We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for the Grand Prix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #68 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
South London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for the Grand Prix”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have visited Singapore many times but this is my first stay at this hotel. i found staying here better than being in the Orchard road area. You are about 15mins walk from Clarke quay/Boat quay for a great selection of restaurants, Little india and chinatown and the Arab area are also all walkable. The flyer and Marina Bay Sands complex and gardens are also walkable. there is a shopping centre with food court and supermarket under the hotel and it is near 3 different metro stops. If you are clever/lucky with room selection you get a view of part of the F1 circuit and the hotel is across the road from one of the track entrances. The hotel itself is very comfortable, some floors seem to be more recently updated. Breakfast is great and if it is your thing there is a nightclub on the top floor

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Ian,

We take pleasure to hear that we’re a great play to stay during the Singapore Grand Prix weekend. Your compliments on our wide variety of restaurants and shops in the vicinity and main attractions, comfortable hotel, great breakfast spread and the great view of the F1 track are appreciated.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,336
    2,792
    955
    299
    169
See reviews for
2,064
2,108
462
1,994
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,576)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you're looking for spectacular views of Singapore harbour, city skyline, efficient staff and expensive shops then this is the place for you! The hotel is huge - 1200 plus rooms - the result being one feels quite lost at times. Not that this is a criticism; it is simply a massive hotel. Some things potential guests should keep in mind: Singapore is expensive and therefore like, I assume, most of hotels of similar accommodation standard (5 stars in this instance) food and service are costly. There are however many eating options outside the hotel so you do have a choice. The standard rooms are not overly large but the view more than makes up for that. The standard of fittings in our room was commensurate with a 5 star establishment. Tip: request a room overlooking the harbour towards Marina Bay Sands so you can see the nightly laser show.

The hotel is well placed away from the noise and traffic in Orchard Road yet near enough to make getting to the primary shopping district easy and convenient. Tip: take the MRT as the City Hall station is right next to the hotel. Raffles Hotel is also next door so it's easy to slip across the road to the Long Bar for a Singapore Sling (and yes, it's expensive at approx S$29 a pop, but worth it all the same!).

In summary then, the Swissotel Stamford is an excellent hotel but being so large it's almost a micro-city in its own right. The overall impression was one of efficiency versus a personal touch however if you're seeking anonymity then you'll find it here.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Room 4154 offers views of Marina Bay Sands and the CBD - spectacular during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacificNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re glad to hear that we’re an excellent hotel of your choice and enjoyed the efficient staff, service, spectacular views of Singapore harbour, wide variety of shops and restaurants in the area and the convenience of the location. At the same time, we note your feedback on the service. Your feedback will definitely help us serve you better on your next visit.

We hope to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Swissotel The Stamford was a very pleasing experience especially on a short stay when you need everything to be precise and available ASAP.
The Stamford fulfilled all of the above for service and satisfaction when requested.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew Mccubbin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for the review. Your feedback has also been noted and followed-up through our Market Metrix guest survey. Please rest assured that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service.

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1,329 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,044 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a modern hotel- located in one of the tallest buildings in Asia.

The accommodations are modern and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and offer the features sought by a business traveller.

Service is professional and courteous.

It's a large hotel, offering a variety of views: the best overlook Marina Bay.

The hotel has several other advantages:

1. It is located above an MRT underground train station
2. In the basement, there's a large shopping center, including a supermarket, pharmacy and a food court, with a wide range of reasonably priced dining options
3. The hotel overlooks the F1 track- bear this in mind when the Grand Prix is on- it could be an advantage or disadvantage!

This hotel is well worth considering as a base when you are visiting Singapore.

Room Tip: Distinct views are available- Marina Bay is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending Swissotel The Stamford! Your compliments on the hotel’s comfortable and spacious rooms, great view of the F1 track, wide variety of restaurants and shops in the area and the convenience of the location are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel at least 10 times over the past 6 years. Every time the staff exceed our expectations and the hotel is perfect on every level. The rooms are especially spacious and clean and the beds are always comfortable. They have amazing views no matter what direction you are facing (but the harbour views are the best). Breakfast is not only one of the best we have had but also has the widest variety and the pool and gym are spot on.

Access to the Cty Hall MRT in the basement is incredibly convenient as is the adjacent Raffles City Shopping Centre. Heading back to Swissotel Stamford in a few weeks and we know it feel like home!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It makes us happy to know that you had a great stay with us and exceeded your expectations again! Please rest assured that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service.

Thank you for your continued patronage! We can’t wait to see you again!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have always loved to be back at this hotel as when I alight from the taxi the doorman always greets me by name though a good 6 months have passed between each visit. All the staff welcome me warmly and I feel like I am back in my home this warmth I have never experienced anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Anita,

Thank you for the review. Your feedback has also been noted and followed-up through our Market Metrix guest survey. Please rest assured that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service.

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Quality of furnitures were poor and technical problem with television was unsolved when checking me in. Upon entering the room, the television was badly pixelated and I was amazed that the staff and repairman were actually aware of this situation but still offered this room for us. Despite the fact that the repairman came to repair, the waiting time was long and problem was still unsolved. Many other channels were still pixelated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Mui Ling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you for the review. Your feedback has also been noted and followed-up through our Market Metrix guest survey. Please rest assured that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service.

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,622 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#50 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,879 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#48 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,369 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#62 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing