We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in (almost) every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #67 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Excellent in (almost) every way”
Reviewed February 13, 2010

This may not be the newest hotel in Singapore, but it is definatly one of the best. The location at city hall MRT station means you don't need to change any metro lines when you arrive from Changi Airport. Service was faultless throughout the hotel.
The pool is large and the spa and sauna centre are amongst the best I have experienced in a city business hotel. All rooms have a spacious balcony to take in the marvelous views of the city.

The only two minor problems were:
1) The gym equipment is outdated.
2) The Breakfast room is very sunny. The way it is constructed makes it impossible to cool so its best to have breakfast with your shorts and thongs on and then go back to your room, shower and wear your suit or else you will sweat the entire day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Not Your B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, March 12, 2010
Dear Yerevan75,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you loads for your generous compliments and we are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We have also taken note of your comments about our Gym and Cafe Swiss. Thank you again for letting us know.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, many more times in the not too distant future and we will continue to deliver the highest standard of renowned Swiss hospitality that you have now come to associate with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,416
    2,870
    975
    305
    173
See reviews for
2,116
2,165
474
2,042
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,601)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Booked an Executive Room on the upper floors and was looking forward to the view. Upon opening the door to the room, the worst smell of tobacco rushed out of the room. After going downstairs to change to a Non-Smoking room, I was told there were none available and the manager was bent on getting someone to 'freshen up the room'. Finally after threatening to leave the hotel, a room magically opened up! Then I heard a few under the breath comments about how I should have specified a Non-Smoking room during the booking. Actually my office booked the room for me and they were never asked!

Besides the awkward treatment, the room had great views and I was impressed with the gym. Also, great access to the subway, so two-and-a-half stars rounded up to three.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jda_fortune500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Dear jda_fortune500,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We would like to express our gratitude to you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford as your preferred venue of accommodation and in investing valuable time to share with us your constructive feedback. We are happy to hear that you loved the view from your room and our gym facilities.

On a different note, your experience with the room move is definitely not the service standards that we wish to extend to our guests and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Rest assured we will look into your feedback and carry out corrective measures to attain unsurpassed personalised and attentive service.

We hope that you would not let this isolated incident mar your otherwise favourable impression of us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

old and expencive hotel, great views, 70´ floor restaurant average and even hotel guest must pay if you want "window table"

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramirannikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Dear ramirannikko,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore as your preferred venue of accommodation. We are honoured and privileged to have you reside with us during your sojourn in the lion city.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2010

The furnishing is very dated. The room I stayed in is not really set up with the business traveller in mind. There are few wall outlets. The ones next to the bed are hidden behind a table. The intenet is glacially slow. It is one of the slowest I have experienced and I have been in countries that are nowhere near as developed as Singapore. Even the TV remote is weird. The off button is actually the on button. The phone operator who explained it to me apologized profusively. The few strands of grass they left in a basthroom vase is brown and withered.

For the price of this room, I am very disappointed. If not for the fact that the view outside the room is of a well built cityscape, I would have thought that I am in a developing country. This is a shame and an embarressment.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbynecessity_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Dear Travelbynecessity_10,

Thank you for choosing to reside with us at Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore. We are honoured and privileged to have you stay with us during your sojourn in the lion city.

We are very grateful for your valuable feedback and would like to express our sincere regrets for any inconveniences or discomfort caused during your stay with us. We are deeply concerned that we have failed to live up to your expectations. Please be assured that we have not only taken note of your comments but will address them by looking into every minute detail in improving every aspect of our service.

Once again, our sincere apologies for your unpleasant stay. We strongly believe we have the vital components in place to provide consistent quality service and products, and hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back during your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Stayed at these hotel in Dec 2009 before and after our cruise. The location was fantastic...had a great time..

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvndrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Dear lvndrgrl,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, on many more occasions in the near future, and in delivering the precise and attentive service that remain the hallmark of Swissôtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Could not fault this hotel in any way. We had a room on the 44th floor and the view was 'out of this world'. Room was spacious and clean and quiet. Service was excellent in all areas of the hotel. Breakfast variety was exceptional. Would highly recommend this hotel for a luxury stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roomwithaview44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
Dear oomwithaview44,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore as your preferred venue of accommodation.

We are very grateful for your valuable compliments and are delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. At Swissôtel The Stamford, we constantly strive to provide the highest standards of personalised service to our guests. Sensitive to your every need, we will continue to provide immaculate service to create an unparalleled experience and make your stay with us a truly memorable one.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

This hotel is the tallest we've stayed in. 70 floors in all, we were on the 54th floor city view. Very helpful and friendly staff from check in to departure. Room was very dated - seems like no refurbishment has been done for a very long time. Dated but clean and mostly adequate. Telephones weren't working properly. Only had 1 bedside table on one side, the other had none which was rather inconvenient. We were only there 1 night, and booked in there for the novelty of the height and we weren't disappointed. Go to the bar on the 70th floor - you don't need to buy a drink to take photos or just look at the view (you pay a premium for drinks up there). Probably will not return as there are plenty of hotels in Singapore better than this for the same money. We paid S$265 inclusive of tax for 1 night. Good experience though.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenbeanpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
Dear karenbeanpole,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We would like to thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford as your preferred venue of accommodation. It is our privilege to be of service to you.

Please be assured that the hotel is continuously refurbishing our guestrooms as well as furnishings to deliver the best lifestyle experience possible. However, due to the enormous magnitude of this 73-storey deluxe hotel, these upgrades are currently being carried out in stages. We seek your kind understanding on this. We also would like to apologise for the telephone in your room, not working properly.

On a different note, we are pleased that you had enjoyed our hospitality through our friendly colleagues.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with us again at Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,838 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#58 of 312 in Singapore
3,843 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 312 in Singapore
2,193 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#47 of 312 in Singapore
5,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing