We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay at The Stamford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #68 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
MADRID
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay at The Stamford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed at Swissötel The Stamford with my family in 2009 during F1 GP on the 40th floor. Staff were helpful and friendly. We went in harbour view room which was the best for the F1.
The location is great, because you have everything on hand.
The breakfast was luxurious with a large range of dishes.
I highly recommended to stay at The Stamford, specially if you are travelling for an event like F1. Best choice!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank VIAJEROSMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Dear VIAJEROSMadrid,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore and thank you for your unstinting support and encouraging compliments.

We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, on many more occasions in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,332
    2,790
    954
    299
    169
See reviews for
2,064
2,105
462
1,992
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed for one week in the Stamford in Singapore. When you book a room in the executive floors (some floors around 60th), you have a private check-in in floor 60, where also the executive lounge is situated. The rooms are quite large and the bed is very comfortable. Really special and surprising was the possibility to use the open balcony (seperate for every room) - you have an outstanding view from there.
Breakfast is served in the executive lounge, which could be really crowded since it is not a very large hall - but the ambience is quite private. The choices of food is okay. In the afternoon (04.00-07.00 p.m.??) there is a happy hour with free drinks and some finger food - really nice.
The most spectacular view is presented in the Equinox-Restaurants and bars in the top floors of the hotel - this is by far the best way to end a busy day and relax with some friends (and some cocktails...).
The staff is friendly and helpful.
The gym is well and modern equipped and there are really a lot of treadmills and other execise machines.
One of large shopping mall starts direct in the ground floor of the hotel (Raffles City) and you can walk from the hotel underground to the Esplanade and to other shopping malls. Also Boat Quay and Clarke Quay are in walking distance (aboveground).
All in all a really good and remarkable hotel in a remarkable city!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cahorsGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Dear cahorsGermany,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are thrilled that you had enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experiences with all.

Our spacious rooms offer the most stunning views of Singapore, some might even say they could touch the heavens!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, on many more occasions in the near future, and in delivering the precise and attentive service that remain the hallmark of Swissôtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, since 1998. Every time I stay I always have an enjoyable experience. The hotel is in a perfect location above a shopping centre and underground station, making it an ideal place for sight-seeing all of Singapore. The views from the hotel bedrooms are outstanding and generally the room decoration is very good. The rooms seems to get better as the floors get higher. I have used the club lounge many times and have found the breakfast and evening cocktails excellent, with prompt, personalized service. One evening I requested a DVD player for my bedroom and it was delivered within 5 minutes. The hotel has some great restaurants, especially the restaurant at the top of the hotel, with outstanding views I enjoyed a very memorable dinner. The swimming pool is nice and the spa is excellent, with a wide choice of services available. I have taken friends to this hotel and also stayed with my parents, all loved the hotel and had memorable stays.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s_pearceHoChiMinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Dear s_pearceHoChiMinh,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for choosing us to be your preferred venue of accommodation and for your unwavering support all these years. We take a lot of pride to deliver what we promise and beyond. Most importantly, we are delighted that you, your family and friends take home fond memories of an unforgettable experience with us, and to top it all, for taking the time to share your experiences with all.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, many more times in the not too distant future and we will continue to deliver the highest standard of renowned Swiss hospitality that you have now come to associate with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

I had stayed at the Swiisotel last year and had really enjoyed the rooms and views. However, this time, I booked a week's stay with young children and was given a room where the bathtub was chipped (in 7 places- am not exaggerating - has to be seen to be believed!). Similar to many reviews here, the room was old, drab and seen better days. I have NEVER been to a hotel where they will allow guests into a bathroom with chipped enamel. I rang to change the room and in their defence, the hotel very quickly changed our room and was very apologetic. It seems like the "luck of the draw" with Swissotel, as my previous stay I got a really nice room. There appears to be rooms that are newly furnished (which was probably what I got in previous stay) and rooms that are old. I think for anyone to call this 5 star and ask for S$300 (without tax) and hope and pray you get one of the newer rooms is really a pity. The pros of Swissotel are that the MRT is right downstairs, plentiful foodcourts, nice and friendly staff, GREAT breakfast buffet with Western,Singapore, Japanese, (one of the best buffets I have been to). The staff are also to be commended as being friendly and courteous. Taxis were so easy to get, right outside the hotel and guests have priority. Once we changed rooms, we had a really great stay as the hotel is actually really nice - just make sure you ask for the NEW rooms!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bugsy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Dear bugsy12,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore! We are honoured and privileged to have you reside with us during your sojourn in the lion city.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Your needs are our utmost priority and we take immense pride in anticipating and exceeding all of them to create a unique, memorable experience. We will, however, not rest on our laurels and will continue to upgrade our guestrooms and furnishings to deliver the highest standard of excellence. On another note, we are pleased that you had enjoyed our service.

We look forward to welcome you back to Swissôtel The Stamford in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

I first visited this hotel on my first trip to Asia back in 1991 when it was the Westin and I have come back at intervals ever since. It is still THE most convenient in Singapore for business because it is linked directly to the MRT so one can get to Raffles Place (the main business district) totally undercover (it rains a lot) withouth having the hassle of waiting for taxis. It's a busy, but very serviceable hotel and somehow doesn't seem as touristy as some of the others although it's plainly also pitched at that market as well as business. The rooms are pretty simple, but with a good flat screen TV and if you are lucky, or ask nicely you can get one with a great view over the cricket pitch and towards the downtown area. All rooms (I think) have balconies although do beware as I inadvertently got locked out once! Breakfast at the cafe is pretty hectic. The bathrooms could do with a bit of tweaking but overall I keep coming back here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, April 4, 2010
Dear FSHK,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore and thank you for your valuable comments.

We would like to express our gratitude for your unwavering support all these years. We are deeply honoured to be of service to you.

Your needs are our utmost priority and we take immense pride in anticipating and exceeding all of them to create a unique, memorable experience. We will, however, not rest on our laurels and will continue to upgrade our guestrooms, furnishings and services to deliver the highest standard of excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, on many more occasions in the near future, and in delivering the precise and attentive service that remain the hallmark of Swissôtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
328 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

Very nice hotel located in Raffles City next door to the Raffles Hotel, good location walking distance to Clarke Quay and the Singapore Wheel.

The hotel is part of the Raffles City Shopping Mall and shares a pool with the Fairmont Hotel which is part of the same development.

We mainly used the buses which were located behind the hotel site to get around at a cost of S$1, we prefer to be above ground to see the sites, but the MRT station is right by the hotel.

Staff were very good and attentive the rooms were large and very well equipped we had the buffet breakfast which had a lot of choice, we did have to queue up one morning as we arrived at the same time as a couple of hundred guests using the convention centre.

Overall a great hotel in a good location and one I would return to again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
Dear KevinLondon,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and are privileged to receive your precious feedback.

Internationally recognised by business travellers and leisure tourists alike, Swissôtel The Stamford is Asia’s leading conference hotel, a great testament towards its passion for perfection in delivering quality service and excellence, which we believe, are keys to achieving the highest level of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

The company put me on the club floor of this hotel. The room was nice, with a good bed and 'helicopter views' from my 59th floor balcony. Then the frustrations began. After checking in, it took 2 hours to get internet to work. One day I had a small meeting in my room and asked for some extra chairs. The ones they delivered were filthy (see pics). In the middle of the meeting I called their ‘personal valet’ to ask for an extra wine glass. It took 30 minutes and 3 phone calls to get it delivered. This place is big on promise, short on delivery.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
Dear Alex_Tallinn,

Thank you for choosing to reside with us at Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore.

We are very grateful for your valuable feedback and would like to express our sincere regrets for the inconveniences caused during your stay with us. We are deeply concerned that we have failed to live up to your expectations. Please be assured that we have not only taken note of your comments but will address them by looking into every minute detail in improving every aspect of our service.

Once again, our sincere apologies for your experience. We strongly believe we have the vital components in place to provide consistent quality service and products, and hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back during your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,616 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#50 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,871 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#48 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,366 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#62 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing