We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right by lots of restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #38 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Right by lots of restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel room was large and clean but I've given 4 stars as the bathroom was way past its best. If we had been staying longer than 2 nights I wouldn't have been pleased. This hotel is right by Clarke Quay, we had stayed near the Orchard Road a few weeks before and struggled to find restaurants that were open late (8pm). This was ideal for us so that after a day sight seeing we could go for a leisurely drink before eating. There are lots of good restaurants to choose from and a great atmosphere wondering along the Quay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Emma Snow,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us in general.

Please note that your feedback is important to us for constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service and products.

We hope to be able to demonstrate upon your next visit to Singapore that we can do much better. Once again, we thank you for having chosen Swissôtel Merchant Court as your accommodation in Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,782
    1,775
    517
    163
    67
See reviews for
1,010
1,663
263
801
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Don't know why my agent picked such an extravagant hotel in this extravagant city.
For some reason I was bumped up to the executive 12th floor but I have such poor taste in such matters the room did not seem any better than the cheapest I have had (Bangkok's Ibis Huamark (now 4seasons) at around 10 times cheaper.
TV selection was limited - much less than Huamark and vastly less than Manila cable - tho' I did see golf on 2 channels, which Bangkok's Rembrandt could not provide.
Gym and pool were OK - in fact the poolside was quite attractive!
Huge ground floor with useful shop, coffee bar and seating areas.
Large breakfast dining area but the chef was clearly not in his element providing American/UK/Continental deep-fried junk food. In fact the watery/creamy scrambled eggs were the worst I have ever had. Did find steamed rice but chef would not provide chicken as he claimed the chicken sausage would suffice. I disagree as one can never tell the provenance of such items. His attitude contrasted with Best Western, Boracay, Philippines (about 6* cheaper) where a waiter provided me with boiled rice (as I don't fancy fried stuff) and Adobo chicken.
Picturesque view of canal and Singapore's 'Big Eye'.
Very quiet, sedate area. Indeed the whole of Singapore that I say was very serene/ordered/composed/intelligent. Just can't imagine any road rage, drunkenness or rowdiness - tho' I am sure there are rascals in abundance as it is an avaricious, mercenary city.
Vastly over priced. The breakfast mentioned is charged at about £20 but was part of the package so I made the best of it.

Room Tip: Sorry, I might get sued!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear mcarchy,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We value your valuable feedback which will aid us in improving and upkeeping of our level of service.

We hope to be able to demonstrate our high level of service that you would have expected in your next visit to Singapore. Thank you once again for taking time to post your comments.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have visited Singapore 4 times in the last 18 months with my young family. Usually we stay in the Colonial district, but thought this time we would try somewhere different. Looked at Clarke Quay, and decided on the Swissotel Merchant Court. The location is fantastic, right amongst all the colour, lights and hubbub of Clarke Quay. Plenty of choices of restaurants along both sides of the river, easy walking distance for small legs (a lazy 6 yo!). Brewerks right next door. Across the road in the Central shopping mall is the MRT, Starbuck's, Burger King etc. A plesant 15 min walk along the river to the Merlion. We had 2 interconnecting rooms, both quite spacious, on the 3rd floor. Very quiet, didn't notice any noise from Clarke Quay. We were given a "kids room special" rate, with a significant discount for the second room. Try to book as early as possible to secure this deal, as it is very popular. The hotel emailed us before hand to gauge the ages of my two children (9/6 yo) so they could tailor the room. When we arrived, the boys room had space themed doonas, soft toys, board games etc, they loved it. They were both given NUI NUI which is a stuffed toy cow (symbol of the Merchant Court!) to take home.

Check in was very quick by Singapore standards, which is a great bonus with small kids after a long flight. Staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. The pool is great, with 2 water slides, and a toddlers wading pool as well. Excellent view of the Quay from the pool. The Market Cafe and Blue Potatoe (poolside) have very good food, but a bit expensive. Try the shopping malls across the road, or the excellent supermarket across the river, below the Novotel if your are on a budget.

Lau Pa Sat only a short taxi ride away. China Town 1 stop along the MRT. We will be definetly be staying here again for our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlburyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear AlburyAussie,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

We are heartened to learn that you liked the hotel location and our guest rooms. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Currently staying at the swissotel merchant court, this is our third stay here in 3 years and once again we have received terrific service from the staff, we were a little early for check in and were given welcome drink vouchers to use at the bar while waiting, we were only waiting approx. 25mins when the check in staff member brought us our door cards and also informed us due to my wifes dissabilty we were upgraded to executive room with walk in shower, coffee machine, king size comfortable bed and free internet, shortly after arriving in our room a staff member brought us a welcome back card from management and some lovely swiss chocolates, to some people this hotel may look old and in need of uplifting but to my wife and I we love this hotels decor and it has a charm about it and hope it stays this way, the 2 ladies in the gift shop are really lovely and very helpful and have a lovely range of goods at reasonable prices, as other t/as have stated the location is ideal at clarke quay,mrt station opposite in central mall, china town 5mins walk away and orchard rd. 5mins away by taxi, we have stayed in other hotels in singapore before staying here but the swissotel merchant court has been our first choice for our last 3 trips and will continue to be number one.

Room Tip: executive rooms have more benefits
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear aussie010,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are glad to be of service to you and your partner and we are glad to learn that you liked the hotel location and facilities in general.

Your positive feedback is important to us and will help us in constantly improving our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Swissotel, Merchant Court on the way to Spain, and again on our return. The welcome we received and the attention showered on us felt sincere and reflected a desire to be genuinely helpful. Staff gave the impression of pride in their work and pride in their hotel. Our room was quiet, well appointed and had a king size bed. Breakfast was included in our room tarriff and was a good quality buffet. Special requests such as individualised omelettes, poached or fried eggs were available. The hotel is well situated with Clarke Quay and MRT (Metro) a very short walk from the hotel. Clark Quay provides the opportunity for a huge range of dining experiences.
We really enjoyed the hotel and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Mel P,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you and your partner and we are pleased to learn that you liked the hotel location and our breakfast buffet.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is located next to Clarke Quay, i.e. very close to the financial district and tourist hangouts along the river. I had an "executive room", which was rather spacious, very clean and with all amenities you'd expect from a hotel in this class (air-co, TV, fridge, safe, etc.), including free internet. The view from the room is nothing special; the bathroom was OK, but what really annoyed me was the fact that neither the height nor the direction of the shower head could be adjusted. Instead there was a fixed slot to hang the shower head in, which then sprayed the water all over the place. Really poor in my opinion for a room that's 200+ USD per night. Breakfast is served in the restaurant below or in the case of an executive room at the same floor. That may sound nice, but it also means you have other "executives" loitering in the corridor in the early morning. A nuisance if you want to sleep a bit longer. All in all a very standard 4* hotel, with some potential for improvement, either in terms of price or in terms of room quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear m1508,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We do apologise for the unpleasant experience which you have encountered during your stay.

Please note that we have taken steps to make sure that there will be no recurrence, so as to upkeep and improve our level of service. We hope to be able to have the chance to welcoming you and your family back to demonstrate our high level of service that you have expected.

Once again, we thank you for having chosen Swissôtel Merchant Court as your accommodation in Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was my second visit to Merchant Court Hotel and I wasn't disappointed. The location is one of it's best assets: very close to China Town and Clarke Quay/MRTs. The welcome on your first visit and every day when you enter/leave the hotel is lovely. The rooms are comfortable and relatively quiet. The bathroom is getting ready for an upgrade but it's perfectly acceptable. We had a breakfast included in the price and it was very good: great choice, good service. The cocktail bar in the hotel is nice and well staffed. Overall we loved it and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Michelle T,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our pleasure to be of service to you and your partner. We are happy to learn that you liked the hotel breakfast and location.

Your positive feedback is important to us, which serves as an encouragement for us to constantly improve our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#45 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#46 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing