We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good hotel but way overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #72 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

+: The staff is really nice. The hotel location is convenient. The rooms have a good size, with a balcony. The spa is nice
-: Furniture are a bit old, wifi is not free and is expensive, breakfast food/coffee are not that good.

To sum up, it's a good hotel, but when you see the rates you expect more.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Marina Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s staff, room size, spa and location. At the same time, we note your comments on the food, wifi and the furnishings. Regarding the room conditions, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for refurbishment in the future.

You might also like to know that effective from 1 January 2013, all Swissotel Circle members are given complimentary internet access as one of the host of benefits. Registration itself is hassle-free and can be quickly completed at www.swissotel.com/circle.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,992 - 4,998 of 8,277 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed there for 3 days for a seminar. The seminar was also held in the hotel convention center.

It's quite old but quite well maintained. The room is clean, quite spacey, and mine was facing Marina Bay Sand...beautiful scenery at night from the balcony.The hotel location is very nice, attached to Raffles City Shopping Mall and MRT Station.

Overall, I enjoyed my stays in Swissotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irlan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I've just wrapped up a 2-night stay at this excellent property. Conveniently located, right on the City Hall SMRT and a part of the Raffles City shopping complex, with majestic views of the Singapore skyline. Do join the SwissotelCircle to take advantage of the free Internet access the loyalty programme provides. The Raffles City food court on level 3 is a great way to replenish your energy with great local food at very cheap prices. This was my second stay at this property, the first being with my wife and 2 youngest girls in March 2012. I will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have stayed here over 2 years ago & was very happy with the location. U don't have to travel far for food as there's a huge amount off food outlets all there with beautiful restaurants, chemist, grocery store, money exchanger and plenty off shops right near the hotel. U just walk around the corner go down the escalator and it's all there with amazing choices of foods!!! Rooms are clean & tidy I only found the pool was pretty average could be a nicer looking pool for a lovley hotel. And beds were a bit hard but overall a fantastic location!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyStarF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Lucy,

Thank you for the many compliments and feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I spent three night in a business trip. The service was great and efficient. Breakfast in increadible. All fresh and tasty. Very international - you can find European, Asian and American food if you want to stick to what you are used to. Spa is great. Men and women separated. Beautiful swimming pools and tennis courts. The jim is spacious and has almost all you need. Location is great and the view from the windows is remarkable. Every room has a nesspresso machine, iron, and replacement for all the things you forgot at home. I enjoyed every minute. I warmly recommend.
Ori

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed here alone for a six nights recently to have a relax before flying to Hong Kong to meet friends there. I wished every day that I had paid a little more and stayed at Pan Pacific. Firstly they charge 28 Sing Dollars to use the WiFi each day, absolutely outrageous in this day and age, it should be included int he (not cheap) room charge. The rooms are quite basic and bland with a small television and very hard beds, you just don't feel special staying here. They feel about the level of a UK budget hotel, just not luxurious or that comfortable.

They have two pools, one for children and a deeper adult pool but this is a huge hotel of 72 floors, coupled with the fact the pools are shared wit the Fairmont next door means that sometimes all of the places to sit are gone. This was the case on the Saturday that I arrived and my initial reaction was a sinking feeling that i had chosen badly. The staff attitude was sometimes weird, for example they gave me a frozen menu by the pool, a large pocket of blue gel that once frozen can be used to cool you down. However the gel in mine leaked all over me onto my chest and legs before I realized what had happened, and stained the towels and my clothes. I asked the lady if the gel was poisonous and she wasn't interested, she just said "Don't you want to order a drink then?".

The best thing is the location, above Raffles Market Place with dozens of Restaurants downstairs and liked to the shopping mall and most importantly the MRT it is very easy to get around.

Overall the place is massively disappointing, there is much better in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

On arrival we were greeted in the early hours of the moring by the most obliging young man at reception, he went out of his way to get us into our room asap. Being frequent overseas travellers he was the most obliging we have ever encountered.
You must book the harbour view rooms, not only could we see the river and harbour my husband was in heaven watching the local cricket from our balcony. Strongly recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay there when in Singapore again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Ronald,

We take pleasure to read about your strong recommendations and greatly appreciate your positive comments. We will certainly convey your compliments to the front desk as an inspiration to continue their excellent work.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 319 in Singapore
6,465 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
8,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#58 of 319 in Singapore
4,175 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#24 of 319 in Singapore
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#65 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $177 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing