We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and cool room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #67 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and cool room”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Swissotel Hotel Stamford is located near Marina Bay area. We can easily walk underground to Marina Bay Sand, or enjoying the peace of Singapore river. The room is quite big and comfort. The minus point of it is their restaurant is small, we have to in queu before can take breakfast. But their people are friend friendly and helpful.
Conclusion: We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toro W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,409
    2,859
    970
    304
    173
See reviews for
2,112
2,154
474
2,037
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,596)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel has a great location, great facilities and great service, but it was the view and the adjacent mall that cinched the deal. I was in a high floor and the view was great whether I faced the ocean or the city. In addition, the adjacent mall provided access to everything I might need and a lot of things I didn't need but wanted anyway!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We’re glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s great views, facilities, service and location.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you like big hotels this is for you. Was once the tallest hotel in the world. It has 70 floors and hundreds of rooms. What's good: location is good, rooms are very big, nice comfy beds, good bathrooms, good views, good selection of restaurants. Go and have a drink on the 70th floor, the views are incredible. What's not so good; it's very busy with a constant flow of people in and out therefore check and reception area always busy. It feels impersonal. Gym is good but far too small for this hotel; at 6.30am on three different mornings I was unable to get on a running or cycling machine. The mix of business people and tourists makes life tough; two different groups moving at different speeds, you are always bumping into people or waiting for a lift.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review!

It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s view, room conditions, size, good location and selection of restaurants. At the same time, we note your feedback on busyness of the hotel and gymnasium usage.

We hope to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were staying for over a week and requested a high floor when booking which we didn't get, despite the fact that we had booked on an outrageously expensive corporate rate. We were told when checking in that we would be better to cancel our corporate rate, go and book online, and then we would get a far cheaper rate, with breakfast and internet included, and a high floor!! They were unable to process this change at check in - they suggested we sit in the lobby and change the booking online and then they could help us. Ridiculous. We tried to change booking online without success and were told there was nothing they could do to help us and couldn't offer us the cheaper rate. Room was not ready when we checked in despite requesting for an early check in that we said we would pay for. Incredibly inconvenient as we had business meetings to attend. Internet access cost was outrageous on daily rate - we went down to Starbucks instead. Location is good and very convenient with shopping centre below - particularly to eating options. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. View was nice but not worth the escalated rate we paid. Minibar was empty when we checked in - took 2 days to get it restocked. Good service when we requested fresh milk and extra teabags from housekeeping - these were delivered to our room promptly each time. Room was serviced well each day. Housekeeping staff obviously are more concerned with excellent customer service than check in staff! Didn't bother with breakfast since they refused to include it in our daily rate - went down to shopping centre below where there is plenty on offer. Couldn't get a late checkout of just a few hours, despite the escalated rate we'd already paid. Poor service again. Won't be going back here and will be advising colleagues to avoid as well. Plenty of other accommodation options that offer far superior value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenShoeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay.

Please rest assured that your feedback will be followed up with the Front Office department. Due to the short turnaround time for the guestrooms, we were not able to accommodate your request for early check-in and late check-out. Still, we are reviewing our processes to ensure that as far as possible, these requests could be met or inconveniences minimized for our guests.

Nonetheless, we appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s location, prompt service from Housekeeping and the nice view.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I recently spent 4 nights at the Stamford. I found it to be a wonderful location above the subway and supermarket with many shops and restraunts nearby. This location is great for getting a birds-eye view of Singapore.

As others have mentioned the hotel is showing a bit of age and there is no free internet. However to me these were minor distractions.

Room Tip: Select a room on a high floor for wonderful views of Singapore, all rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himalayafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on the hotel’s location, nearby amenities and view. At the same time, we note your feedback on the age and internet.

We look forward to having you at Swissotel The Stamford again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay throughout our four nights. Our room got upgraded to a high floor room with the nice view. We were able to see the water and light show at the Marina Sands everyday from our balcony. The reception staff are very nice and efficient, quick check-in and out. The housekeeper is very caring. They gave us four bottles of drinking water everyday without asking after they noticed we came with two small children. The location is very convenient. Lots of nice restaurants e.g. Din Tai Fong are located downstairs. MRT station is just around the corner.

Room Tip: Higher floors so you can see a fantastic view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nongnuch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We’re glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s view, efficient staff, great service and the convenience of the location.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A great location for a stay in Singapore. Right next to Raffles so you can get your Singapore Sling at the Long-room, catch the MRT at the City hall stop basically under the hotel, where also there is a very good shopping mall that houses a lot of the top and other brands, a great range of food outlets and even a small art gallery. The service at the hotel was second to none and we were quickly helped through the check in process (as it is a busy area for the hotel) and when asked if we were traveling for any occasion we noted our honeymoon and we received in our room a personalized card from the check in person, a box of chocolates and a room with a view. A nice touch. The room was of standard hotel issue, being just their 'classic' room. The only complaints would be the bed was very hard and no free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toughsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback! We take pleasure that you enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate you compliments on the hotel’s great location and the personalised service and a nice view. At the same time, we also note your feedback on the hotel’s bed comfort and wifi.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,816 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#12 of 312 in Singapore
7,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#57 of 312 in Singapore
3,834 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#46 of 312 in Singapore
5,649 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#17 of 312 in Singapore
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing