We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time warped back to the 80's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #68 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Time warped back to the 80's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service all around in a great location and this is what you are paying for in the over price of the rooms. Stayed on the Exec floor with the expectation of a better room. Room doesn't look like it has been renovated since the 80's and is well overdue, quite sad. Food was alright and gym was decent, but a little crowded as they share with the Fairmont.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Consultbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback! Regarding the room conditions, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for refurbishment in the near future.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,336
    2,792
    955
    299
    169
See reviews for
2,064
2,108
462
1,994
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,576)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Swissotel? Absolutely. There is something about their service that is just really cool. Cant put my finger on it. For one, its rapid. No waiting for ANYTHING here.

One of the tallest hotels in Asia, if not the world, we got a room on some ridiculous floor number. So high we were actually ABOVE the clouds and a rain storm. How magical is that.

The rooms are eloquent. Modern, simple, luxurious and with full amenities. The location is a bit interesting. I wouldn't say its very near to anything other than a nice park, but we taxied everywhere we needed to go. It is in the right location for most of the activities you probably came to Singapore for though.

I really enjoyed my stay at Swissotel and wish there were some more locations stateside. If I am to be back in Singapore, this would be my first choice.

We came around holiday time and they had the biggest gingerbread house I had ever seen in the lobby.

Room Tip: There are two Swissotels and they are next to each other. Make sure you book the right one you wish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonicSpringBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We take pleasure that you had a great stay with us. Your compliments on the hotel’s efficient service, great view, eloquent room with luxurious amenities, wide variety of restaurants and shops in the area and the convenient location.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is the fifth time I've been to Singapore for business and felt it was time to stay in the hotel that, other than MBS, dominates the landscape, The Stamford.

Unfortunately my stay was a few days before the famous SIngapore F1 race through waterfront so the hotel was EXTREMELY busy as about a quarter of the rooms have stellar views of the track. This meant the lobby was an absolute zoo when I checked in and it was not unusual to wait at least five minutes to get onto an elevator throughout my stay.

I was booked on the executive level which apparently has a private check-in desk but there was no one in the lobby downstairs to tell me that so I ended up waiting over 30 minutes just to check in in the main lobby. Swissotel should consider having signage indicating Executive Floor guests check in upstairs.

Once in the room, I was quite impressed with the amazing view and the fact that the balcony was a decent size. These balconies are not for those with vertigo but from 59+ floors up the panorama of SIngapore is beautiful to see. This is a real plus for the Stamford.

The room itself was quite nice, very clean and simply decorated (I hate clutter). The decent sized desk was quite useful to work on between meetings. I appreciated the complementary bottled water and teas,coffees.

When my busy day was over, I decided to try the Executive Lounge. Now when one thinks of an 'executive lounge' one envisions a peaceful oasis in which to relax, decompress and perhaps check business emails, etc. Not this lounge. There seemed to be as many children there as there were adults and the resulting din was reminiscent of a day-care NOT an executive lounge. I stayed for one drink, watching kids chase each other around the room, and then beat a hasty retreat back to my room. Although the canape selection looked very tempting, I was not about to try it after seeing a couple of children paw through them all, looking for I know not what. I suggest Stamford rename this room: perhaps Family Lounge? I certainly won't be booking it again unless I bring the seemingly requisite child.

The location of this hotel is a bit distant from the financial district but it sits on top of the City Hall MTR: Raffles Place is a two minute ride. My advice is to get a stored value MTR card as the lineups to get to the ticket machines can be ridiculously long. It is a 10 minute stroll from Fort Canning which is a lovely restful place after a busy day.

The staff were very helpful when you could actually find one but I put their scarcity down to the extreme circumstances of the car race crowd.

In summation, I would stay here again if the price was right but I advise people not to spend the extra cash for the "executive" lounge as there is nothing 'executive' about it.

Room Tip: Don't bother booking the Executive Floor if you expect to get any work done in the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyHallmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback, it will definitely help us serve you better in the future. We apologize for the experience you had at our executive lounge. At the same time we note your positive feedback on the room design, view and hotel location.

Thank you for recommending Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I wouldn't stay anywhere else for convenience when working in Singapore.
Close to trains, shopping, a variety of food outlets and great breakfast options in all restaurants. Check in was a little slow this visit due to the hotel being heavily booked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacki3ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Coomera
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Short and quick stop over night visit. Very comfortable. Polite staff. Was suggested from my travel agent that this was a nice Hotel. Would definitely stay there again. Only a $10 cab fare to Sentosa..


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Miranda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just on the way from our China trip and spent a couple of nights in Singapore. As usual, stayed here at the Swissotel. Great location right on Stamford Plaza and plenty of food choices. Right on the City Hall MRT station. Great rooms and very friendly and attentive staff. No need to say any more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank MSYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Paul,

We take pleasure to hear that you had a great stay with us again! Your feedback has also been noted and followed-up through our Market Metrix guest survey. We definitely can’t wait to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Thoroughly recommend this hotel for your stay in Singapore. Convenient location within walking distance to the marina area. Attached to Raffles shopping centre and across the road to the original Raffles hotel and shopping arcade where the original gin sling is served. Luckily we were upgraded to the executive floors with magnificent harbour view, was quiet happy to stay in room just for the view. All amenities in the room were very plentiful and while waiting for cases to be delivered to the room used the toothbrushes and shaving gear shampoo etc and at turn down service all were replaced together with extras. Loved the toblerone left on the pillow. Was pleasantly surprised to be met and greeted at the kerbside by our names? How do they know that! The checkin service was the best and quickest ever and anytime we needed to ask a question of any of the staff they were very helpful to assist us in any way. The Raffles shopping arcade adjoining the hotel are a great bonus as you stay in the air conditioning. A mention if you need to change money into Singapore dollars the money changer on the ground floor gave the best rate we found anywhere. Beds,pillows and fit out of room were superb. Spent time around the pool and a lovely touch was a cold towel handed out by the staff to refresh oneself in the heat followed by small glasses of fresh juice to quench ones thirst. Very nice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. Your feedback has also been noted and followed-up through our Market Metrix guest survey. Please rest assured that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service.
We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,619 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#50 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,876 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#48 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,368 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#62 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing