We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #70 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great business hotel”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

i stayed 7 nights for work. the location is perfect given right above cityhall station.

service was great and i got upgrade to a bigger room with balcony.

breakfast buffet was also good.

internet was included in my corporate rate so another plus point.

the hotel being one of the tallest building in singapore, has a really nice bar at the top floor with amazing view of singapore.

the only 2 area of improvement, it is a traditional style hotel so the deco in the room looks a bit dated or dark. but perfectly fine for work and family but prob not suitable for romantic couple.

for some reason i couldnt turb the shower off properly after using it...so it would be dripping the while night after i used it.

also 4565 was the room i stayed, i guess due to the shape, tv was not facing the bed..it can only be turned to the bed 45 degree...so i couldnt watch tv on the bed....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkin422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re glad to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay. Your compliments on the hotel’s great service, breakfast spread, Equinox Complex and the convenient location are greatly appreciated. At the same time, we note your feedback on the room, bathroom and the TV in Room 4565. Regarding the room conditions, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for refurbishment in the future.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,436
    2,899
    986
    310
    179
See reviews for
2,145
2,182
480
2,053
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,605)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sunnyvale, ca
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Try to get a room high up! I only had a partial view of MBS, but still gorgeous. Have a drink at City Space - great view! :)

Rooms are not too small, a little older, but for Singapore, price is pretty good. Recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xspasticx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the compliments and the recommendation.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have stayed in 6 hotels in Singapore many times both officially and unofficially, and this hotel stands out in the last 2 times i had stayed..know why !!

- Service i get in this hotel right from one check's in is the best, they don't treat you like "thanks for coming find your way !!"
- The hotel is in the heart of the city, taxi's just outside of the hotel and never had to wait for long even during rain, MRT is just below the hotel, top floor has a bar if you want the view of the city to enjoy your evening, but if you get the room with a view you don't need to go any where.
- The rooms are with comfy beds and you get the best tea\cofffee in the world
- Internet is free and other basic toiletries are there too with no regrets.
- The market place below the hotel has the supermarket and a food court and level 2 has another food court if you want further preferences.
- You can walk along the road to esplanade or go underground via signs from the MRT station
- All big brands are there if you are shop o friek
- Mac is right next door in case you want to bite a snack or have a change of bfast
- walk a bit you reach Funan, BEST and other 2 electronic malls right across the road
- Ok just down Funan is a india veg restaurant in case you want to try some dosas and Indian food 2 min away.

Overall, good service, they care for you, best location, some rooms are having the best ever views for the city (not all), and overall everything once need for a official traveler and if you can pay for it for your personal travels too.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor with view towards Marina bay sands and only 5 in each floor has the view and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-logue-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re elated to read that we’re the best hotel for you! We appreciate your positive comments on the best service, great view, comfortable bed, complimentary internet, nearby amenities and the convenient location.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

very nice room on 27th floor with a great view, clean well appointed room, very good house keeping with bottled water provided ( amust for singapore when you are out and about) and small chocolates every day. Very friendly welcome with smiling staff every time you went in or out. Well situated for sight seeing with buses etc close by.Great choices and quality for breakfast. The only complaint I can make is no free internet

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Neil,

It makes us happy to read that you had a great stay with us and encountered very friendly staff. Please rest assured that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong Sar
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

this is a well located hotel within a few minutes of the core cbd and well connected with road rail transport. The raffles city mall attached to the hotel adds further to the convenience. I would stay here in the future if the opportunity presents

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Ayaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Ayaz,

Thank you for the many compliments. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent location, esp for business purpose. MRT is literally under the hotel, and taxi is easy to find. There's a shopping mall right next to and adjacent to the hotel. Amazing amazing breakfast, really the best. Nice staff also. Rooms are big with balcony, furnitures are quite tired, tho. Bathroom are regular size. Wifi is not free, this is something the need to fix.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SyifaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Syifa,

It makes us happy to know that you had a great stay. We greatly appreciate your compliments on our amazing breakfast spread, nice staff, big rooms, nearby amenities and the location.

Regarding the wifi, you might like to know that effective from 1 January 2013, all Swissotel Circle members are given complimentary internet access as one of the host of benefits. Registration itself is hassle-free and can be quickly completed at www.swissotel.com/circle.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We've stayed for 2 nights in Swissotel Stamford during our stopover in Singapore on a way to Bali. Being a Singapore first time visitors we've picked a hotel based on TA rating, convenient location (as far as a first timer can say) and overall experience with Swissotel branch.
We've arrived a little bit on an early side (6 am), and were obviously early for our checkin. Nonetheless management has offered us a complimentary visitor suite with a bathroom and number of sofas, where we've waited till 11am. We've booked online through Agoda and had a harbour facing suite (starts at level 20). Maybe due to the fact that we asked for a room as early as possible, we've been offered a room at level 20, simply due to the fact that previous guest has left the room. Our educated guess is, that suites on a higher levels have much better view than ours. Room itself was spacious, but somewhat dated (hotel itself is on a bit of "used" condition with sometimes visible patina). Bathroom was OK, but again we have expected much more upscaled amenities from this hotel branch. A/C was barely working, but we didn't bother asking to fix this, as we were out most of the day.
Location of the hotel is very convenient, with short walkable distance to Marina Bay, Singapore Flyer, museums and skyscrapers in the harbour. MRT station (City Hall) is literally 30 seconds walk from the lobby.
Bar in the lobby is average, with just higher than average prices and not too great selection.
What we've really enjoyed (my wife and I both being breakfast freeks) was a breakfast in the Swiss cafe. Fantastic selection of pasties, ethnic food, drinks, fresh fruits and a very tasty coffee.
Overall this a very nice hotel, a bit dated, a little bit too expensive for it's condition, with convenient location and very good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dshmyglya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed review! We’re glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us and appreciate your positive comments on the spacious rooms, very good service, and the convenience of the location. We have noted your feedback on the bathroom amenities and air-conditioning for follow-up. Regarding the room conditions, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for refurbishment in the near future.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 314 in Singapore
5,934 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 314 in Singapore
7,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#60 of 314 in Singapore
3,879 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 314 in Singapore
2,220 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 314 in Singapore
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#28 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#64 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing