We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in a brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #66 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in a brilliant location”
Reviewed December 3, 2009

A really high quality international hotel in a brilliant location. The MRT and many bus routes radiate from the area around the hotelcity. The Raffles Shopping Centre is aprt of the complex and and the regenerated Marina Bay area is a few minutes walk away.
the hotel is first class. Service was impeccable. Our room on the 64th floor gave amazing views. It was quiet, really comfy and spacious. The downside is that it is not a cheap hotel but quality and location doesn't come cheap. Nor did it have any character. It could have been a first class hotel in any city in the world. Did not use the catering/restaurant facilities of the hotel preferring to go out. With numerous outlets covering every taste and price bracket literally a few steps from the hotel entrance this was not a problem.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, December 19, 2009
Dear AndyEngland,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are very grateful for your valuable compliments and are delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We constantly strive to provide the highest standards of personalised service to our guests. Your needs are our utmost priority and we take immense pride in anticipating and exceeding all of them to create a unique, memorable experience.

We look forward to your kind patronage to Swissôtel The Stamford in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,377
    2,825
    961
    302
    171
See reviews for
2,083
2,136
472
2,011
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,590)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
semarang
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Stayed at this hotel from Oct 28th-Nov 1st. All i can say is that the room was great and clean. I didn't try the pool, but from my window it looked really tempting.The view was really nice.... from my 22nd floor room, really indulged on it! Not an everyday scene you get everyday from your window. One downfall was that the room didn't get any free internet connection, so my Husband had to pay SGD 28/day. Well it was worth it, because we had some business back home that required us to use the internet.

A lot of Qantas Flight member crew were staying there also. They seem to be a regular customer.

Overall, we loved our stay... loved the breakfast...loved the convenient location near the MRT(plus plus plus). Would stay there again.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank banyuwangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, December 19, 2009
Dear banyuwangi,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are pleased to learn that your stay went well and you had enjoyed yourself. Great to know that you have us in mind the next time you visit lovely Singapore again. Hope it'll be soon!

We look forward to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonta, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

A very convenient location.
Wonderful views of Singapore from the upper floors.
A most comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, December 19, 2009
Dear Libbo03,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for your comments/recommendations to all. We have one of the best location & views to offer and seeing is believing! We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

I stayed two nights recently in a Club Room on Level 69 at the Swissotel Stamford.
View was fantastic. Bed and in-room amenities, including bathroom, showing their age and very dusty in some parts of the cupboard. A packet of M&M's in the fridge had grown mould.
A hot club breakfast would leave a lot to be desired - but for simple cereal and toast, it was fine.
Staff hospitality was very good.
Stay for the view and the location, not the room itself.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_in_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 28, 2009
Dear traveller_in_oz,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are glad that you had enjoyed our service and the great views we offer. On a different note, we are also concerned with the other issues which you have mentioned. This has highlighted that there exists an opportunity for more intensive training on our part.

We would like to thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and hope we will have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We had a 26 hour stopover in Singapore on the way back from Thailand where we had 2 weeks for our honeymoon. It was my new husbands birthday so I wanted it to be special. We had visited the New Asia Bar (which is impressive) on the 70th floor of the Stamford 3 yrs earlier during a world trip, so I though it would be nice to stay there. Check in was ok and we got vouchers (through Singapore Airlines) for 50% of breakfast...just as well as it would of cost over £20 each for some fruit and scrambled eggs! The room was disaponting..decor was very 80s, mould and mildew around the bath and shower, other than that it seemed clean enough. All we wanted was a good nights kip before the long day the next day..we werent flying back to the UK untill midnight the next day and needed to be well rested.....my husband got about 4 hours sleep and i got around 3..the bed was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor..correction..the floor was softer I know coz that were I ended up! I had to use the spare pillows and create a make shift matteress! at 2am I did think about calling reception but I would be really unhappy if I got moved and ALL the beds were that bad! Hubby prefers a firmer bed but OMG it was just so hard. On check out I mentioned the uncomfortable nights sleep and all I got was 'thanks for the feedback' so we spent the next 13 hours yawning!! The good point was free use of the Hospitaily Suite to freshen up before our bus came for us at 8.30pm.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKsNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear TheKsNewcastle,

Thank you for choosing to reside with us at Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We would like to express our heartfelt apologies for your unpleasant experience in our guestrooms. Please be assured that the hotel is continuously refurbishing our guestrooms as well as furnishings to deliver the best lifestyle experience possible. However, due to the enormous magnitude of this 73-storey deluxe hotel, these upgrades are currently being carried out in stages. We seek your kind understanding on this.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with all. We hope that you will give us another chance to make it up to you.

Should we be able to have your arrival details in advance, now that we know your preference for a softer mattress, we will be able to change the existing firm mattress with a softer one.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

I booked a (Grande) room for myself, the Leader of the Opposition (Missus), and the Minister for Frivolous Spending (11YO Daughter) for two nights 17th-18th Nov. via Zuji, and we were all very happy with the price we managed to get it for. So far, so good.
We arrived at reception on check-in, and noticed a distinct air of apprehension re the provision of accommodation for our nipper. She (the 11YO) has stayed at Fairmonts/Marriotts/Hiltons/Sheratons down to basic Days Inn/Holiday Inns all over the world, and is extremely familiar with the behaviour required at whatever "star" level of facility we stay at. She can mix it with the cleaning lady at the Days Inn in Jamaica, or converse openly with the concierge at the Fairmont in Victoria, B.C.....but, it would appear that there is a concern with having children in the suites at the Stamford in Singapore.
We managed to get a trundle bed to our suite (6562) for our daughter, and the staff were extremely helpful with most aspects of our stay, but whenever I went for a walkabout/look-see through the hotel with No.1 daughter and the good wife, we were questioned as to our intentions in that particular area...70th Floor, restaurant, we were dismissed as being, basically, inquisitive people off the street, and politely shown the way out. The Swiss Restaurant on the 2nd Level, we were politely asked how we "should be addressed..?" (What's your room number and name ?) while at the same time, the staff looked as though we might have been something they had recently trodden in. As previously mentioned, my daughter has impeccable manners, but it really means nothing when she is eyed with suspicion whenever we try to go a little up-market.
I think I might save a few bucks next time and not treat the family to a special stay at the Stamford, and simply lob at the Holiday Inn or similar, where at least kids are treated like human beings occasionally. I would not recommend this hotel for family visits.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, December 12, 2009
Dear MadsDad,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore as your preferred venue of accommodation. We are honoured and privileged to have you reside with us during your sojourn in the lion city.

Though all aspects went well, we were quite concerned with the impression you had taken away with. Please accept our apologies for making you and your family feel otherwise. This has highlighted that there exists an opportunity for more intensive training on our part.

MadsDad, we would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and hope we will have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

After a long flight from South Africa and a short transfer from the airport, arriving at The Stamford was like arriving in heaven. First the glorious air conditioning, the warm welcome, the quick check-in, the free upgrade, a free breakfast (because our flight was early and our room wasn't ready) then the help with luggage and our small kids.

Our room was fantastic. Our breakfast was just what we needed. The pool was inviting.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. To anyone - business, family or couples!

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DelBoy1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, December 12, 2009
Dear DelBoy1203,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore as your preferred venue of accommodation.

We are pleased to learn that everything went smoothly from your arrival to your departure.

We look forward to you having another perfect stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 312 in Singapore
5,726 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#52 of 312 in Singapore
3,795 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
5,541 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 312 in Singapore
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#60 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing