We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great standards and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #63 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great standards and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

Stayed here on two occasions on the way to and back from Australia, hotel was chosen as part of the Singapore Airlines stopover package.

Previously stayed next door at The Fairmont, so very familiar with the facilities and location of the hotel. On first visit arrived at 7:30 am and room was available, most appreciated after a long flight from Manchester, did also e-mail hotel about the arrival situation. Was given a room on the 34th floor with Marina view. The second occasion was a late arrival at 10:30 pm and was given a 50th floor room with city view panning from Boat Quay to Chinatown to Clarke Quay and across to Orchard Road.

The rooms themselves were good with the city view room much bigger than the Marina view room, both had balconies, beware those without a head for heights!! Beds were comfy, bathroom well stocked with towels, TV had plenty of choice particularly news channels like CNN, BBC, Channel News Asia, but only 2 sports channels, maybe time to get another one!!

The staff I encountered were excellent, bags were promptly bought up to the room, the Conceirge booked restaurants and even provided a set of bathroom scales to weigh luggage. The lobby was extremely busy which is expected of such a big hotel especially as it was the Chinese New Year period, even had a Lion dance to celebrate the New Year, but was not made to feel unimportant and was addressed several times by lobby staff, the hotel is popular with business travellers and aircrew from BA and Qantas. Did not use the restaurants at the hotel as there was plenty of choice nearby for breakfast, lunch and dinner, special mention for the revamped food court at Raffles City and the excellent Lei Garden across the road at the Chimjes complex. One other thing is tour desk is next to conceirge, handy for booking trips to Night Zoo and reconfirming coach rides to the airport.

Other facilities such as pool and gym are excellent as they are shared with The Fairmont next door, never seemed to be too crowded.

The location of the hotel is excellent, super transport links with MRT station below for Orchard Road, Vivo City and further beyond locations, but the major attractions like Merlion, Singapore Eye, Chinatown, Boat Quay very easily reach by foot. All major shopping can be done at Raffles City, Marina Square, Suntec Mall, Link Mall underground.

Best of all is the price paid, arranged as part of Singapore Airlines stopover package, almost the same facilities as The Fairmont for less price, so will look to stay here again the next time I'm in Singapore. Well done all !!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SittingbourneOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, February 21, 2009
Dear SittingbourneOwl,

Greetings from Swissotel The Stamford Singapore!

We are very pleased to hear that we have made your stays with us memorable.

Thank you for taking the time to write in to share with us and others on your experiences.

We certainly look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,313
    2,758
    944
    295
    166
See reviews for
2,043
2,084
462
1,978
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

We stayed 5 nights from 2/11 to 2/16. We were being offered the Grand Room on the 21st floor. The Grand Room is the corner room with views to 2 different directions, also it is about 1.5 times bigger than the standard rooms.

We are familiar with this hotel, been staying at the property when it was called The Westing Stamford-long before it became part of the Swissotel Group today.

We stayed there due to its convenient location:- subway underground, integrated shopping mall, short walk to nearby bars and eateries.

But I was a bit disappointed by the condition of the room and the amenities. It gives me a feeling that the room was not being maintained for a long time, and that it was not prepped for guest arrival.

When we first entered the room, I found that the money plant in the bathroom was withered and mouldy, not the most welcoming sight. The bath amenities were there except for the hair conditioner, we alerted House-Keeping and our request was promptly met though.

The plumbling was a terror- the shower tap couldn't stop leaking and the sink couldn't be stopped-imagine the difficulty when I tried soaking some laundry.

The water pressure made so much noise when a neighbor hotel guest used the shower/sink.

The bed linens were freshly-laundered and changed daily, but they looked old and frayed with tears and holes, albeit small ones.

While flat screen TVs are part of the modern room decor nowadays, this room still keeps a 25" old TV.

The bedside clock is 15 minutes late and there was no way to adjust it. It seems like the hotel stripped the electronic control to the clock and the window curtains.

All these tell me that the hotel simply sits on its laurels and does not bother paying much attention to smaller details. Save for the great location, I'd really wouldn't rate this hotel as my favourite. There are competitive ones nearby and I think it's time I quit Swissotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SinGal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, February 21, 2009
Dear SinGal70,

Thank you for staying with us at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore from 11 - 16 February 2009.

First and foremost please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We regret that on this occasion, we fell short of our goal in providing you with the highest standards in hospitality.

Your patronage is important to us and the experiences you described are not true reflections of the level of services we normally provide and pride ourselves on. This has highlighted that there exists an opportunity for more intensive training on our part as well as looking into room refurbishments.

Notwithstanding the inconsistent service you experienced, please be assured that we value your continued patronage.

SinGal70, we would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and hope we will have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for one night to have a bit of luxury before backpacking around Europe. It was so great for us to have the MRT right next to the hotel; it just made it so easy! As well as the location being very central the hotel was also lovely. We stayed in a Harbour View room which we loved, the view from the balcony was great.

All I can say is this hotel was great, and being a travel agent myself I'll always recommend it as a great place to stay if it fits your budget.

A great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank delldp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, February 28, 2009
Dear delldp,

Greetings from Swissotel The Stamford Singapore!

Thank you for your recommendation and for sharing your great experience with others who visit this site! It is great to hear that we have won your support.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Swissotel Stamford in Jan/Feb for three nights on our way to Australia and again on the way back to Europe. We stayed in the Executive club rooms and enjoyed the private check-in, the services provided in the lounge and the large well appointed rooms. The beds were extremely comfortable and the views stunning. The staff were welcoming and friendly - and allowed a 9am check-in on our first visit, a welcome courtesy after the long flight from Barcelona. We travel to Australia regularly and always stay in Singapore on the way, but this is the first time we have stayed outside the Orchard Road area. With the wonderful hotel and the great location it won't be the last.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jlb284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, February 17, 2009
Dear jlb284,

Greetings from Swissotel The Stamford Singapore!

We take a lot of pride and commitment to deliver excellent service that is expected of us and we are pleased that you had a memorable stay. Yes we have to agree with you that our hotel have one of the best views in Singapore!

Thank you for sharing your comments and we at Swissotel The Stamford look forward to host your stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humansdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

I can only say what a lot of other reviewers have said in the past:this is an excellent hotel for tourists staying in Singapore.The hotel is very centrally located and sits basically on the MRT and at Raffles City,a huge shopping complex.The rooms are good,clean and has all the amenities a tourist could wish for!!We were travelling with our 17year old son and were allocated a nice corner room with lots of space,so that we were hardly in one anothers way.The breakfasts were included and very good,with a huge choice.We also stayed at the Shangri-La(see review) but although the SL is a cut above Stamford,I would chose the Stamford for its location anytime!!

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tokkelosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, February 14, 2009
Dear Tokkelosh,

Greetings from Swissotel The Stamford Singapore!

Thank you for your generous compliments and sharing it to benefit all who visits this website!

We pride ourselves in taking great care of our guests and will always do our best to excel in their expectations (verbal or non-verbalised).

We look forward to welcome you and your family back to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

Stayed at Marina Mandarin for 2 nights in January 2009, followed by 6 nights at Swissotel Stamford.

Both hotels were good, with excellent location, facilities, staff and food. We agree with the Trip Advisor reviews ranking the Marina Mandarin just above the Stamford. The Mandarin has a nicer foyer, pool area and more recent fittings, while the Stamford is so large it is less personal and more of a business hotel.

The Mandarin is well located near the water, but the Stamford has the advantage of being on top of an MRT station. Both are attached to shopping malls (Marina Square and Raffles City) that are actually linked underground by the City Link mall. The Food Loft at Marina Square was our pick of cheap eateries.

Would stay at both hotels again, but the Mandarin would be our preference.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ddkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, February 9, 2009
Dear Ddkent,

Greetings from Swissotel The Stamford!

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you mentioned we'd be able to be of service to you again.

We have to agree that a hotel of our scale, at times, will be a challenge providing uninterrupted one to one personalized service which all our guests deserve, but we can assure you that we pride ourselves in providing genuine and sincere service to all.

Once again, thank you for sharing and we look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

Stayed 5 days on vacation en route to NZ and then Aus. Third visit to this hotel in 18 months and will be back again. All aspects for us were excellent including the great location. All was positive and although expensive (well Singapore generally is not cheap in any case) we really enjoyed another visit to this great city and the hotel added to our overall experience.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — High cost of internet usage
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Happybap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, February 9, 2009
Dear Happybap,

Greetings from Swissotel The Stamford Singapore!

Thank you so much for your continued support and being so generous in sharing your views with all!

We look forwward to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#54 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,715 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#51 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,266 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#57 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing