We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Swissotel is the best hotel in Singapore with breathtaking harbour views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #72 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon 20 Oct 1987 and came back 16-21 Oct 2O12 for our 25th anniversary. It was like coming home. We had a harbour view room on 55th floor with a view second to none! We love this hotel and will ONLY stay here whenever we come to Singapore. The hotel gave us roses and wine which added to the pleasure of our stay. We live in Perth but we're homesick for The Swissotel Stamford Singapore. Christine and David Hendrix Perth Western Australia

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlonAlon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Mr and Mrs Hendrix,

Congratulations on your 25th Anniversary again! We’re very honored that you chose to celebrate the occasion with us.

Your compliments on the arrival experience, great harbour view and the special service you received are definitely appreciated. We hope to have made your anniversary celebration a most memorable one.

We definitely hope to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford again!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,444 - 5,450 of 8,272 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

A Great location close to everything. If traveling to Singapore, you need to stay close to the MRT in a good hotel. Here you will be conected to the MRT and a mall (also great shopping) in a GREAT Hotel.
In the mall, a supermarket, with good "mini-bar" alternatives.

You can use the MRT to travel anywhere. They also have a Great Concierge team, with two Les Clefs d'Or members, seek them out for great inside information. DO NOT stay in Singapore, anywhere without seeking out the Concierge for best locations. There can be some "tourist traps" (very minor in the world view) but overall, great service, food and experience. The Grand Room we stayed at Swissotel The Stanford, would be the most wonderful place to spend many days, the extra space and extra balconey, wonderful. We enjoyed the great room, but .sg is to be outside enjoying everything SG .

You need to to do the Zoo and Night Zoo. Ask any Concierge to arrange - need to to do both. Everyone needs to do both zoo's (expriences)

Ask about special deals for "in-house guests" we had great discounts and upgrades in bars and restaurants (in the hotel complex) by being in-house. Charge back facilities at "Raffels" also helps when having a Sling ot two.
SGN is a must visit place, these days at least every 2-3 years, you need to get back and enjoy,

A wonderful hotel, which balances it's many clients.
If going to Singapore for several days, do not hesitate to stay at Swissotel The Stamford !

Room Tip: Grand Rooms - two balconies, but every room is good. Great Hotel in Great Location. Will Return
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doug9535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing and recommending Swissotel The Stamford!

We take pleasure to read that you had a very enjoyable stay in Singapore and liked the Grand Room, the hotel’s great locality and the great concierge team with the Les Clefs’Or members. We will certainly convey your appreciation for their hardwork as an encouragement to continue the excellent level of service. As you mentioned, in-house guests get various types of special privileges at our food & beverage outlets as an gesture of our appreciation for their stay. Indeed, Singapore is an exciting city to explore with someone for everyone, and we are glad you so enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcome you back again!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were on the 24th floor of this hotel, the rooms are quite large and have all the facilities you could ask for, we found it very convenient for shopping, attractions, orchard road and of course the famous raffles hotel is across the road, you can call in for the famous ings pore sling and take a step back in time to a very gracious time in history, but still just as beautiful.

The underground food market and lots of shops to temp you are only beneath you in this hotel,very friendly and highly organised reception area, very prompt and efficient. We had a fantastic view over the bay from our room, lovely to wake up to in the morning.

Walking distance to orchard road and the Singapore flyer which we enjoyed very much,

Go down to the basement to all the food cafe sand restaurants, much cheaper and good value and quality food.

Would recommend this hotel to all

Room Tip: As for a room facing the bay, it is a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athenry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing and recommending Swissotel The Stamford!

We greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s room size, facilities, service staff, view and the convenience of the location. Please rest assured that we will not rest on our laurels and continue our pursuit for excellence in service as our credo is having a Passion For Perfection.

We hope to welcome you back again!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here in October 2011 for 3 nights, walking distance to Clarke Quay. Loved it, great views, shops very close, train, etc.. would stay again. Cocktails up on the top floor at night, views awesome. OUr room had a view to Marina Bay Sands Complex and the big wheel... what a sight. Big room, plenty of room for all my shopping to pack up and bring back to Australia.

Room Tip: get one with a view up high !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review! We take pleasure to know that you enjoyed your recent stay!

You are most welcome back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

From initial check in there where issues at this hotel. I was told there was free WiFi in the lobby then when visiting the lobby I was told I had to pay $20. No free WiFi spots at all. Condiments in the room were minimal (2 chocolate bars in the fridge)
Coffee and drinks were outrageously expensive, 2 freshly brewed coffees and 2 orange juices were $49, a complete rip-off. Bathroom amenities were incredibly limited and cheap, shaving cream was completely useless and even soap and towels were limited. Construction site is close by and there is noise 24/7.
Room was a very good size, quality of food was good, location was good. In summary I wouldn't stay here again and strongly advise others to give it a miss. There are plenty more hotels in Singapore that provide better service for money. I stay at Swissotel often around the world and they appear to be cutting costs drastically in every area. Justin.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, if you do choose non construction side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Justin,

Our apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your last stay. We note your feedback on the issues highlighted. At the same time, we appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s room size, food quality and the location.

You might like to know that besides the chocolate bars, all our guests also enjoy complimentary bottled water, coffee and TWG-branded tea. Our bathroom amenities are also Purovel-branded and extra soap and towels are always delivered to our guests who request for it.

As far as possible, we allocate rooms facing away from construction sites and as well are constantly working with the authorities to ensure that the construction noises are kept at bay.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford.

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in April 2012 for 4 nights. Although we had a room high enough (L42), we had not requested a 'bay view' room & landed up taking a room with a view into the city (not a bad view either). The room had a small balcony..nice to enjoy the evening views when everything in Singapore is lit up.

Check in was super quick & because we arrived early (around 9am), we were given access into their guest room (common room shared by other guests to put your feet up or have a quick wash, whilst your room is getting ready). The guest room was clean too.

The room that we stayed in was very spacious with a decent sized bathroom. A very comfortable bed meant we slept well too. Room service was very efficient & cold water bottles (provided by the hotel free of charge), extra milk / coffee sachets were promptly delivered to the room.

The air con was not very effective (it cooled the room, but did not stay cold through the night). However, I must add that we did not call the reception to get this fixed as we did not spend a lot of time in the room. I believe this would have been sorted immediately had we reported this to the reception. When I mentioned this in my survey after our stay, the hotel manager did write back saying they were sorry that the air con wasn't functioning as per our expectations (nice gesture on their part to at least take the effort to acknowledge it).

The hotel is located on top of a shopping mall & a food court with plenty of variety. The train station is in the same complex & makes a big difference when commuting to various tourist locations. The metro service in Singapore is terrific & can get you to most places (via connecting buses). We often walked from the hotel (to China town, Clarke Quay etc.). These can be long walks depending on how hot it is & the time of the day!

Make a point to go to the Equinox restaurant & bar on the top floor of the hotel (forgot what the bar was called or if it even had a different name). We booked a table in the morning & were seated right next to the window when we went for drinks in the evening. Loved the drinks whilst watching the Singapore skyline. Although we did not dine, we had a few dishes from their bar menu & were quite full from their servings. We ended up sitting in the bar for a few hours, given how comfortable it was.

Checkout was very prompt & their porters are always there to help load the bags into the cab. The fare back to the airport was around SGD 20.

We would have no hesitation in staying in this hotel again or recommending the same to other travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cela_trams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review and recommendation!

It gives us pleasure to know that you enjoyed your recent stay and we greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s skyline view, bed comfort, room size, room service, restaurants and the convenience of the location. Besides Equinox Restaurant, the complex has three other premier food & beverage outlets – City Space (Level 70), New Asia Bar (Level 71) and Jaan (Level 70) which serves Artisanal French cuisine.

We definitely hope to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel was prefectly located for anyone visiting Singpaore, the Swissotel is the tallest hotel in Singapore and the view from the 59th floor where we were was spectular. I would suggest requesting the view of the Marina as that is the best side of the hotel to be on. We had access to the executive lounge which was nice. Breakfast was excellent but the drinks provided at night were limited. City Hall MTR is situated directly below the hotel, you don't need to leave the building to access the MRT which is great on a hot day. The eateries below the hotel was fanastic, the selection is huge. It is a quick walk to Boat Quay which is an excellent place to go to at night.
We did have one problem during our stay, our air conditioning was not working and even though we asked the receptionist in the executive lounge twice (over two days) nothing was ever done. We were promised someone would come and look at it and it was never done. I was incredibly disappointed that we had paid the extra money to stay on the executive floor and got such poor service. We weren't even offered another room, very disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandeepTwomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed review. We appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s location, spectacular view and the excellent breakfast. Due to the popularity and demand for harbor view rooms, we have created a special room category called Classic Harbour View Room.

At the same time, we apologise for the incident regarding your room’s air-conditioning. We will certainly convey your feedback to the executive club for follow-up.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#18 of 319 in Singapore
6,452 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 319 in Singapore
8,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#58 of 319 in Singapore
4,172 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#24 of 319 in Singapore
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#65 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $191 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing