We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay - Go Here or The Fairmont”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #72 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've stayed at the Fairmont hotel a few times, which is literally right next door to this one. They share facilities (gym, pool, etc).

Overall I found Swissotel very nice. Really almost indistinguishable from the Fairmont. I found the room at the Fairmont a tiny bit better, but really both are great. Also the Fairmont has nespresso machines in the room, Swissotel does not. Love nespresso so this sways me.

Regardless next trip to Singapore I'd pick either and be happy. Pick the less expensive of the two. They're both expensive, though, but both good.

Breakfast here was included in my room - not sure if that's usually the case or I was on a package. Room was booked for me by work. The breakfast spread was pretty good. Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saratogamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Your compliments on the hotel’s facilities, room size and the breakfast spread are greatly appreciated.

Indeed, Swissotel the Stamford and Fairmont Singapore are sister hotels, under the same umbrella company with Raffles as well. Each hotel brand has its own distinguishing characteristics though we do share some commonalities. Most importantly, we take pleasure to know that you had enjoyed staying at both hotels.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,420 - 5,426 of 8,277 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We only stayed for 1 night en route to London. We booked through Singapore Airlines and paid $239 including transfers. Was pleased with the size of the room, very comfortable king size bed. As with all of Singapore, standard of cleaning was very high. The hotel is located across from Raffles Hotel & on top of Raffles City shopping centre, very handy as we only had a few hours of free time. Also good if you don’t want to pay hotel prices for food as there are plenty of restaurants in the shopping centre that were much more reasonably priced. We did have the buffet breakfast, luckily we had an special for a 50% discount as I wouldn’t of been happy paying S$88 for 2 people. That said buffet was nice, nothing out of the ordinary but nothing wrong with it.

This hotel is fantastic in that every room has a balcony no matter what the floor. We were travelling with my parents who were on the 55th floor with spectacular views of Marina Bay. They booked through Expedia and paid $330 plus transfers for what was apparently the basic room type but there was a difference in rooms. The furniture and fittings in their room was more modern than ours and looked like what was on the website whereas ours was slightly out dated. That would be the only slightly negative point I’d make about this hotel, the room was looking a little tired & old fashioned. That said it was spotlessly clean & a great size & we’d stay again at the same rate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loz23c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback! We appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s great views, room size and comfort, buffet breakfast, cleanliness and its nearby amenities. At the same time, we note your feedback on the dated room conditions and will incorporate this into future refurbishment plans.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great location, across road from Raffles and 5 min walk to The Chimes. Staff very helpful and friendly, room clean and v comfortable.

The only downside was the $28 charge for wifi for 24hrs, seemed a bit excessive!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the compliments on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. We hope to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford soon!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

SWISSOTEL STAMFORD....being a 3 time guest at this hotel i could recommend this hotel with assurance to any traveller visiting this city ...the quality of the service given is absolutely excellent .
I found the meals at this hotel to be excellent . For me there seam to be ample variety and probably would suit most tastes .

Room Tip: Request a room with a harbour view ..there seams to be plenty of these .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m9687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

We take pleasure to read that you had consistently great stays at Swissotel the Stamford and found both the meals and service to be excellent.

Thank you for choosing and recommending Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

From the minute we got out of the taxi the staff were with us, assisting with bags & helping us check-in. The hotel is an ideal location for exploring Singapore and has great views of the marina bay sands and water. We have a one year old and they were very family friendly and provided cot & baby amenities free of charge.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKI3451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

We’re delighted to read that you had a good time with your baby and enjoyed the recent stay with us!

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Stamford is a fine hotel and very well located near the shopping malls, MRT and S'pore Art Museum. We had a nice clean room and the swimming pool was worthwhile. However, the whole look and feel is a bit outdated. A nice hotel if you manage to have a good price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank White-House-Algarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Your compliments on the hotel’s room conditions, amenities and the convenience of the location are greatly appreciated. At the same time, your feedback on the dated room conditions is noted and will be incorporated into future refurbishment plans.

We hope to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is right above the Cityhall station, very simple to navigate thru the MRT(subway) system. If not taking MRT(subway), Raffles Hotel & shopping arcade, Chijmes, Raffles City shopping mall are within 3 mins walking distance. No one should complaint the great & convenient location.

Maybe it is at such great location, event organizer may run outdoor events near by. Even thought we were staying at 16/F, extreme loud disco music came thru window glasses at 7:30am on Sunday and won't die down until 12:45am. The hotel couldn't do anything and they said the noise was not coming from them.

Recommend travelers to stay higher floor the better. Good luck.

Room Tip: Get higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s great location and surrounding attractions. Indeed, the hotel is right next to the Padang and Esplanade, where many high profile events like marathons occur at selected times of the year. While many guests enjoy the buzz and excitement that comes with these, others are inconvenienced due to the noise.

Please rest assured that we will continue working with the relevant authorities to minimize the noise for our guests.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 319 in Singapore
6,465 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
8,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#58 of 319 in Singapore
4,175 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#24 of 319 in Singapore
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#65 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $177 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing