We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with the typical international hotel traits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #34 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with the typical international hotel traits”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This hotel is part of an international chain of properties, and is nice enough (with all the services and conveniences) but lacks the character that some of the smaller, boutique hotels can offer. First impressions are good, with an immaculate appearance from the outside and from the inside foyer area. All very large and spacious, with the foyer containing a large reception counter, a concierge station, sitting areas and a lounge bar. Outside they have their own driveway and offloading point and there are usually taxis waiting out on the road. (NB: The hotel is opposite a shopping centre and walking distance to others, the riverfront and many eating places and bars.)

Unfortunately, I arrived about 1:30am and was not met nor helped with my luggage from the taxi to reception. My initial thoughts were, “the place may look nice, but the service is lacking from the start”. This was a disappointing start, as I was really tired and exhausted from travelling and could’ve done with assistance with my bags. This was the only service fault experienced throughout my stay. Check in was procedural and took only a few minutes, and then I was escorted to my room by the porter via one of the large elevators.

My room was one of the mid-range styles on the 9th floor, well presented, modern looking and very clean, but not very big. The room consisted of an entrance way which contained the tea & coffee station (inclusive of a coffee machine), minibar, drinks, snacks and glasses etc. all kept on a cabinet, followed by the bedroom area with an ensuite off to the side. The bedroom had a comfortable, king size bed (though the pillows were atrocious – lucky enough they have a pillow menu....which the choices are free [one of the few additional services that are]), two bedside tables with a central control console for the electrics, two wall mounted lamps (which also have the flexible reading lights), a large, wall mounted, flat screen TV, a small desk, and an office style chair. The desk had an internet connection, which costs extra to use (another element of profiteering by international hotels), a desk lamp and a telephone.

The ensuite was very clean and functional, but relatively small. It had a western style toilet, a vanity area with a sink, mirror, hair dryer, complimentary items and a wall mounted, moveable vanity/make up mirror, and a shower in bath with a towel rack at the end.

I didn’t use any of the restaurants or other hotel’s facilities, besides a couple of room service dinners. The choices are limited, and late evening dining is restrictive even further. The costs are fairly high, the wait time is minimal and the quality is pretty good, but there are much better options overall, outside along the river.

Overall, this hotel is very nice, but it is expensive and definitely not a bargain (if that’s what you’re after or chasing). I would look at trying another hotel if I visit Singapore again, but if I had to return to this one I wouldn’t be disappointed. I am recommending this hotel to others if looking for an international style one, but not highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DJEargasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,952
    1,855
    529
    167
    70
See reviews for
1,092
1,774
276
835
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times now and found its location to be excellent, central for shops bars/restaurants, china town etc. Staff do their best to check you in early (ideal if you have landed on an early morning flight). Hotel is clean and comfortable,staff very pleasant and breakfast selection very good. If we have the good fortune to pass through singapore again this will be the hotel we choose.

Room Tip: River view rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joby128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Merchant Court is a good hotel in a great location just next to Clarke Quay. The rooms are clean and plenty big enough and the staff are all very efficient and pleasant. Breakfast is good but try to avoid sitting beneath the aircon units.

If we return to Singapore we will return to Merchant Court.

As with most hotels beware of the mini bar and the in house restaurant The Blue Potato is not as expensive as you would expect.

For soft drinks buy in the shop in the foyer a lot less money than the mini bar or bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewHookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at the Mechant Court in Nov/Dec 2011 It is a lovely hotel in a great location. Staff were always willing to assist in anyway they could. I stupidly left my jewellery in the room and went onto Sidney. After discovering that I had left my jewellery at the hotel. I contacted the hotel and it had been handed in and was in the hotel safe. I cannot praise the staff enough especially Sooyon who went to extreme lenths to return the items to me. I now have the jewellery returned and express my sincere thanks for the honest member of staff and the managements efforts in returning them. I would not hesitate to stay at this Hotel again, it is withdoubt a 5 star both for facilitys, location, not forgetting the lovely staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lenaseddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed for 8 nights and experienced comfort, efficiency, convenience and excellent service.
Was ungraded to Advantage Room which was a pleasant bonus. Undercovered walk to & from the Clarke Quay MRT station and this is a huge plus given the relatively hot and humid weather in Singapore. Location of hotel affords convenient transportation options - MRT, taxi stand outside hotel and even local buses if so inclined. Used the MRT on several instances and it was simply convenient. Had to use a cab one early morning (4.30 am) and there were a couple of cabs at the taxi stand!
The friendly and cheerful welcome extended by the hotel check-in staff was comforting and appreciated after a long flight from Sydney. The efficient disposition and service of the hotel staff helped made my stay a relaxing one. The room was made up daily to a high standard which I come to expect from the Swiss hotel chain. Quality personal care products were provided in the bathroom and this is important for dermatological reason, in my opinion.
The central location of hotel offers easy excess to all parts of Singapore and the proximity of clubs, cafes, restaurants and even an across the road shopping centre provides guests at Merchant Court plenty of options for dining, drinking and shopping. The hotel swimming pool offers a cool respite and oasis from the bustling Singapore and nearby 'Blue Potato' has drinks on offer if one is so inclined.
Chinatown, central business district and Raffles City are within walking distances and local dining options are aplenty. For local hawker food, a comfortable 5 minute walk to Hong Lim Food Centre will see you drooling over some of the renowned dishes on offer where the locals even travel to, to savour. One will have to contend with the office lunch crowd and will be well advised to patronise the stalls outside of the peak hours of 12 noon to 1.30 pm on weekdays.
The overall hotel decor is welcoming without being over the top and Merchant Court certainly provides very good customer service all round. Amenities are adequate and probably in the not too distant future, some form of upgrading (re-painting over cracks in walls, etc) may be necessary to stay competitive in the tight accommodation market.
I'd recommend Merchant Court and would use this hotel for future stays.

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the hotel pool and it provides a quieter ambiance (away from the public ro...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ASWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

The hotel is located in a great location directly next to Clarke Quay and directly opposite access to MRT. The rooms are clean spacious, safe and comfortable.

Even though the hotel is situated next to Clarke Quay which is filled with restaurants, bars and night clubs you do not hear a mouse squeak once in the hotel.

The room I stayed in which was just a standard room consisted of a hall entrance large bathroom with bath, desk area, large bed and a balcony. A TV and safe are also in the room.

You need a room key to access your floor from the lobby lift which adds to extra safety.

There is a spa and a pool area which looked good, however i did not use the pool so cannot comment. I used the spa on the final day which was clean and offered a range of services gym treatments steam room and sauna.

The MRT North East line is directly over the road and takes about 3 to 5 minutes to get from street level to platform level. If MRT isn't your prefer mode of transport then the hotel staff can get you a taxi outside within seconds and at no additional hotel charge.
The hotel is only a 2 minute stroll to Clarke quay, 15 minute walk to China Town and a 5 minute taxi ride to Marina Bay. If you wish to go to Sentosa Island it takes 15 minutes including waiting time from the hotel and is easy to get to via MRT and monorail. the concierge will provide you with perfect simple instructions.

Plus side
Large Rooms
Great Location
Great Staff
Very Safe
Midday check out standard
And even after check out you can use the spa, pool area and changing room including showers.
Free storage of luggage until ready to leave.

There are a few downsides
The breakfast and room service is expensive
Limited channels on the TV and not flat screen
Only one lift lobby area consisting of 4 lifts. Even though these are large depending which part of the hotel your room is located you can either have a short walk or 2 minute walk.

Big Tip
There is a great little shop within the main lobby of the hotel and provides good value for money. And take an umbrella with you as it rains once a day if only for 30 minutes.
If you only do one thing in Singapore make it Sentosa.

p.s the bed is very firm which does not suit me but this is personal taste and has not influenced review..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulgriffuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed at the Swissotel Merchant Court in August 2011 and it was brilliant. The location was second to none, literally a minute walk to Clarke Quay where there are loads of bars and restaurants. The metro station is right next to the hotel where it was only a few stops from most of the other main attractions in Singapore.

The room was great, nice and big and the staff were very polite and helpful. The decor was modern and well looked after. The swimming pool overlooked Clarke Quay which was beautiful at night. We didn't try the buffet breakfast as it was pretty expensive compared to places outside the hotel where it was dead cheap.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again next time I am in Singapore and recommend it to anyone who is visiting the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#50 of 312 in Singapore
3,503 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,841 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#20 of 312 in Singapore
2,814 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#51 of 312 in Singapore
3,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing