm. However the receptionist asked me to wait till they find a room and offered me a complimentary drink. Within 2 hours they provided a club class room and to my surprise the room was very spacious and the bathroom was also very clean and spacious. I see some of the users mentioned that the hotel is very noisy but thats not the case. The breakfast is splendid and the hotel staffs are very courteous. I would advice travellers not to be misguided by few bad reviews. I have spend one full week in this hotel and I am looking forward for my next 2 weeks.

Room Tip: Though some of the rooms have balcony attached to it, there is no doorway to it. Thats the only dull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalajiRaghavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear BalajiRaghavan,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are pleased to know that you are having a pleasant with us. You feedback is important and we will continue to improve in our level services and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation. Wishing you an enjoyable stay in Singapore and hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a classic room which was very spacious and had plenty of storage and a well-appointed bathroom. However there was a musty smell in the room and the carpet was stained and in need of a shampoo or steam clean. Also, we were on a low floor which compromised privacy as people could walk past and look inside through the windows.

The staff was very helpful, attentive and efficient. Check in and check out were easy and any queries we had were dealt with courtesy and assistance. The very-efficient manager in charge of the breakfast room was constantly roaming around, making sure that guests were happy and helping to clean up also.

Although the breakfast caters for all tastes and cultures, the room is in several sections, some sections being quite a distance from the buffet. The bread is separate from the rest of the buffet also, baffling guests.

We used the pool and bar and felt very relaxed in both.

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. It's a few steps to Clarke's Quay, the MRT and Chinatown and Central shopping mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosaposer165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear rosaposer165,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you and your partner and we are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a great location this hotel has. Access directly out onto the river side at Clarke Quay and a 2 min walk to MRT station. Also an easy 10 min stroll into Chinatown.
The hotel itself is pretty good, impressive entrance and foyer area. The room was just as you would expect from a large hotel. Comfortable enough without any fuss.
the buffet breakfast at the hotel was great, although it is very expensive if not included in your package. They did try to charge us for one morning and it was around the $70 mark for 2!
As I said at the start, access to the great area of Clarke Quay directly out from the hotel, with the main bars and restaurants just across the footbridge. Also a 10 min walk down the river and you end up in Boat Quay, a great mix up of cheaper eating options.
Would definitely stay here again if ever back in Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graeme_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Labroy,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our swiss hospitality. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Yes super location MRT station next door shops close and fabulous food along the river and just a great vibe but that's the area not the hotel
This hotel is showing its age it's clean but I would not recommend you eat there breakfast was so so hot food very average and sadly the staff at breakfast were overbearing several times tried to take my husbands plate whilst he was eating very difficult to have a conversation with staff coming to the table all the time.
The beds are extremely hard and we were told they are all the same ,they placed two quilts on top of bed to help did very little
Good wifi service ,pool area nothing special
Would I stay again no would I stay in the area absolutely but I need a newer hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freemedear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear leepop,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We apologise for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay with us. We would like to let you know that your feedback is important to us and we are looking into various ways to improve our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel provides friendly service, super-comfortable accommodation and lovely food. We were also impressed with the offer of shower facilities (even after we had checked out) before we made our way in late afternoon to the airport - and of course, with the humidity in Singapore, a shower waa necessary! Some very helpful advice from a member of the restaurant staff (and it proved to be really good - thanks Aubry!). We are looking forward to our next stay here on our stop-over during our return from New Zealand to the UK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear GerMar60,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you and your partner and we are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,497 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,828 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#51 of 312 in Singapore
3,920 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing