We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great central location, good restaurants” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #63 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
HK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great central location, good restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights on business. The internet didn't work (but they fixed it) and a tap dripped in the bathroom all night (but they fixed it). I was given an upgrade when I arrived, to a much larger room on a high floor, so that was great. Room was clean, spacious, room service good, and the in-complex restaurant (Prego) was a great place to buy a thank-you dinner for some friends & the Lobby Bar was a great venue to meet with a group of girl friends for a catch up chat, drinks & lite bites.
The service in the 2nd floor breakfast restaurant was so bad both mornings that it was almost funny (almost) - a 'chef' who couldn't do poached eggs, a waitress who still hasn't delivered my cranberry juice, and some very strange 'sausage combinations' but when I sent in my post stay survey, they did actually contact me, apologise & promise to look into these matters.
The lobby & reception staff were great & they got me a taxi very quickly every time.
I liked the place enough to stay there again, so hope to find some improvements upon my return.

Room Tip: If your budget will stretch, higher floor the better. I found the beds were a little hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you mentioned. The issues you mentioned are certainly not acceptable for our hotel and we certainly are looking into them following your feedback on our Market Metrix survey.

At the same time, we appreciate your positive review on your room cleanliness and size and your dining experiences at Lobby Court and Prego restaurant at Fairmont Singapore, our sister property.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel the Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,313
    2,758
    944
    295
    166
See reviews for
2,043
2,084
462
1,978
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forsyth, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Hotel is beautiful, the hotel workers are attentive, a variety of cuisines are available and it offers a wonderful view of the Marina Bay. Everything you can imagine in walking distance but everything you need right there. The hotel is attached to a mall with grocery, foodcourt, bank, and all else you can imagine! And a subway entrance is just across the street for quick rides to Little India, China Town, and more. Taxis are always available at the door. Behind the hotel is the Raffles Bar where the Singapore sling was invented so you can stop by and try it where it was born. You'll be walking distance to the new casinos, the Esplanade where art and entertainment are available daily, and a few blocks from the Singapore Flyer where you can have chocolates and champagne or a whole meal while you slowly go around on the largest ferris wheel in the world inside a comfortable capsule. This hotel is fabulous for business or pleasure. I stayed there twice, each time for three weeks and was never disappointed. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Marina, and at least 15 floors up to get the best view of the Marina and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madreluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We take great pleasure to know that both your 3-week stays were fabulous! Your compliments on the our staff’s attentive service, cuisines, wonderful view and location are greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to your next 3-week stay at Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed with my family from 8th - 12th December 2012. We booked a classic room with no view (we asked for the cheapest anyway). The room is on the 7th floor, it's spacious but need refurbishment. I dont dare to let my children sat on the floor coz the carpet looked yellow-ish although I believed it's clean. Anyway, our housekeepers from 9th and 10th are excellent! (please thank them for me if someone from the stamford is reading my review) THey noticed we have small children (3yo and 1yo) because we left their 2nd pairs of shoes in the room, They provided us with 4 bottles of water which I really appreciate. I have a 1yo baby girl so I make sure she didnt get sick during our trip by drinking tap water eventhough I knew tap water in Singapore is safe for drinking but still.. as a mother I want everything the best for my children :) We got 4 towels, 4 face towels, four sets of everything.. Thanks God we didnt have to share wet towels!!!! :D :D :D but then on the 11th, after a full day trip we went back to our room... everything was in set of two again :( well.. couldnt be bothered to call housekeeping for extras at 10pm coz we're leaving the next day anyway...

btw, on the 11th morning the lamp hood from outside the bathroom fell off the ceiling as we were going out in the morning so I called the receptionist and they sent someone to fix it but we didnt wait, we just went out after someone arrived.

Oh.. and I love ur toothbrush...so soft! :) i luv the bed, the pillows, the amenities in the room and the TWG teabags! (i never loved so many things in a hotel room!) :D :D :D maybe next time we visit again we will book for the more expensive room.. haha.. PS: i left a gold ring in the safe box :( oh well.. my own mistake..

PS: is there anyway u can have ur own pool instead of sharing with the fairmont? coz the pool was crowded!

Room Tip: If u ask for the cheapest room (just like me) dont expect a modern sleek room with view... but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sriwanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Sriwanti,

Thank you for the detailed review and many compliments!

Indeed, as parents we will always put our children’s well-being as top priority. Thus we’re glad that your 3-year-old and 1-year-old had a good stay as well. Though some of our rooms may not be the newest in town, we make sure that it is certainly clean enough for children. We will definitely convey your thanks to our housekeepers. At the same time, we apologise for the lapses on 11 December and will follow up on your feedback.

It would be a challenge to separate the swimming pools as the original design was meant for both hotels to operate as one complex. However, we are making plans to enhance the area for our guests, just like we are doing for the guestrooms. We hope you will be able to enjoy these in the future.

We will be reaching out to you separately regarding information on the gold ring.

Overall, we’re glad to hear that your family enjoyed the stay!

We look forward to your next visit in our other room categories!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights for holiday with wife & 1 kid. We arrived at almost 10 AM and didn't hope to get a room until afternoon, as the hotel seemed quite packed. Surprisingly they could have the room ready at 11.30, located in 42 floor. It's a big twin bed room and well-maintained, although not sparking brand-new. What we really like was the view from the balcony where we can see singapore skyscrapers including all the landmarks such as the esplanade, marina bay sands, supertrees in the garden by the bay. It's quite scary though to stand on the balcony only separated by glass wall, not recommended for the faint-heart. What i like more is the services (check in, check out, breakfast queue, housekeeping) are quick & efficient, especially considering the hotels seemed full with guests. Malls and MRT is just few steps away and there are many places to see nearby, although it's not near the orchard road (but if you stay in orchard it will be far from esplanade, chijmes, so it's your choice). before choosing this hotel i've compared some other hotels i've stayed in singapore before & for sure we're making the right choice when picking this hotel.

Room Tip: choose higher floor, don't worry about the elevators, they're fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hendronet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay and the hotel’s seamless check-in/out, efficient service, harbor view and its central location. Indeed, Swissotel the Stamford is, on many days, operating at full or near full capacity. As such, it is heartening to know that we’ve lived up to your high expectations. Please rest assured that we will not rest on our laurels and will continue our pursuit for excellence in living up to our credo of having a Passion For Perfection.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family stayed in in September 2012 for our Singapore holiday and we loved it. Very centrally located and an easy walk to many places on interest (if you can stand walking in the heat). The service was exceptional. My children particularly loved two of the greeters in the lobby, who remembered their names and always had a smile and kind words for them (I sadly can't recall their names but we called them 'Nice Guy' and 'Michelle Lady'). We were in the pool on a daily basis and often down in the awesome shopping centre underneath. My children swear this is our best ever holiday. We were very sorry to go!

Room Tip: We stayed on level 43 in a harbour-view room and the view is fantastic, especially of the nightly la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Dallerina,

We take great pleasure to know that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and found the service to be exceptional! Children are such an important part of family vacations and thus we’re so happy to hear they had a great time. We will convey your compliment to Michelle and the rest of the lobby team as an inspiration to continue their great work.

Looking forward to welcome your family back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
758 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here in December 2012 for 2 nights.
Quick efficient service to get to our lovely spacious room. Loved the little Nescafe coffee machine in the room..always need more milk though in hotels, for those of us that constantly drink coffee and tea. T bags provided were first class.
No free wifi ( when will they learn) so off next door to the Fairmount hotel to sit in their foyer.
Bathroom products really nice with everything there you could possibly need.
This hotel sits on top of the Raffles shopping centre so its super convenient. Also a 15 min walk to Orchard road and all the shops there. An also out the front is the link to the underground walkway and shopping arcade that will lead you to the Marina Bay sands hotel and shopping centre.
The breakfast buffet is one of the best that I have EVER experienced..And I've seen a few.
Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we were up pretty high with a view over the shared pool ( with the fairmount)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Karen,

We greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s efficient service, spacious rooms, breakfast buffet and the convenience of the location. You might like to know that effective from 1 Jan 2013, all Swissotel Circle members are given complimentary internet access as one of the host of benefits. Registration itself can be quickly completed at www.swissotel.com/circle.

Thank you for recommending Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed on the 58th floor (executive levels are 58-60) of Swissotel Stamford which included the lounge for breakfast , daily drinks and evening 5pm -8pm happy hour with food. Upon check in we were greeted by staff who took us up to level 60 for executive check in. There, Marco proceeded to check us in and inform us of what's about and what to do and where to go. Marco was very pleasant and also the other staff could not do enough for you. We only had 3 nights in this hotel :(
there is also an underground shopping centre which leads to another and another so really central for shopping. we found the shops in the centre very good and also there is food court below if needed. special thank you to Marco for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for a executive room city view is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutts66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your positive review on the hotel’s service and the convenience of the location are greatly appreciated. We will convey your compliments to Marco and the rest of the executive club team as an encouragement to continue their excellent service.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#54 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,715 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#51 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,266 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#57 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing