We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected thanks to the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #34 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hotels of these price range are generally about the same compact size in Singapore. The room we got was clean, a tad small but the beds were surprisingly sufficiently comfy and nice for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids. The hotel offered to give us a cot for free and that was nice but we didn't take it because of the lack of space. The room was modern and nicer than Novotel which was just down the road. The pool was nice. The location is perfect for those who like to travel via the MRT and want to enjoy Clarke Quay and the food and array of restaurants which are all within a very short walking distance. Very convenient.

But what was the best thing about Swissotel Merchant were the staff. Most were generally nice and a few were super nice to us and went out of the way to help us out. Hats off to Norashidah Ali and the Burmese concierge (I forgot his name) who really took so much time to help my wife out whenever she needed help on matters which we weren't familiar with in Singapore. In fact we noticed that a lot of the staff came from different parts of the world which was a nice touch. The cleaners were nice Chinese nationals who were extremely helpful whenever you asked them. Of course if you can't speak their language, than it would require some good sign and facial language!

Cheers to Swissotel's management on getting & maintaining such a good team of people together. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Try the rooms facing Clarke Quay or the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickeloodean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Nickeloodean,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you and we are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,202 - 3,208 of 5,131 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days as a single business traveller and I must say while it has everything you need it is actually a rather dreary and depressing place and I think you can do better for the money in singapore.
The advantage of it is its proximity to Boat Quay and Clarke Quay if thats what you want. they are both a very short stroll away.
It has a reasonable gym and the breakfast is the usual expanded buffet. The rooms are OK but certainly not luxury and the whole place just feels as if it is in need of a bit of an upgrade.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear kidwell_james,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We value your valuable feedback which will aid us in improving and upkeeping of our level of service.

We hope to be able to demonstrate upon your next visit to Singapore that we can do much better. Thank you once again for taking time to post your comments. Thank you once again for taking time to post your comments.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed 3 night after our cruise, it was a welcoming place.located at the Clarke Quay where there are lots of things to do and great restaurants. The pool is exquisite, nice landscape and looks like an infinity pool but the jacuzzi was cold. The fitness center had enough machines you can use and it overlooks Clarke Quay and located at the Spa. The room was very clean and spacious, and comfortable bed. They do not provide Internet to all the rooms but there is a local Internet around the corner which cost 2 SG for 1/2 hour as you come out of the front of the hotel you make a right ,then another right. They also hold your luggage and can do a late check out when you leave since a lot of flights are at night. I highly recommend the hotel .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grino44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear grino44,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

We are heartened to learn that you liked the hotel location and our swimming pool. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights from 15th August 2012. The reception staff were helpful and we got checked in very quickly. Our room was large and comfortable, unfortunately the mattress protector had blood stained on it so I asked for this to be changed. The receptionist was apologetic and asked if we'd like to change rooms but I was happy to just have the bed clothes changed which they did promptly. We had no other issues with the cleanliness. I think the Buffett at the hotel restaurant was extremely overpriced and we found that we ate better food at the local hawker centres for a fraction of the price. The hotel swimming pool was lovely and the location was fantastic. Clarke quay is lively and has a great atmosphere and we found it very easy to get everywhere else on the MRT. I would recommend this hotel for a few nights stay as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hampshirer0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear HampshireRoz,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us in general during your trip in August 2012.

Please note that we value your feedback and it is important for us in improving and upkeeping of our level of service.

We hope to be able to demonstrate upon your next visit to Singapore that we can do much better. Thank you once again for taking time to post your comments.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed four nights on business. Right next to all the action on Clarke Quay. Great pool, although they really soak you for a beer ($S14) and won't let you bring your own (7-Eleven next door much more reasonable). Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Clean, large rooms some with great views of the quay. Next door is a shopping mall with nice food court downstairs. Will definitely stay there again when I'm Singapore.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear JimVT,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

We are heartened to learn that you liked the hotel location and our guest room during your stay in November. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights on a Singapore/Melaka holiday. We have used this hotel several times because of the location by the river, Chinatown and MRT. The deal with CleverHotels was very good as it included breakfast at a very small extra cost to other sites which were room only.
Some good new bars on the riverside just next to hotel, Sque was very good, nice food and great drink/happy hour deals. Nice pool area and excellent breakfasts, room was clean and spacious and they let you use the spa changing facilities with towels etc. if you have a late flight home.
No downside to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear John S,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are glad to be of service to you and your partner and we are glad to learn that you liked the hotel location and facilities in general.

Your positive feedback is important to us and will help us in constantly improving our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the moment I check to the moment I left I felt like I was at home. I do not know how this is not 5 star.
Everyone was so friendly and the service was excellent. The room was so comfortable and great views of Singapore.
I couldn't find fault with anything and I will definitely be back there next time I stay in Singapore.
Every member of staff I dealt with were so friendly and anything I asked they went out of their way to help.
Location was great and everything you could walk to.
Thanks for a great stay and my 2 great night sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNK883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear JNK883,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you during your business trip in November and we are pleased to learn that you liked the hotel location and service.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#24 of 317 in Singapore
3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
3,888 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#54 of 317 in Singapore
4,581 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#61 of 317 in Singapore
4,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Family Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $159 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing