We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel we will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #67 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel we will be back”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

from arrival to check out this hotel was brilliant. Room was fairly average but the view from the 62nd floor was amazing. We were there for New Years so we were spoilt with the view of the fireworks at midnight too. the restaurants are all in the shopping centre the the hotel is part of but its not a problem.
The staff were extremely attentive, perhaps a bit too much when trying to get over new years celebrations with 5 knocks from room services at the door in one day!! But that was our fault not theirs.
Food was lovely in the Cafe Swiss, we had the NYE buffet lunch. Coffee was amazing from the little place next to the main escaltors into the food court.
All in all we just weren't there long enough, we will be back and will stay longer. The only thing that bugged us was the wait for the lifts. Being high up with the spectacular views meant you were always waiting for a lift down but to be honest this really is the only grumble I have and not really sure its worth mentioning. The views more than made up for the lift wait.
The rooms weren't flash or anything, but they were clean and new and the quality of the bed linen and even the bathroom floor mat were exceptional. comfortable beds too.
Spa was nice touch and my husband loved the sauna and steam room, using it every day and night.
The location is perfect, right opposite the marina bay and raffles, just a 3 minute walk over the bridge to the science museum and mall. perfect location for seeing Singapore and about 20 mins taxi from airport which cost 17SD off peak and 23 peak time.

Room Tip: I have heard the higher rooms are the refurbished ones, we were in 6271 which was a really nice room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sara,

Thank you for the detailed and glowing review. We are honoured that you chose to spend New Year with us and it sounds like you had a wonderful time. We apologise for the elevator wait-times but glad it was not a big dent in your experience. Still, we will do what is possible to ensure the elevators are well maintained and well managed.

We look forward to your next visit and indeed hope it will be a longer stay as well.

Happy New Year and all the best for 2013!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Qualit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,414
    2,866
    973
    304
    173
See reviews for
2,114
2,161
474
2,040
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,600)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's tired and overpriced, with an 80s Hilton feel. Room (suite) was very spacious, but furnished awkwardly in late 70s feeling brown artificial fabrics. Not what I could accurately describe as comfortable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank other1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback! Regarding the room conditions, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for refurbishment of guestrooms in the near future.

We hope to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent location, right on top of the shopping mall, MRT and easy availability of public transport. Rooms a bit old but spacious and good for our family with little kids. Nice view from our hotel room. Staff very courteous and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamirap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us! We appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s spacious room, nice view, location and most of all, the staff’s attitude and helpfulness.

Thank you for the strong recommendation!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked the hotel via asiatravel.com (standard room, no breakfast). Upon checking in with my family, I was pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded AND with breakfast for our 4 day, 3 night stay.

The room was great and is serviced twice a day. The balcony has a great view of the Singapore city skyline. Dazzling at night. My only complaint in the room is that the shower did not have the hose-type so that we can bathe our two kids precisely instead of aiming their bodies to the route of the shower head. But that's just a minor complaint.

Highly recommended. Great hotel with great customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We take pleasure to know you had a great time with us! At the same time, your feedback on the handheld shower will be incorporated into our next refurbishment plans.

Thank you for recommending Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We really liked the managment as we were allowed an early check in which usually cost a 1/2 day for anytime before 10am.. thinking we had a rough slog in the coffee shop waiting until 10 we were suprised that they handed us the keys immediatlly on arrival at 6:30 am Despite biz class on singapore airlines we were dead as our read eye from CPH took more out of us then we thought. Room was clean, electronic and tv channels had a great selection. We got the kids bed for no charge which was nice as well.
The hotel is connected to a mall and as a result i suggest going there for snacks or beers as its 14 usd a beer in lobby area, food was okay priced but once again cheaper in mall with wide selection of ground floor places to choose from... We had a large suite which was big and nice and toilet seperated from rest of bathroom. ( had gurgling issues after flushing sometimes) we had private check in on the 65th floor and i really enjoyed the 2 private decks in our suite, to small to sit on though. We needed passport photos and were directed to foto hub in the mall with the big LG tv out front ( not working ) and the construction tarps all around, 2 blocks away sun city??? i think. Overall i will go back but i think i would try the new casino hotel first if room and rates for a suite are acceptable. Fairmont hotel is in same complex and shares the 2 pools and the famous Raffles was right next door for the ubiqituos singapore sling...cheers

Room Tip: one of if not the worlds highest hotel rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Johannes,

Thank you for the detailed feedback! We are so happy to hear that you were able to rest up after the long trip from Copenhagen Airport. It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay with us overall, and we appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s room conditions, service and the convenience of the location.

Normally, when guests request for passport photos, we would direct them to the basement level of Raffles City mall that is just a minute from our hotel lobby, unless on that particular day it was closed for some reason. Suntec City would not be a usual recommendation due to the distance and construction going on.

We hope to welcome you back again!

Cheers,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The first good thing about this hotel definitely is the location. Just a few steps from the City Hall MRT station which easily connecting you to other great places in Singapore. The second thing for me is the breakfast has many options. The third thing is the bedroom was spacious although the furnitures looks very old, carpet and curtain need to be replaced.
I have bad experience when stepping into this hotel when I totally losing direction from the MRT station, I think the hotel should add more signs from the MRT station/shopping mall. Frontline staff also need to be trained to be more friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnych j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s breakfast spread, spacious bedroom and the convenience of the location. At the same time, we note your feedback and will direct to the relevant departments for follow-up.

We look forward to your next visit to Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

few hotels offer such great view of the city in an incredible location. you will oversee the marina bay (spectacular at night) as long as you get a room on a high floor. i believe anything above the 40th floor will suffice. the hotel is right in the city centre, connected to the MRT station by the raffles city shopping complex, where you will also no doubt do lots of shopping and eating. not to mention the tons of pricey and not-so-pricey restaurants in the area, or the inexpensive food courts and coffee shops all within a 15-min walk.

so, why the 3 stars? because everything else simply does not add up to a 4-star hotel experience. first, we had to struggle through the front entrance with luggage by ourselves -- not a single person to greet or help with the door or luggage! then, we waited 5 mins in line until someone finally noticed us with luggage and offered to take it up to our room. staff service was fine, but when we asked the reception about pool hours, she had to go ask someone else (another staff) about it. how could a well-trained staff at a 4/5 star hotel not know the pool opening hours??

you will find the whole experience disappointing the moment you enter your room, and after the hype of a great view from your balcony diminishes. the room was poorly maintained. furniture looked like 20+ year-old and the decor was just a far cry from expectations. badly needs a revamp. start with replacing the tv and the desks/beds. and to make it worse, our phone was faulty. so a trip to the lobby was needed to get them to come fix the phone. and they only offered two bath towels. i would have thought that two towels per person per day was the standard for this class of hotel. after requesting for more towels the first day, they continued to give only two towels the subsequent days. so we repeatedly asked for more. i guess towels were in demand and they were stingy about it... or they simply do not keep a note of guests requests.

we did use the pool and the kopitiam restaurant in the hotel. they were both decent. the restaurant is pricey -- you could get the same food in food courts for a a fifth of the price. and you won't have to pay a hefty service fee (of course, this applies to many other restaurants in singapore).

when we checked out, we were asked to pay for a phone call we had never made. i suspected that it was the guy who (finally) repaired the phone who made a test call. we refused to pay of course and the reception said fine. overall, we were not impressed by staff service or the quality of the hotel, given the price.

yes, you get great location and a great view. but, if you don't need the view, there are countless hotels in the vicinity at a much lower price. this hotel badly needs a revamp. gone are the good old days when it was managed under the westin brand. the hotel will be doomed if they believed good location/view will sustain them because it won't. this is a competitive industry and being in a city with lots of hotel options, guests will immediately realise what they are missing out if they stay here. the hotel should revamp facilities, better train staff, or it will soon find itself relegated.

Room Tip: high floor above 40th to secure a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cachecacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed review.

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. The issues you mentioned are certainly not acceptable for our hotel, especially with your arrival experience and the knowledge of staff. Rest assured that we will direct your feedback to the relevant departments for follow-up. One of the reasons for the number of towels in our guestroom is the sustainability practices we have adopted at Swissotel Hotel & Resorts – though we are more than happy to provide guests who need more.

Regarding the room conditions, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for a refurbishment of guestrooms in the near future. At the same time, we appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s view and location.

We hope to welcome you back to Swissotel the Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,835 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#58 of 312 in Singapore
3,841 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#46 of 312 in Singapore
5,658 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 312 in Singapore
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing