We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #71 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here for three nights in April 2014.

The hotel is located very centrally for the sights, major attractions, conventions etc.
.
The public areas are fine in a functional kind of way without any great attempt at atmosphere. They are however very busy at certain times of the day. My main memory of this hotel is standing in line (for check-in, check-out, asking a question and most frustratingly, for breakfast). Breakfast food was of an acceptable level, but the whole world seemed to be there, and the staff were clearly under pressure; truly a ‘market’ place, and not what one would expect of a Five-star hotel.

Rooms are large and well maintained and quiet. Beds firm and comfortable. Bathrooms looked tired.

Overall a reasonable choice for Singapore, but we would try something else next time, if only for a more civilised breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richmondbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC-Hotels-Pte-Ltd, Hotel Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Richmondbois,

Thank you for sharing the details of your stay! It is nice to know that your stay was pleasant on the whole though you did mention about the dated bathroom conditions. With regards to your feedback, I would like to reassure you that we do have upcoming refurbishment plans that will provide a refreshing update to our guestrooms. Thus, do keep us in mind if you have any future plans to visit Singapore and stay to experience our new refurbished guestrooms.

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,982 - 3,988 of 8,194 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

During our recent visit to Singapore my friend and I stayed at the Swissotel The Stamford.
The service by staff in all areas at the hotel was friendly, helpful and very professional.
Our room was spacious with all mod cons and the amenities were excellent.
The food was varied and delicious.
The location is excellent with Raffels just across from Swissotel.
I likeed everything at Swissotel during my stay there and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kerry Joy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC-Hotels-Pte-Ltd, Hotel Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Kerry Joy O,

It’s such a delight to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciate the compliments you shared of your experience.

I hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again in the future!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week in Singapore mainly on business. Location is pretty close to the airport (25 mins = about $15-20 taxi). Hotel is located in the center of everything. You can walk to almost every single interesting location in town. It is also within the same building of a huge shopping mall with many stores and food courts.

Breakfast is truly amazing...there is something for all tastes. Very clean and great customer service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the higher rooms as the view of the city is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC-Hotels-Pte-Ltd, Hotel Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Jorge,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent business trip, am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Be it for leisure or for business, we hope to welcome you back to enjoy the location, nearby attractions and everything you liked about your recent stay!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We enjoyed the stay at the Stamford. When we arrived early in the morning (7am) at the hotel, the front desk offered us already access to our room. The view from the harbour rooms are breath-taking! While the hotel is slightly outdated, the room and the pool are well maintained. The hotel conveniently sits above the metro station and offers easy access to the MRT. Many attractions are within walking distance and the shopping centre within the same building offers ample opportunities to get food and coffee. Really annoing - this is a big minus - was the fact that internet access was not free. This should be a must in our times. Otherwise I can only recommend the hotel both for its location and the service as well as the great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank BerikerBerikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC-Hotels-Pte-Ltd, Hotel Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear BerikerBerikon,

Thank you for sharing this feedback, which we have also separately received through our guest survey. With regards to our Internet charges, you might like to know that all Swissotel Circle members are given complimentary internet access as one of the host of benefits. Nevertheless, I appreciate the compliments you’ve mentioned especially the service.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Loved the service. Room good size, clean and comfortable. Food great. View from 70th floor is fantastic. Thanks to the staff at City Space for anticipating my requirements so well. Check in/out was a breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Stuart Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC-Hotels-Pte-Ltd, Hotel Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Stuart Bruce B,

Happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciate the compliments you shared of your experience! We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Family of 4. We stayed here for 5 nights over New Years Eve. We stayed on the 16th floor which overlooked the marina and had unbelievable views of the city, marina and new years eve fireworks. Excellent location within walking distance to plenty of attractions, food, public transit etc. The kids loved the pool too. I highly recommend especially if you can get a room with a view. The rooms are clean and staff was friendly.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC-Hotels-Pte-Ltd, Hotel Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Nathan,

It is such an honour to hear that you would gladly recommend us to anyone visiting Singapore and am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the stay! We are certainly very fortunate to have a great vantage point of viewing the spectacular fireworks over our beautiful cityscape! My team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Decent stay, spacious guest room, bathroom. Fittings are bit old fashoined.
Have to wake up early if you want to have breakfast as Q for the breakfast is too long and time consuming. Getting lift on time during the peak hours is also a challenge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rakesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC-Hotels-Pte-Ltd, Hotel Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Rakesh,

Thank you for sharing this feedback, which we have also separately received through our guest survey. Your feedback has been noted and directed to the relevant teams for follow up. With regards to your feedback on the room interior, I would like to reassure you that we do have upcoming refurbishment plans that will provide a refreshing update to our guestrooms.

I hope to welcome you back in future!

Warm regards,
Jeff Ross
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#19 of 317 in Singapore
6,376 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
8,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#61 of 317 in Singapore
4,118 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#46 of 317 in Singapore
6,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#64 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $189 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing